223: Flown the coop

We should be in New Jersey by the time this posts.  Hopefully it was an uneventful trip through the mountains and farmlands of Pennsylvania, and we’ve been having a great time at my sister’s house, visiting with her family and my father.

Any successful journey begins by packing your luggage full of imagination.

~ Kathrine Palmer Peterson

And now…


That was the originally scheduled auto-post.  We did arrive safe and as sound as we’re ever going to be.  The first leg of the trip took longer than expected due to accidents.  The rain poured and poured and poured last night.  It was a relief to get to the hotel.  When we left to finish our journey this morning, it rained and rained and rained some more.  We managed to make good time in spite of the rain.

There is an accident up ahead

Doesn't look good

(Photos taken through the raindrops on the windshield.)

The last time we made this trip it was winter and we had to make our way through a snow storm and icy conditions.  This time everything is amazingly green.  Once over the mountains of Pennsylvania, just past State College, the trees have all leafed out.  The redbuds and dogwoods are blooming.  At their peak, I think.  At the beginning of our trip this morning the clouds were pouring over the tops of the mountains and down into the trees.  It was a beautiful sight, one I wish I could have captured with my camera, but we didn’t have time to find a good place to stop.

Tomorrow we’re going to Longwood Gardens where I expect to see sunshine, blue skies, and plenty of flowers in bloom.  I’ll post some photos if I have time.

My father and sister are well.  Even though it has been over a year and a half since her death, it still feels odd to not see Mom.  She’s here, of course, with all of us, in our hearts and memories.  But there is still a part of me that sometimes thinks, “oh, she’s out on a run,” and expects her to walk in any minute.

That won’t happen, of course.

Well, I’m off to bed.  We didn’t get much sleep last night.  There was an extremely loud snorer in the room next to us last night.  It was a bit like listening to a Three Stooges routine with a variety of noises, grunts, and sometimes explosive sounds.

I really need to buy some ear plugs.

14 Comments on “223: Flown the coop”

  1. Bo Mackison says:

    Glad you arrived safe and sound…and dry. Hope the rain didn’t follow you!

  2. judithhb says:

    What a ghastly accident. Glad you weren’t involved.

  3. Kel says:

    earplugs are an essential in any traveller’s kit

  4. Sorry to hear you are now without your mom. That would have to be hard, especially at this time of year!

    But glad you had a safe trip————–

    Kathy

  5. Spending time with family is always so special. I’m pleased to hear you have enjoyed your time with your Dad and sister.

    You didn’t fly this time! Do you feel safer on the roads? Hmmm…I wonder!

  6. ladyfi says:

    Oh my , what a terrible accident. Keep safe and enjoy your visit!

  7. I’ve gotten used to harsh sleeping conditions over the years, living next to an old, almost deaf neighbor.
    Awful accident, Robin. Did anyone get hurt? I always think drivers go crazy when it rains.
    Have a good time with your family, and I hope you have a less bumpy trip on the way back.

  8. milkayphoto says:

    Yikes! Hopefully, your trip will go smoothly after this rough start!

  9. Marcie says:

    Love this image – the sweetness of the little hole in the tree! Hope NJ is good!

  10. Glad you arrived safely and everyone is well. That accident looks scary.

  11. Robin says:

    Thanks, everyone. 🙂

    The accident looked awful to me, too. By the time we inched our way up to it, quite a bit of time must have gone by since it happened as they were in the process of cleaning up the truck and metal strewn around. There was a haz-mat (hazardous materials) team there as well.

    As for the question about whether or not I feel safer on the roads than in the air, the short answer is: Not always. I feel safest when my feet are in contact with the earth. But it would take too much time for me to walk to New Jersey. We don’t usually fly out to visit family since the drive time isn’t that long. Given a choice between flying and driving, I’ll take driving. 🙂

  12. CMSmith says:

    Wow. Great shots of the accident. You could become an eye-witness reporter with your camera.

    I hope you have a great trip.

  13. investment says:

    I wanna see who lives in that hole!


Thank you for visiting, and for commenting. I hope you'll join me at my new blog home, Breezes at Dawn.

