211: Earth Day, Rainy Day

Earth Day here in the Bogs should be called Water Day.  We woke up to find it cloudy and raining once again.  Spending the extra time outdoors yesterday was a good idea.  Looks like we have clouds and rain in the forecast for the foreseeable future.

I had hoped to have an hour or two without rain this morning.  There was something I was excited about and wanted to do, but it will have to wait.  Perhaps we’ll get a break in the rain later.

I did go out for my walk this morning.  I was outside just long enough to meet my commitment of 30 minutes.  Then the rain started a slow misty dripping combination that is difficult to explain.  All you really need to know is that it was wet.  And chilly.  And got wetter as the rain became a steady downpour.

I spent time with the daffodils this morning.  Most are starting to look a little brown and droopy now, having reached their peak.  But there are a few still in their prime, looking lovely with their light coating of rain.

In honor of Earth Day (or maybe it’s part of a midlife crisis), M and I went out last night and invested in some new wheels.  One vehicle for each of us.  It is a vehicle we have rented on occasion while on vacation.  It won’t require fill ups at the gas station or pollute the air.

Cross-country skis, it seems, were not enough.  In our effort to move and stay healthy, we have invested in bicycles.  We considered a tandem bike, but it wasn’t practical.  M might eventually want to ride his bike to work, and I’d like to be able to go out and explore our area further than I usually get while walking (in less time) during some of my weekday outdoor adventures.  We need separate bicycles for that.

By the time we got home last night after purchasing the bikes, it was too late to go out for a ride.  I would have gone out this morning, but the weather was uncooperative.  I don’t mind getting wet.  It’s the cold along with the damp that, well, put a damper on things.  I’ll wait for a good long break in the rain.

Willow peering over the hill

One of the exiting things about having a bike is that I’ll have new places to photograph.  Walking is all well and good, but I can only go so far in a limited period of time.  If I had nothing else to do, I could spend all day walking.  Alas, there are chores and other responsibilities that must be taken care of on a daily basis.  The bike means more mileage in less time.  Cows, barns, fields, and other farm and country type things may start showing up here at the blog.

I can almost hear my city friends laughing.  But I bet you’ll enjoy the cows.  🙂

29 Comments on “211: Earth Day, Rainy Day”

  1. Bo Mackison says:

    Wow, Robin, this is a great post. I love those daffodil variations, very lovely colors and shapes.

    And I am really excited about those bicycles. That is a wonderful shot of the bike in the garage–love the light coming through the windows.

    And how exciting that you’ll be out exploring. I’m looking forward to seeing all kinds of new sights through your eyes via the camera lens.

    • Robin says:

      Thank you so much, Bo. I take that as a great compliment coming from you, the Queen of Botanicals. 🙂

      I can’t wait to get out on the bike. The weather is NOT cooperating. Hmph.

  2. judithhb says:

    Hi Robin. I too am looking forward to the photographs taken when out riding.
    Love all your photos and the flowers on this post are absolutely amazing.

  3. What amuses me are city people who have never seen a cow. The last shot is beautiful, with the little spot of green standing out in the B&W shot. The willow is pretty, too.
    I can’t wait to see what lovely shots you’ll take now that you can get around on your bike!

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, SunsetSeaSoul. 🙂

      Even more amusing (and sad, in a way) are those who have no idea where their food comes from. Somehow it appears all cleaned and wrapped in a grocery store. I’ve been at the farm up the road buying veggies and heard people complaining about the dirt on the vegetables and melons. Crazy.

  4. Cmsmith says:

    The trees are beautiful. So are the flowers. Have fun with the bikes.

  5. Kel says:

    hooray for bicycles
    summertime cycling will afford many photo opportunities

  6. Your daffodils are so pretty! I was going to ask you what kind of flower that first (daffodil) one is, but then I recognized it when I saw the next photo.
    Beautiful composition in the last one.

  7. Marcie says:

    Here too – earth day was a rainy one..as has been most of the month of April. Lovely moody image!

  8. Good for you for getting bikes!! I haven’t ha a bicycle since I was about 18. Sometimes I miss the freedom – someday I’ll get one again. Looking forward to your bicycle adventure photos!! 🙂

    • Robin says:

      We started renting bikes while vacationing in Boulder, Colorado, Holly. (Our youngest son and his wife live out there.) It’s a great town for biking, with trails and bike lanes everywhere. It was nice because we could get around without a car. After doing that a few times, I realized I was ready for my own bike.

  9. Tammy McLeod says:

    I haven’t seen an orange daffodil before – very nice. I like all of your photos and what you do with and without color. The willow is just beautiful.

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, Tammy. 🙂

      We have quite a variety of daffodils here at Breezy Acres, planted by people who lived here before us. I’m often surprised by the different colors and shapes and sizes.

  10. bearyweather says:

    Thank you for the gorgeous daffodils … what a great Spring sight.
    We had rain and snow all day yesterday, last night and it is lingering here this morning, too … still no signs of green and definitely no flowers, but it is warming up. This is the longest I think I have ever had to wait for Spring.
    Love your bike … I need a new one like yours that looks like it rides very comfortably.
    With all the rain and country riding .. watch out for those wet/muddy streaks up your back from the tires ;0)

    • Robin says:

      lol, Bearyweather! Those wet/muddy streaks are exactly why I haven’t taken the bike out for a spin yet. I suppose I could put on my gardening/outdoor work clothes. They’re already muddied up.

      I’m glad you enjoyed the daffodils. I hope Spring comes your way soon.

  11. Karma says:

    Congrats on the bikes! I will definitely enjoy the cows. I’d like to get out and do more biking myself, but this little corner of suburbia doesn’t lend itself all that well to it. Love your pinky daffodils. STILL waiting on mine!

  12. […] 211: Earth Day, Rainy Day (bogsofohio.wordpress.com) […]

  13. Marianne says:

    That is so excellent, Robin! I’m so proud of you. Looking forward to hear and see your biking adventures.

  14. Dana says:

    Our Earth Day was surprisingly sunny! Everyone here in Victoria was out and about, soaking in some precious Vitamin D after months of cloudy skies…

    I can’t wait to see your photos by bike! I am a regular bike commuter myself, though I don’t have any farmers’ fields close by… The ocean makes up for that, though. 😉

  15. milkayphoto says:

    You’ve certainly made the most of your ‘rainy day’! Congrats on the new wheels! LOVE the photo in the garage! Fantastic! When my foot heals, we’ll have to dust our ‘rides’ off and go for a spin!


Thank you for visiting, and for commenting. I hope you'll join me at my new blog home, Breezes at Dawn.

