174: Collecting shells

One cannot collect all the beautiful shells on the beach; one can collect only a few, and they are more beautiful if they are few.

~ Anne Morrow Lindbergh

It’s been a busy day and I was unable to find time to put together what I wanted to post today.ย  My outdoor time has been one of those “running errands and doing chores” days so no great tales to tell or photos to post.

Besides, I think we could all use a break from my long posts.ย  ๐Ÿ™‚

21 Comments on “174: Collecting shells”

  1. Kel says:

    ah yes
    focusing on a few to gain the full beauty of a thing, wise words indeed
    great shot Robin, and if my site’s hits are anything to go by…you should find your seashell photo gets used all around the world by google searchers ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, Kel. ๐Ÿ™‚

      I thought of your seashell photo when I was posting this one. Are you still having trouble with people using it?

  2. LOL. Love the softness of the picture and the colors on the shells. The quote is great, too. I could extrapolate a lot of things from that quote; I guess that’s the literature lover in me.

  3. milkayphoto says:

    Ugh, errand day…just ask hubby how I feel about errand day. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Lovely collection of shells. The bright blue at the top is really eyecatching.

  4. SWK says:

    The colors in these shells are beautiful. I like the simple composition.

  5. penpusherpen says:

    I for one, love your long posts, but a short one is better than no post at all. ๐Ÿ˜€
    I love shells, and the mellow time to browse and look, touch and wonder at their complex formation. An altogether rounded experience … xPenx

  6. I agree with penpusherpen, I always enjoy your long posts, however I hope that you are enjoying your break!

    Beautiful shell photo. It would be perfect to frame. ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. Marcie says:

    These shells are lovely. Almost no need for additional words!

  8. ladyfi says:

    Such gorgeous jewels from the sea!

  9. You found some beauties! Collecting seashells while walking on the beach is simply a MUST ๐Ÿ™‚
    Just curious about how you clean them to get rid of that (not so) lovely smell? I’ve been soaking mine in a bleach solution, but I’m wondering if there’s another option?

  10. Robin says:

    I agree, Michaela. ๐Ÿ™‚

    I usually let them sit out in the sun while we’re still at the beach and then, if necessary, boil the shells. That usually takes care of it.

  11. Barbara Rodgers says:

    Short posts are as nice as long posts… Variety is the spice of life, I’m learning. I love the Anne Morrow Lindbergh quote and have added it to my collection – it goes so well with the colorful picture!


Thank you for visiting, and for commenting. I hope you'll join me at my new blog home, Breezes at Dawn.

