191: A duck’s feather

I am off on another mini-adventure.  I should be back tomorrow.  In the meantime, I’ll leave this feather as a placemarker.  I’ve often used feathers as bookmarks (not the computer type, of course, but to mark my place while reading a book).

I hope you’re having a wonderful weekend!  See you again soon.

Note about the photo:  I had the white balance set to tungsten for this shot.  When I used auto settings it kept coming out overexposed.  I like the way the tungsten setting (and the exposure I used) brought out the leaf while making the water of the pond dark.  The feather was floating on the pond, one of many.  We had two pairs of mallards on the pond the other day, and the males got into some serious fighting.  Quite a few feathers were left behind.

23 Comments on “191: A duck’s feather”

  1. Definitely good choice of WB! Have fun on your adventure! 🙂

  2. milkayphoto says:

    Gorgeous!!! Have a great mini-adventure!! 🙂

  3. Bo Mackison says:

    That is one seriously great feather photo. Have a great mini-adventure — coming back with photos, I’m guessing!!! 🙂

  4. I wouldn’t have guessed the feather was floating on the pond if you hadn’t told me. This is a very beautiful shot, Robin. I love the drops.
    Have fun, and post lots of pictures!

  5. I like the blue of the tungsten–such a lovely photo, delicate. Look forward to seeing photos from your mini adventure.

  6. Gosh, Robin, the feathure is beautiful. Hope you enjoy your adventure. See you soon!
    Kathy

  7. Artswebshow says:

    It was a good call because the water droplets are so clear.
    I really like this shot

  8. penpusherpen says:

    Ah!! Off to another dimension maybe? Don’t blame you, but bring me back a harpy feather. I know you’ll have to fight for it, but it;d be worth it for me!!! 😉
    Have a great mini-break xPenx

    • Robin says:

      Not quite another dimension, Pen, but close. I had to step into my role as Grandma. 😀

      No harpy feathers this trip. Perhaps on the next one… 😉

  9. Marianne says:

    Exquisite feather photo, Robin. Have fun on your mini-adventure!

  10. lynnekovan says:

    Lovely radiant shot!

  11. Kathy says:

    A purple duck’s feather! Exquisite. “I never saw a purple duck, I never hope to see one. But if I saw a purple duck, I’d rather see than be one.” (Wow, don’t know where that popped out of the brain’s memory.)


Thank you for visiting, and for commenting. I hope you'll join me at my new blog home, Breezes at Dawn.

