193: Rain and wind

Today's view of the pond

We’re having serious weather today.  Lots of rain, wind, thunder, and lightning.  Transition weather.  The high today was up around 70.  Tomorrow it will be hovering around 40.  Another cold front is moving in.

The weather suits my mood.  I’m having serious thoughts today.  I keep wishing the wind would blow through my mind and take the thoughts with it.

Serious clouds

The thoughts swirl around, and I get caught up in them.  Going out for my walk in the rain was a good distraction.  I stayed out until the lightning got too close for comfort.

So close...

It’s difficult to take photos in the rain while carrying an umbrella even when the wind is relatively calm.  It’s even more difficult when the wind is blowing about 25 mph with the occasional 40 mph gust.  I’m lucky the umbrella made it through without being turned inside out.

The willows

The storminess was good for me.  The thoughts which had been churning like the clouds above me finally moved on once I realized I was not going to resolve anything by dwelling in them.

I did have some fun for a little while this afternoon playing with photos of my granddaughters.  I don’t usually post photos of them, not the sort that would be too recognizable (especially of Emma, the oldest), so it was interesting to see what I could do with the photos.

Tiny dancer

 

Got giggles?

I had such a great time with my granddaughters this weekend.  I hope we get to see them again soon.  I’d really like to be able to spend more time with them.

Well, this is a scattered, disjointed kind of post.  Perhaps I can do better tomorrow.  🙂

29 Comments on “193: Rain and wind”

  1. boatacrosstheriver says:

    hi Robin — I hope everything is okay : )

  2. The stormy sky speckled with birds is stunning, Robin. I love it!

  3. Karma says:

    Think of it this way if it helps: thunderstorms go with warm weather! I love a good thunderstorm (as long as the power doesn’t go out) in the summertime.
    The daffodil shot is lovely (wish I had daffies that close to blooming!) and the pics of the grandchildren have a neat “old-timey” look to them.

    • Robin says:

      Well, Karma, that would help except we woke up to snow showers this morning. I usually enjoy a good thunderstorm, too. It always seems to clear out the air.

      Thank you. 🙂

  4. Kathy says:

    It’s a lovely post, Robin. From the thunderstorms to the beautiful grandchildren. Knowing what it feels to be caught in swirling thoughts…and then deciding to release them because it all gets futile riding the roller coaster up and down. Hugs!

  5. Kala says:

    So happy to see your daffodils are starting to bloom Robin! It’s too cold here for ours yet.

    • Robin says:

      They are so close, Kala. If the sun would come out, even for just a little while, I bet a few of them would bloom.

      I hope it warms up for you soon. 🙂

  6. Bo Mackison says:

    Sometimes stormy weather is just what’s needed. Though this roller coaster spring your having is a bit hard on the constitution. Hope all is well, now. 🙂

  7. Kel says:

    the good thing about storms is breathing in all those negative ions that are flying around in the atmopshere afterwards

    bout the only time something ‘negative’ is actually positive 🙂

    • Robin says:

      lol! True, Kel. It’s not often a negative is actually a positive. I’ve seen negatives turn into positives, but that’s different.

  8. We’ve had similar weather here in Kentucky today–warm, rain, and then cold, cold, cold. I suppose we experienced the same front.

    Love the photos of your grandchildren! How sweet!

    Kathy

  9. Marcie says:

    We’re having that same sort of strange and wild and unpredictable weather. Love those images of your grandgirls. So sweet!!!

  10. Stormy weather sure makes for some beautiful cloud pictures! It was crazy windy here yesterday. When I picked up my little one from school, there was a little girl (3-4 years old) who was literally blown over by a wind gust.
    Your granddaughters are adorable.

  11. subha says:

    the picture of the pond is mesmerizing! i love the reflection and the way the sky looks. so excited about the flowers coming out!

  12. penpusherpen says:

    Lovely photo’s, Robin, serious clouds and daffs, and especially the two of your granddaughters, love the giggles … xPenx

  13. Love the photo’s of the grandkids! I think its great when grandparents are involved!

  14. Barbara Rodgers says:

    It’s beautiful, though, the birds flying in the serious clouds. I love the effects you created in the pictures of your granddaughters – they look so sweet! Visits from grandparents are the highlights of life for their grandchildren!

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, Barbara. 🙂

      I hope that is the case for my grandchildren. We don’t get to see them as often as I’d like so I want the visits to be special in some way.

  15. […] 193: Rain and wind (bogsofohio.wordpress.com) […]


Thank you for visiting, and for commenting. I hope you'll join me at my new blog home, Breezes at Dawn.

