225: Time to be

We need time to dream,
time to remember,
and time to reach the infinite.
Time to be.

~ Gladys Taber (1899-1980)

(Note:  I know some of you — those who visit my other blog, Bountiful Healing — may have seen these photos before.  Sorry for the repeats, especially since I have so many photos I haven’t posted yet.  I ran into a bit of a time crunch before leaving on this trip so I resorted to recycling a few photos.  For those who haven’t seen these photos, they were taken last August when we made the Cog Railway trip up to the top of Pike’s Peak where we were above the clouds.  If interested, you can read about it here.)

Update

I meant to add to yesterday’s post, but didn’t get back before it auto-posted.  We had a great time at Longwood Gardens where both my father and I took lots of photos of flowers.  He has the fancier camera (a Nikon D60), and it will be kind of interesting to compare some of his shots with mine, especially since we were often shooting the same things.

The weather was cooperative and lovely.  It was nice to see the sun again.  Revitalizing.  Even so, we were all quite worn out by the end of the day, having enjoyed the fresh air, the sunshine, and all the beautiful flowers currently in bloom.

A small sampling of flowers from yesterday

We are leaving New Jersey today to go west to visit friends and family in Pennsylvania.  First stop, Philadelphia for a tour of an artist’s studio and lunch with the artist.  Then it’s on to Lancaster County to stay with family for a couple of days.  Unless something has drastically changed (not likely), I will not have internet access again until we return home.

I’ll see you again from the Bogs.  In the meantime, I scheduled some more posts to fill in for me and help me meet the blog posting part of my commitment.  As always, I’ll take photos from my daily outdoor adventures so I’ll have a few samplings for when I’m posting “live” again.

Have a great weekend!

30 Comments on “225: Time to be”

  1. Karma says:

    I love that flower shot, although I can’t think of the name of it. It reminds me of a lady with a crazy hairdo or one of those old fashioned swim caps with the flowers all over. 🙂

  2. Love the Pike’s Peak photos and, of course, the flower–like the vibrant green background. Longwood Gardens & NJ–you were in my neck of the woods. Isn’t Longwood incredible?

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, Teresita. 🙂

      Longwood is amazing. My husband and I lived in West Chester for a year, and went to Longwood often, experiencing it during all four seasons.

  3. boatacrosstheriver says:

    Enjoy your trip!

  4. penpusherpen says:

    Have a great relaxing, battery recharging, time Robin, and the flower photo is a fantastic shot. Take care my friend. xPenx

  5. bwinwnbwi says:

    Exceptionally nice!

  6. jenna says:

    Haha, you make it sound so formal – tour and lunch with the artist. Heh.

    I missed your text til this morning. I loved lunch too – I’m really glad you both stopped by. Thank you!!

  7. Kathy says:

    Robin, I hope you have a wonderful trip! The flower is beautiful. (I didn’t know you could auto-post…that is a fascinating new discovery.)

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, Kathy. It was a wonderful trip.

      One of the beauties of WordPress is being able to schedule posts. Without it, I would not have been able to keep up my commitment to post. I use it once in a while when I need a break from the daily posting, too.

  8. Kieran Hamilton says:

    Amazing pictures, I would love to be that high above the clouds, it looks breathtaking. Have a nice weekend!

  9. The first two shots are stunning, Robin. I’d feel like I could take on the entire world if I had my head in the clouds. And I love the quote, too. I can so identify with it in this period of my life.

  10. It’s good to hear you’re enjoying the time with your family. I would love to see photos of the artist’s studio and hear about that visit. Have a safe trip!
    Kathy

    • Robin says:

      I hope to get them uploaded soon, Kathy. I might have to start referring to you as Kathryn now that I have two Kathys visiting me. 🙂

  11. CMSmith says:

    You’re doing a great job with the camera you have.

  12. Wow! Those top-of-Pikes-Peak photos are amazing! The first one looks like a giant ocean of foam! Sadly we didn’t make it to the top when we were there in March of last year because of a snow storm, but it was still fun taking the cog rail up part of the way.
    The flower is really pretty, any idea what it’s called? (My 8-year-old asked if it was cotton candy 🙂 )

    • Robin says:

      I’m not sure what it is, Michaela. I think it might be some sort of rhododendron, but I could be wrong. It does look a bit like cotton candy, doesn’t it? 🙂

  13. Marianne says:

    Pike’s Peak looks like an amazing trip. Happy Mother’s day to you, Robin.

  14. Bo Mackison says:

    Lovely post–the flower, sitting above the clouds, taking time to be … and heading for a visit to Philadelphia, a favorite east coast city of mine.

  15. Robin says:

    Thank you, Bo. 🙂

    It’s a favorite of mine, too. I grew up in that area. It’s been a long time since I called that area home, but it still has the feel of home when I go to visit.

  16. investment says:

    I’m scared of heights!


Thank you for visiting, and for commenting. I hope you'll join me at my new blog home, Breezes at Dawn.

