212: Karma’s April Photo Scavenger Hunt

Body of Water

At the beginning of the month, Karma posted a photo scavenger hunt challenge that I couldn’t resist because I thought it would be fun and help me stretch a little creatively.  I was right on both counts.  Thank you, Karma!

I was tempted to use some stuff from Ye Olde Archives, but that would not have been as fun or as challenging.  I wasn’t quite sure I’d get them all before the deadline (which is April 24th so you still have time if you want to join in the fun!).

Here is the list:

  • body of water
  • train
  • hood
  • sprout
  • bud
  • basket
  • bunny
  • BONUS: clear, sharp, close-up of a Mr. Cardinal! (I’m specifically talking about the bird here, not the priest!)

The body of water was easy for me, of course.  Ye Olde Pond served me well in this hunt.  The train was the most difficult, but I got lucky.  While out and about running errands with M the other evening, he went the wrong way and the correction took us past a restaurant that has a couple of train cars sitting next to it.

A train

It’s not a long train, but it does qualify as a train.  Because I like cabooses so much, I had to take another shot of it from the other side (where the lighting was much better).

Little red caboose

Getting a hood was fairly easy although it wasn’t exactly what I had in mind.  I ended up with what you might call a double hood.

A hood in front of a hood (or is it a hood in a hood standing in front of a hood?)

Next up, a sprout.  I thought about using a photo of my youngest granddaughter as she’s a little sprout, but since I can’t get a new photo of her, I decided to go with this:

Asparagus sprout

I took it today while out on my walk.  It looks like we should have a handful of asparagus to cook up soon.  Yummy!

Bud was also easy with all the trees and flowers budding right now.  I decided on a tulip bud.  It looks like it should open and blossom soon.

Tulip bud

It should be noted that the hood in a hood standing in front of a hood counts as a bud too.  M isn’t really a hood, but he is my best friend which counts as a bud.

It took me a few tries to get a basket that I liked enough to post.  I took a few photos of baskets on bicycles while out shopping for a bike the other evening, but didn’t really like the composition so I asked M to step outside this afternoon and help me out with this:

Basket

He had to shoot a few baskets before I managed to get the timing right.

I really wanted a photo of some of the bunnies that live around here.  I know they must be out and about as something has been digging up some of the tulip bulbs in the garden out back.  I’m pretty sure it’s the bunnies.  But I haven’t seen hide nor hare of them.  That left me with the Easter Bunny:

Bunny

He was sitting in a neighborhood near the park where M and I walked our 5k a few weeks ago.

That leaves the bonus.  The elusive male cardinal who has been a big tease all throughout the winter months.  He has continued to be elusive throughout the spring as well.  He poses nicely when I don’t have the camera handy, and flies off when I do.  We lived in St. Louis for a year many moons ago so I thought we might have something with the St. Louis Cardinals logo on it.  No luck.  Then, just a little while ago, I saw this on the coffee table:

I don’t think it should count as it’s a picture of a picture on a magazine.  I included it just for fun.  And really, this is about the best I’m going to do when it comes to the male cardinal.  Maybe I’ll get him figured out by next year.

Thank you once again, Karma.  I enjoyed playing along.  Now I’m off to see what everyone else has been up to.  I tried to avoid peeking before I finished taking all of my photos so I wouldn’t be tempted to borrow ideas from others.

25 Comments on “212: Karma’s April Photo Scavenger Hunt”

  1. Barbara Rodgers says:

    Well done, Robin! I like your finds, especially the hood in front of a hood and the asparagus sprout! 🙂

  2. Great job! I like your interpretations!! 🙂 The only photo I have so far is the cardinal – but it’s a shot from directly underneath!!

  3. Kathy says:

    You played in Karma’s scavenger hunt–excellent pictures! It’s fun to see how everyone interprets and does things so differently. April 24th is the deadline? Gosh, there is still time…but so much to do before we leave. P.S. very odd that we both just posted a basketball hoop picture. P.S. Love the cardinal. Very crisp and clean shot. lol!

  4. Marianne says:

    Great photos, Robin and very funny as well. I like the word associations. Looks like you are having great weather too.

  5. ladyfi says:

    Oh what fun! I was wondering how you would capture a cardinal – this was very creative. I adore the bright colours of that first shot.

  6. Karma says:

    Love it Robin! I’m so happy you joined in this time around. Great idea on the basket photo! That’s one idea I never thought of. You’ve got a cute caboose ( 😉 ) and the hood, hood, hood wordplay was fun; I hoped people might make use of that. I was also curious to see if I’d get any cute little kid shots for “sprout” – which you obviously thought about and your asparagus sprout is unique among what I’ve seen so far. Thanks again for playing and I hope you had fun. New list coming in June.

    • Robin says:

      I think that’s the first time anyone has ever said I have a cute caboose, Karma. lol!

      Thank you again for the fun. I really enjoyed it.

  7. Dana says:

    YUM!! Asparagus is one of my favourite vegetables– your picture of the sprout is making me hungry!

    I think you did an excellent job taking photos for each of the scavenger items. It’s always nice to have some external motivation to boost our creative output every now and then, right?

    • Robin says:

      It’s one of my favorite veggies too, Dana. I think I’ll be picking some asparagus today (first time this season!).

      Thank you. 🙂

  8. milkayphoto says:

    Nice job! AND, most excellent commentary! Thoroughly enjoyed it! 🙂

  9. These are great! Your pond looked especially pretty that day.
    I really like the red caboose. We pass one all the time, in the next town over, and it looks a LOT like yours! I thought about taking a picture of it for the scavenger hunt, but then never got a chance (and I think Sara REALLY wanted me to use the picture of her litte train)
    Nice cardinal find, too! 😉

  10. […] Robin was next, and she had a little fun, as I hoped some of you would, with some plays on words.  I did too in my comment back to her!  You’ll have to pop over there and have a look if you want to know what I said.  Loved Robin’s “stop action” basket shot and her creative solution to the bonus photo. […]

  11. Dawn says:

    Love the idea of the BASKET ball hoop!

  12. Amazing collection… Your body of water looks superb, and the hood shot is a brilliant idea, and perfectly done…

    • Robin says:

      Thank you so much, Brian. 🙂

      I wouldn’t have thought of the hood shot (I had something else in mind) until I saw my husband in the Iron Maiden hoodie (sweatshirt). There he was, in front of the car. Too much to resist.

  13. Nye says:

    The tulip bud looks like it’s smiling and love reading your commentary. 🙂


Thank you for visiting, and for commenting. I hope you'll join me at my new blog home, Breezes at Dawn.

