218: What the wind brought

(The big red ball.)

The Big Wind brought us a few gifts.  Some, like the big red ball, are whimsical and fun.  Others will require some clean-up.

The ubiquitous plastic bag

There are bits and pieces of all sorts of things lying around, caught in the trees, or floating on the pond.

Newspaper in a small tree

It’s a good thing the garbage bin came back.  With no help from me, I might add.  Shortly after I returned from my unsuccessful search for it, a neighbor rang the doorbell and asked, “Were you looking for a garbage can?”  As it turns out, I was, and she had it and was returning it.  Seems she has a garbage can just like it (and, she said, just as beat up).  Her daughter mistakenly brought it in when she saw it in the street, not noticing that her mother’s bin was already in the garage.  At least we’ll have some place to put the trash now.

Roof shingle

I am a little puzzled about the roof shingles.  I don’t think they all belong to us.  There are more than we are missing.  I’ll have to go out for a walk and see if anyone south of us has a few gaps in their roof.

Flotsam

M did make it home safe and sound late last night.  He said the descent was a little bumpy due to the wind, but it wasn’t too bad.

A pile of downed trees

The next photo was taken early yesterday morning.  The clouds were moving so quickly with the wind that we had brief periods of sunshine.  The sunlight on the back of the pond and woods contrasting with the dark sky was a beautiful sight.

Early yesterday morning

If you look carefully (or click to enlarge the photo so you can see it better), you will notice the trees are all leaning in the same direction as the clouds are moving.  The wind was at its worst when I took this picture.

A golden light on the trees

I did not do anything to change the colors in these photos.  That’s how the light looked shortly after sunrise yesterday morning.

It is raining and chilly today.  I even heard the S word on the local weather report.  Snow?  Really?  It’s almost May.  If it does happen, I doubt it will be more than a flake or two.

I will leave you for today with a couple of videos.  The first was taken yesterday morning.  If you watch the water on the pond, you’ll get a good idea of how strong the wind was at the time.

The second was recorded on Thursday morning, in the woods by the creek.  The birds must have been feeling cheerful as they were singing and chatting quite a bit.

Have a great weekend!

27 Comments on “218: What the wind brought”

  1. Karma says:

    I like your big red ball shot – it’s very cheerful. I suspect some cheer is a good thing after all the clean up!

    • Robin says:

      Thanks, Karma. 🙂

      The big red ball was really something to see. I came flying through the meadow and landed in the pond where the wind carried it across, and then out of the water. I barely had time to grab the camera and take a shot before it was out of the water and into the trees.

  2. Wow, that photo of the sky is amazing! Did it really look like that or did you have to do something to enhance it? Great shot!
    Kathy

    • Robin says:

      Thanks, Kathy. 🙂

      That’s how the sky looked. The only thing I did to tweak the photo was sharpen it a little and resize it for the blog. I wish I could have done a time-lapse photography type thing with the sky yesterday. It was pretty amazing.

  3. Barbara Rodgers says:

    I love the spot of sunshine on part of the tree in the last picture just before the videos. The videos are wonderful, adding the sounds you hear to the sights you let us see in your neck of the woods. That was quite a windstorm you had!

  4. Kel says:

    your photos definitely capture the strange light that surrounds such stormy weather
    glad you are safe and sound

  5. judithhb says:

    Wow – that was some wind. We heard reports even here of the severity of the wind in some states and particularly in Alabama.
    Love the photos of the red ball and the ubiquitous plastic bag. They are just everywhere.
    By the way I nominated you for a Versatile Blogger award – http://growingyoungereachday.wordpress.com/2011/04/30/one-award-one-wedding-great-celebrations/. Enjoy.
    Judith

  6. judithhb says:

    My post appears to have been lost in the blogosphere.
    So I will try it again. Firstly love the photos and glad that you are all safe and sound. That must have been some wind.
    Secondly, I nominated you for a Versatile Bloggers Award – http://growingyoungereachday.wordpress.com/2011/04/30/one-award-one-wedding-great-celebrations/.
    Thanks for the inspiring photos and for sharing a life that is so very different to mine.
    Judith

    • Robin says:

      Thank you so much, Judith. I’m honored that you enjoy my blog enough to nominate me. 🙂

      I found your comment. It went into spam (probably because of the link).

  7. Wow, Robin, all those light and shadow shots are breathtaking. I love how green the pond is these days, and I’m sorry about all the fallen trees that were already sprouting leaves.
    Hope you can get everything cleaned up soon, and good luck finding the owner of the shingles!

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, SunsetSeaSoul. 🙂

      The clean up isn’t too bad, except for the trees in the woods. We’ll probably leave those for a while. As it turns out, they were our shingles! I missed the spot where they had come off at the back of the house.

  8. ladyfi says:

    Those golden colours are stupendous – how your photos make my heart sing!

  9. Your view of the pond is just gorgeous!

    It’s been really windy here, too, and I’m getting tired of it.

  10. bearyweather says:

    A visit by a big red ball is fun … looks like the wind blew in a “round” object for your photo challenge this week :0)

  11. Bo Mackison says:

    Lots of clean up! But at least you got a red ball out of that bargain with the wind.

  12. Dana says:

    Incredible! I’m always amazed and curious to see what washes up on the beaches from the ocean, and what a surprise that you get to see things washed up in the bogs, too! Beautiful photos and amazing sky!

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, Dana. 🙂

      The wind can be cool (or interesting) that way. It has tides of its own, washing things here and there by air.

  13. investment says:

    I hate people who throw their trash in the wild!

  14. printpasteplay says:

    Happy you said that about not changing the color of the yellow looking trees. I know the first thing I think when I see any amazing looking picture on the net is I wonder if that’s photoshopped it takes away the wow factor(-_-)

    • Robin says:

      I used to be a purist too, Ashayla. I play in Photoshop and Picnik occasionally, but if the colors are already good, I don’t mess with them. 🙂

  15. […] drawing and bubbles for making magic appear with one little breath.  There are balls (including the Big Red Ball that the wind brought to us one stormy day) and rubber duckies to throw into the pond.  And there […]


Thank you for visiting, and for commenting. I hope you'll join me at my new blog home, Breezes at Dawn.

