233: Trips and travels

I took a quick trip to visit my granddaughters and their parents.  Did you miss me?  Bet you didn’t even realize I’d gone away.  That’s how quick it was.  M and I left yesterday afternoon and returned late this afternoon.  We drove south through torrential rain, found the land of sunshine as we got further south, then came home through torrential rain only to meet more torrential rain along the way, and got home in time for even more torrential rain because this The Bogs, where precipitation likes to fall.  You can’t say the weather isn’t interesting around here.

Shiny tulips

I started this blog post yesterday.  Just in case I’d have to publish it quickly due to storms or arriving home late or something of that nature.  The flower photos are from our trip to Longwood Gardens.

Shiny happy tulips

My blog is turning into a flower show.  I may have to take up food photography or something to shake things up.

It is spring, however, and the flowers really can’t help themselves.  It is, after all, their time to shine, glow, and make us all feel good about surviving the winter and the April showers.  And the May showers, apparently.  No wonder they’re working so hard.  Beauty and color in exchange for gray and wet days.

A bigger picture

So.  Want to know about my trip?  It was grand.  Spending time with my granddaughters is always grand.  I enjoy having time with their parents as well, but being with my grandchildren is an extra special joy.

Riding without training wheels

My outdoor time was spent, in part, on the grounds at the Franklin Park Conservatory.  M and I had a little time to ourselves and thought we’d take a walk around the outside.  We’ve been inside (during the winter months), but have never toured the outside.

There was a wedding about to take place on the grounds when we arrived.  It looks like a lovely place for a wedding.  Unfortunately, it was an if-y day for it, with the dark clouds churning overhead.  There were a few raindrops just before we left.  I’m hoping that was it for the rain (because into every life and marriage a little rain must fall), and the couple managed to fit in their wedding before the storm hit.

Strolling through the gardens

As mentioned at the beginning of this post, our trip home involved a great deal of rain.  Shortly after we arrived home, as the rain was pouring down upon us, the sun made an appearance.  And we all know what that means…

We could even see the bottom of the rainbow.  I haven’t had time to go through all the photos (most of which I already know are going into the recycle bin because the rainbow wasn’t particularly bright and I had to use a few tricks in Photoshop to bring it out in the above photo).

Now we’re waiting for this:

Current view of the pond

More storms.  I’d better get this posted so I can go watch the show.  I know this post is scattered.  Blame it on the crazy weather.  The electricity in the air is scattering energy everywhere. Or maybe it’s all the travel.  I’m still trying to catch up with myself.

Here’s hoping your weekend is not as stormy.

22 Comments on “233: Trips and travels”

  1. Team Oyeniyi says:

    I don’t know how, but somewhere in the maze of blogs, I lost my connection to yours, so I’m doing a bit of catching up! I’ve added you to my “Sites I Visit” page so I don’t lose you again. I just can’t handle any more subscription emails! 😆

    Love those flowers!

    • Robin says:

      That’s okay, Robyn. I have not “lost” any of the blogs I usually visit, but have not had the time to visit the way I usually do. I understand completely about not being able to handle any more subscription emails. There are days I feel overwhelmed by them all.

      Thanks. 🙂

  2. Corina says:

    Beautiful, as always! If I had flowers like that around here, I might just think all of our rain this year has been worth it. I’m thinking I might drive out to check on things at the Rose Garden if we have a dry day this week. A little early for roses in Portland but almost time (usually they don’t begin to open til June) and we did have a couple of warm days this week (including a 77 yesterday) so one never knows!

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, Corina. 🙂

      I think we might be getting almost as much rain as Portland is famous for getting. It’s been terribly wet here.

  3. I love the columbines and the tulips. The composition in the shot of your granddaughter is great; the contrast of her golden hair against the green grass is lovely.
    I think your weather and my weather match a lot of the time. We had torrential rain yesterday, an overcast sky today, and I’m crossing my fingers for some sunshine tomorrow, because it’s sunset shooting day!

  4. penpusherpen says:

    You can almost feel the energy crackling on the later photo’s Robin, and shame about the low ‘voltage’ Rainbow, (maybe the pot of gold wasn’t worth the effort of finding it?) 😀
    Loved the green hands, felt like crawling into them and taking a nap. (probably not very comfortable, but to be wrapped and safe in a pair of hands appeals!! a psychiatrist would have a field day methinks) xPenx

  5. eof737 says:

    The photos are stunning… Rich with color and life. Love them! :_)
    Eliz

  6. Karma says:

    I like the scattered nature of the post. It is the little chunks of what is going on in your life that makes it interesting. I, too, have found my posts becoming rather flower-centric lately too, but like you I suspect it is our joy in seeing them after a long, snowy winter.

  7. Those are some beautiful tulips! I like the bigger picture, too.
    Sweet picture of your granddaughter 🙂 How old are your grandchildren? I have a little granddaughter who will be 2 in September.

  8. CMSmith says:

    Glad you got to see your grandchildren.

    You caught a rainbow!

  9. I keep trying to tell myself that all this rain is helping to bring the color back into the world! That’s a great shot of the rainbow! I haven’t seen one around here, yet… but I’ve been looking!

  10. Marianne says:

    Beautiful photos of flowers. You are right, it is their time to shine and our time to enjoy.

    The gardens look amazing also. I love the rainbow too. It’s beautiful.


Thank you for visiting, and for commenting. I hope you'll join me at my new blog home, Breezes at Dawn.

