229: Tulips in bloom

It’s great to be home, spend the night in my own bed, listening to the familiar sounds that surround us here at Breezy Acres, and walking on familiar paths looking to see what’s new.

Our tulips are in full bloom.  This is the first year we’ve experienced these beauties.  We planted them in the little flower bed M created when he built the walls for Project Patio last year.

They are so beautiful.  The colors are stunning.  I could sit and look at them all day, photographing them from all angles and in all kinds of light, never tiring of them.

I took these photos yesterday evening, just before sunset.  As you can see, tulips are very cooperative photographic subjects.

I don’t really need more photos of tulips.  I have hundreds from visits to various gardens throughout the past few years.  I have new photos from Longwood Gardens that I haven’t uploaded yet.  But I couldn’t resist these tulips when I saw them in the setting sunlight.  I think they are a little more special because they are not in a formal garden somewhere, having been planted and cared for by others.  They are in our garden, planted and care for by us.

I tend to be somewhat childlike when it comes to growing things, astonished and amazed when something M or I planted makes its way out of the ground and comes to life in full bloom.  I often think that if everyone planted something, the world might be a better place.

The foolish man seeks happiness in the distance, the wise grows it under his feet.

~ James Oppenheim

Today’s Outdoor Adventures

Today's view of the pond

There is so much going on outside right now that I don’t know where to start.  The lawn (which needs mowed again) is dotted with yellow (something you can see in the above photo) and purple (something not as obvious).  The dandelions and violets are in full bloom.  There is also this little purple flower:

I should probably wince when I see them as they’re everywhere, including the garden where they will have to be uprooted.  I think it’s Ground Ivy, also known as Gill-over-the-ground, a European introduction to North America.  The name “Gill” comes from the french guiller, which means “to ferment.”  It was once used to help flavor and ferment beer.  Ground Ivy is in the mint family and is sometimes classified with Catnip although it differs from it in a number of ways.

Dandelions and violets in the grass

I might have to learn how to make dandelion wine or jelly or something. We have so many dandelions it seems a shame not to use them in some way.

Crabapple blossoms

The crabapple trees are flowering.  We have one in front of the house that is blooming for the first time this year, and it seems to know what it’s doing as there are tons of blossoms almost ready to open.  The crabapples back east were already in full bloom, pretty much at their peak.

Crabapple blossom bokeh

The white lilac is almost in full bloom, and the scent is heavenly.  The purple lilacs are taking their time.  They should be blooming in about a week or so.

White lilac in bloom

Our dogwood is thriving and blooming.  M has been cutting back some of the shrubs and trees to give it room to grow, and it looks happy with the way things are now.  The wild dogwood population in large areas of North America (particularly the east) has been devastated by Dogwood Anthracnose, a disease caused by the fungus Discula destructiva, over the past few decades.  It’s good to see ours flourishing.

Lovely dogwood blossoms

One of the rhododendrons near the woods at the back of the pond has its first flowers.  We put netting over the plants to keep the deer from eating them over the winter months, and should have removed the netting before it started flowering.  I’m not sure if we should leave it now or not.

First rhododendron blossoms

I found this mystery plant growing in the woods:

What is it?

I’ll keep an eye on it to see what develops.  The woods are still extremely muddy and boggy so I didn’t get far into them.  Some of the meadows and the area around the cattails are still puddled and ponded with water.  It will be a while before it dries out, I think.

That’s about it from the Bogs for today.  I hope to find time soon to upload my photos from our trip so I can start posting a few.  This is a busy time of year, for Mother Nature and for me.  Mother Nature seems to be speedier at her job than I am at mine, though, especially when it comes to weeds in the garden.

32 Comments on “229: Tulips in bloom”

  1. Ahhhhh, Spring!! 🙂 It’s finally here to stay!! 🙂 That’s an interesting mystery plant – you’ll have to let us know what it turns out to be – or at least post a follow up photo! Your flowers are beautiful! 🙂

  2. I have never seen such a lovely photo of dandelions. It makes me rethink my attempts to wipe them out!
    Kathy

    • Robin says:

      No reason to wipe them out, Kathy. 🙂 They are gorgeous little things, adding lots of color to the green of lawns. I enjoy them. And they’re edible. I saw some dandelion greens in the produce section of a grocery store and thought, “Why would anyone buy those when you can walk outside and pick them??”

  3. CMSmith says:

    I’ve never been able to grow tulips. The deer always get them. How did you keep the deer off of yours?

    • Robin says:

      Christine: I think the reason the deer don’t eat most of our flowers is because there is so much else for them to eat out and about on the property. Plus the tulips are close to the house, and the motion detector lights go off at night, chasing away anything that comes near.

      We do have problems with the deer when it comes to our rhododendrons. We planted them at the edge of the woods, convenient for the deer.

  4. Thanks, Robin. Your blog has become a solace for my spring-starved soul. I love seeing flowers, color, greenness – it cheers me up like you have no idea. Today’s view of the pond is lovely, idyllic I’d say. So green, with the white and yellow flowers to add contrast.
    I love tulips too, and I planted my first bulbs this autumn. I felt so giddy right after I’d done it, knowing I’d helped life grow and flourish. I’m really excited watching the little sprouts come out of the earth, and I just can’t wait to see the flowers this spring.

  5. What a beautiful post Robin, with beautiful photos and so full of enthusiasm! I understand how you feeel about growing your own tulips and the pride you feel when the flowers bloom. I feel the same way about plants I grow and want to share their successes with everyone too. They’re almost like your children! Lol. 🙂

    • Robin says:

      lol, Joanne! I think you hit the nail on the head. They ARE almost like my children. And they don’t argue with me about anything. 😉

  6. Again, another collection of lovely flower photos. I especially like the view toward the pond–so peaceful-looking.

    Isn’t it comforting to return home to one’s own bed?

  7. Dana says:

    I love tulips as well! Seeing them always brings a smile to my face– I’ll have to dig up a link to a photo of my favourite tulips here in Victoria for you. They are so pretty!

    I’d recommend making dandelion honey with all of your ‘weeds’. It’s actually really tasty– my mother in law makes it for us. Then you can eat some of the dandelion greens in your salads to get your bitters. There’s so much to do with those otherwise pesky flowers! 🙂

    • Robin says:

      I had never heard of dandelion honey, Dana. I looked up a recipe for it, and it sounds delicious. Thank you! I’m going to give it a try. 🙂

  8. Dana says:

    Hmm… for some reason I can’t find the photo of this particular local house with its spring time tulips. Here is a summer shot, though (courtesy of one of my blogging friends Benjamin Madison):
    http://victoriadailyphoto.blogspot.com/2010/09/garden-city.html

    Now imagine the garden in the front of this gorgeous house overflowing with pale pink and deep maroon tulips. There are literally hundreds of them. It’s heavenly…

  9. Ahh…Spring has finally arrived here in Colorado too! The tulip photos are fantastic. Thank you for sharing!

  10. ladyfi says:

    Those tulips are little cups of heaven! And the lilac is divine.

  11. smileonlife says:

    Such colourful happy photos. Beautiful colours. Really beautiful.

  12. jenna says:

    Tulips!!!

  13. Barbara says:

    Oh Robin, your tulips are indeed very beautiful! Looks like everything is green, green, green, in the bogs! Been thinking of trying a dandelion salad and perhaps the tea…

  14. Your flower photos are soo beautiful! I especially like the second tulip and the white lilac (wish my monitor came with a scratch ‘n sniff option!)
    The little purple things looks like henbit. They’re taken over our yard, too

  15. Siannaphey says:

    Thank you for sharing the beauty of the Tulips – they are my favourite flowers 🙂

  16. sherri says:

    silly me, i like the dandelion the best:-)


Thank you for visiting, and for commenting. I hope you'll join me at my new blog home, Breezes at Dawn.

