214: Sunshine on a cloudy day

Fog, clouds, rain, mist, and gray sum up this Monday here in the Bogs.  Since most of the photos I took today are on the gray and gloomy side, I decided to brighten things up with a series of wildflower shots I took in Colorado last year.

They were all taken in Golden Gate Canyon State Park, not far from the Visitor’s Center.  The most difficult thing to capture was the incredible number of flowers carpeting the ground along the trail.

I picked these particular photos for today because you can clearly see the sunshine lighting up the day and the flowers that were growing around the aspen trees.

There is a way that nature speaks, that land speaks.  Most of the time we are simply not patient enough, quiet enough, to pay attention to the story.

~ Linda Hogan

Each flower is a soul opening out to nature.

~ Gerald De Nerval

The Earth Laughs in Flowers.

~ Ralph Waldo Emerson

May our heart’s garden of awakening bloom with hundreds of flowers.

~ Thich Nhat Hanh

As for today’s outdoor adventures…

Morning view of the pond

Today’s view of the pond is quite a contrast to all the sunshine in the previous photos.  What you might not be able to see well, except over to the right where the willows are, is that the trees in the woods surrounding the pond are leafing. This reflection shows it better:

It’s difficult to go out for a walk and not come back all muddy.  I don’t believe I’ve ever experienced such a mushy, muddy, soggy, boggy, earth.  With the way some of the water is running in little streams underground, I keep expecting the earth to collapse and a big sinkhole to open up.

The plants and trees all seem perfectly happy with the rainy conditions.  I’m trying to look at it in positive ways (beyond the usual “at least it isn’t snow” remark).  I do enjoy the musical sounds of the rain as it hits the earth, the roof of the house, or the top of my umbrella.  The lettuces and Swiss chard seeds are being well watered without any help from us (or the need to run a hose out to the garden).  I’ve always found that rain water does a better job of helping the plants grow.

The spring rains will likely bring lots of gifts that I haven’t yet thought of, and will have to wait to see.

16 Comments on “214: Sunshine on a cloudy day”

  1. It’s been storming here most of the day, and as soon as I click on this post title, the sun peeks out! 🙂
    Should have come here hours ago!

  2. I love the idea that the Earth laughs in flowers. The Earth is very happy, then! Lovely flower shots; the rain on the pond and the reflection of the leaves on the water are amazing, too. You’ll have a summer full of colors, Robin!

  3. I really love the way you have been pairing photos with quotes–great idea!

    The misty view of the pond is magical!

    Kathy

  4. Bo Mackison says:

    Nice try to brighten your blog with sunny photos–felt good!

    The rain sure has its place, too, though it can get a bit tiresome. I finally went out and bought fun, bright colored rain boots so I can splash about in the rain (and mud)–and I won’t have to wait long to see if they help. After a reprieve today, the rest of the week’s weather predictions involve gray and wet.

  5. Beautiful! It’s very wet here in southwest Colorado today, too… I enjoyed this little bit of sunshine and spring. Thanks for sharing it. 🙂

  6. Rain here today, must be something in the water 🙂

  7. It’s raining here at my house today too, Robin, on the other side of the world from you, but I’m sure there must be some sunshine somewhere in the world! Even if there isn’t, you have brought sunshine to my day with your beautiful flower photos. 🙂

    What a wonderful quote ~ The earth laughs in flowers…

  8. Kel says:

    little spots of sunshine with those flower shots
    can hear some giggling all the way down here


Thank you for visiting, and for commenting. I hope you'll join me at my new blog home, Breezes at Dawn.

