221: Gratitude

I have so many blessings in my life.  I could sit here all day — maybe all week or all month — listing them, each one more than likely leading to another.  Blessings are like that, building one upon another.  I do like to take a moment a few times daily to give thanks for some of those gifts.  It keeps things in perspective, putting the joys of life ahead of any perceived negatives (which sometimes turn out to be positives).

This post, though, is about thanking you.  I am grateful for all my visitors and blogmates for stopping by, for reading, for commenting, for subscribing and, for those of you who like to stay in the background, just for being here.  Thank you all so much.

I have recently been nominated for the Versatile Blogger award again.  Once for this blog, twice for my other blog (Bountiful Healing).  I am honored, delighted, flattered, and thrilled that you think so highly of my blogs.  Thank you, Judith.  Thank you, TJFox.  And thank you, Kieran.   I truly appreciate the compliments and the awards.  🙂

Golden reflections on a Saturday evening in April

Can you tell I am a little awkward with these thanks?  It’s because I am a little awkward with compliments, and being given an award is a lovely compliment.

I can’t think of 7 things to tell you about me that I haven’t already posted, and I think all of the wonderful bloggers I know and visit have already received the award, so I’m going to leave it at that.

Today’s Outdoor Adventures

It’s raining again.  Is that song getting old to you?  It is to me.  It seems like most of my outdoor adventures for the past few months have started with some form of precipitation.  Snow, sleet, ice, fog, mist, rain.  Water, water, everywhere.

One drop

Water is often associated with art, philosophy, the emotions, and healing.  Water gives, but water can also take away.  Water is essential to life here on earth.  And water figures pretty prominently in my life here in the Bogs, in the form of precipitation as well as in the pond.

Rainy day

A glance through a month of my photos shows plenty of water in some form or another.  I seem to be especially drawn to reflections on the water.

Leaves hanging over a reflection in the pond

I’m not really going anywhere with this.  Just musing.  Rainy days do that to me.  They cause all sorts of musings and wanderings.

Rain drop on the grape hyacinth

Today’s big discovery:

The white lilacs are beginning to bloom.  I could just barely catch a hint of their scent while approaching them.  The purple lilac buds are still closed tightly, but it looks as though the white ones should be in full bloom in a few days.

I saw a flicker chasing a blue jay.  There was quite a bit of chattering going on between them, too.  The blue jay, I suspect, was up to no good.  Blue jays do not have a very good reputation.  Two male mallards were floating on the creek.  I don’t know if they are without mates or if their mates are busy sitting on nests.  Frogs along the edges of the pond eeep‘ed and jumped as I went by, and turtles slid into the water.

It’s getting pretty active here in the Bogs.

37 Comments on “221: Gratitude”

  1. Karma says:

    That tulip shot is really gorgeous! I love those with the fringy tops. I have no luck with tulips – they tend to be expensive annuals for me! And hooray for lilacs! My buds are definitely bigger, but I’m thinking at least a week before bloom time.

    • Robin says:

      Thanks, Karma. 🙂

      This is the first year we’ve given tulips a try. There were some already growing well in the front garden so we thought we’d see what we could do with the little flower bed at the back of the house. Something ate a few of the bulbs but most seem to have made it through. So far.

  2. Kel says:

    lots of birdy action in the bogs lately
    must be spring 🙂

  3. Aww, I feel the same about my visitors, whether they comment (which is ALWAYS appreciated) or not.
    Congrats on your award!

    Your photos in the last three posts are just gorgeous! I think I might need to move to your neck of the woods, there’s certainly more blooms to be found than around here 😉

  4. Wow, I’ve never seen white lilacs–how beautiful. But it’s the rain on the grass that really got to me–incredible photo, Robin!
    Kathy

  5. Rainy days are good for getting lost in our thoughts – sometimes I welcome the rain, it’s an excuse to slow down! Beautiful photos – water and water drops make a great subject!!

  6. judithhb says:

    Love the white lilacs but agree that the raindrops on the grass is fantastic.

  7. Beautiful shots, as usual. I’ve already told you I admire your attitude towards grey, rainy days. I’ll try to follow your example when it rains here, and go out looking for sparkling things to shoot. I just wish I didn’t catch colds so easily, but the idea of not taking pictures every time it rains is even more daunting than a drippy nose.

    • Robin says:

      I’ve currently got a cold, SunsetSeaSoul. Makes things even more drippy when I’m out in the rain. lol!

      Thank you. Glad you’re enjoying my rainy days. 🙂

  8. smileonlife says:

    Beautiful photography. Congratulations on the nominations…I wish you lots of luck.

  9. Corina says:

    What beautiful photos, especially the first one with all that yellow brightening it up! Your photos never cease to amaze me!

  10. Today’s series of photos are simply beautiful, Robin. And thank you for sharing you ponderings with us. Stories don’t always have to lead to something specific, or an actual point, to be entertaining and bring warmth to your soul, as you thoughts have for me today. 🙂

  11. milkayphoto says:

    Yes, good to count our blessings. You do seem to be so very blessed! Golden reflections is beautiful!

    Lots of bird and critter action happening in our landscape as well. However, in my case, Catbirds are chasing the Flickers which is a sight to see since the Flickers are about twice their size. No idea what that is all about but it is making it very difficult for me to photograph the Flickers!

    • Robin says:

      There is quite a bit of Flicker action in my area too, Tracy. Saw a Flicker chasing a blue jay the other day.

      Thanks. 🙂

  12. Anna says:

    Gratitude is the peace of the heart, I feel and think. These are such lovely photos and I especially like the flower and reflection photos. A wonderful post, Robin.

  13. ladyfi says:

    There is something soothing about water!

    Each and every shot is a masterpiece! Love them. Thank you.

  14. CMSmith says:

    I need some white lilacs. I love them.

  15. What a lovely post. And thank you again for being you! I like following your train of thought in between your photo’s. The descriptions that you give paint a picture too.

  16. Barbara Rodgers says:

    Ah, the scent of lilacs! All beautiful close-up photos, Robin, and the ones featuring water drops are exquisite! The drop in “one drop” even has a reflection in it…

  17. Kathy says:

    I am grateful for you, Robin. For your commitment. Honoring you for sticking to it, day after day, and blogging about it, even though part of you doesn’t want to do it AT ALL. Thank you for your beautiful “being” and sharing.

    • Robin says:

      Thank you so much, Kathy, for your words and for inspiring me to take on this commitment. You’re right in that a part of me doesn’t want to do this, but I am so glad I am because it has taught me many things. 🙂

  18. Dana says:

    Beautiful, beautiful, beautiful. I’m thankful to have found your blog and grateful for the reminder to be consciously appreciative for the abundance in my own life! Blessings to you!

  19. investment says:

    It looks like the flower is on fire!


Thank you for visiting, and for commenting. I hope you'll join me at my new blog home, Breezes at Dawn.

