185: At least it isn’t snowing

(Sunlight on dried flowers.)

It’s another bright, sunny. blue-sky day here in the Bogs.  The north wind is still blowing, keeping the temperatures down and Spring at bay.  I expected to be taking photos of spring flowers by now, but it’s back to the dried flowers in the meadows.

Golden morning sunlight reflections, fog, and goose on the pond

Sunrise was pretty this morning.  It took a little while for the sunlight to hit the pond.  When it did, it was breathtaking.  I wish I could have captured it better.

Willows touching the deep blue sky

I went out for my walk late in the afternoon today.  We were busy earlier in the day.  We had lunch with a friend and then did a little shopping at an outlet mall near where we had lunch.  I’m still trying to figure out what size I am after last year’s weight loss.  I’m also trying not to buy much as I’m on my way towards losing more weight so it seems a waste to invest too much right now.

Afternoon shadow

I keep reminding myself that when we had this sort of day in January, I thought it was warm and beautiful.  When that doesn’t work, I repeat what others are saying:  At least it isn’t snowing.

36 Comments on “185: At least it isn’t snowing”

  1. Lovely photos–the afternoon shadow photo drew me into your post! Yes, it’s cold here too, but at least it’s not snowing!

  2. tjfox says:

    I love the tree shots, especially the last. Well… Okay. I love them all, but those are my favorites. The last I want on a rug so I can walk across it and dig my toes in. As for the weather, we are getting some flurries, so I can’t even say that about the snow.

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, Fox. I think that might make a great rug, too.

      Sorry about the flurries. Unfortunately, I think we’re in for some of those soon.

  3. CMSmith says:

    Beautiful photos, even without the spring flowers.

  4. SWK says:

    First photo is so lovely. I do miss spring.

    • Robin says:

      Thanks, SWK. 🙂

      I miss it too. At the rate we’re going, it will probably just get hot one day and we’ll have skipped spring altogether and gone right into summer.

  5. Everything in this post is so beautiful, Robin. I love the little flowers and the softness of the shot, and the shadow tree in the last one is amazing; I’m quite fond of taking pictures of shadows myself. I get an idea of what that sunrise was like, and all I can say is wow. Nature moves me beyond words.
    Sorry spring is holding back on you. I wish it comes already, you deserve it after all the snow.

  6. Gosh, Robin, the photos are stunning. The tree against the blue is incredible, but the one of the shadow is even more amazing–I think. I can’t tell which one I like best. Well done!

  7. ladyfi says:

    It’s well below freezing here too!

    Lovely lovely pics – they remind of spring, so it must be around the corner – right?

  8. penpusherpen says:

    Spring, Spring, Spring, makes you want to jump up and down. Well, does me, ‘cos it’s awakening my senses and making me feel anythings possible. Please god, anythings possible. Lovely photo’s Robin, I love the afternoon shadow one, don’t know why, I just do.. 😉 xPenx

  9. It was a gorgeous weekend! Sun, sun, and more sun! I do wish it could have been a little warmer, and some flowers would be nice (I haven’t seen any yet, either). I love your capture of the sky – it was a beautiful, deep blue color – I loved it!!

  10. boatacrosstheriver says:

    oh my goodness — i think the goose on pond picture is fabulous. i know it’s you and not your camera, but i am curious what kind of camera you have?

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, BATR. 🙂

      I am currently using a Kodak Easyshare Z981. My next camera will probably be a DSLR (Nikon has one that is tempting me greatly).

  11. Yep, I keep saying that myself after 4 beautiful days of sunny weather but the same north wind you are experiencing. Feels like late Fall instead of early Spring.

    I thought you did well with the morning photo on the pond.

  12. MP says:

    I come to your blog feeling stressed out.. I leave with a sense of peace.. great job Robin

  13. Nicola says:

    The shadow picture is stunning!

  14. The afternoon shadow photo looks to me like a carpet, with some sort of crazy tree design on it. Well captured, Robin!

    Did you photoshop the goose on the pond? Either way, it’s beautiful. 🙂

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, Joanne. 🙂

      I cropped the photo of the goose on the pond to zoom in on the light (some of the pond wasn’t reflecting the golden light), and softened it a little because the crop brought out the “noise” in the photo. So the short answer is: Yes. lol!

  15. Beautiful! Won’t be long now until it’s spring in your neck of the woods.
    The shadow is amazing!

  16. Marianne says:

    Joanne is right, the afternoon photo does look like a carpet. It could be called the earth carpet. Very cool!

  17. The last photo is captivating! You crack me up with the thought of “at least it isnt snowing” 😀

  18. Barbara Rodgers says:

    The willows touching the deep blue sky is spectacular! What a beautiful day you had… I’ve been thinking of going through the clothes in anticipation of spring and having lost a little weight, too. Spring makes us feel so full of possibilities!

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, Barbara. 🙂

      And yes, that’s exactly what spring does — make us feel so full of possibilities. No wonder we welcome it with such enthusiasm.


Thank you for visiting, and for commenting. I hope you'll join me at my new blog home, Breezes at Dawn.

