169: Pictures of nature inside a camera*

Today's sunrise

After watching the sunrise this morning I turned on the television to watch one of those morning news programs.  And after seeing what happened in Japan, I don’t feel in the mood for the originally planned fun post.  I’ll save it for another day.

The beach at sunset yesterday

My thoughts and prayers go out to the people of Japan affected by the earthquake and tsunami.

The pier at sunset

Today was our last full day in Florida.  M and I are heading home tomorrow. We had amazing weather throughout most of our trip.  Today was no exception.

We’re going to the square (or whatever they call it) this evening.  They have live jazz music in the square on Friday evenings.  It will be a nice evening for it.

That’s about it from Florida.  I have tons of photos to go through so I’m sure you’ll be seeing and reading more about it in the weeks to come.  It will help keep me warm while we finish out winter.

Flying away

I’ll see you again from the Bogs.

*Another search engine term title.

30 Comments on “169: Pictures of nature inside a camera*”

  1. SWK says:

    Beautiful sky colors. I know what you mean about Japan… I’m writing a blog post in an effort to try to make something of a response to it. And make sense of it as well.

    • Robin says:

      Thanks, SWK.

      I don’t know if there is a way to make sense of the tragedy, but I know what you mean. I’ll stop by soon to read your post.

  2. As usual, Robin, your pictures are amazing. I love them all, but my favorite is the first one.
    I was stunned this morning when I turned on the news, too. It’s incredible that the same nature we enjoy and revel in can be so destructive. And humankind can’t be blamed for this one, what happened was absolutely natural. It’s the kind of thing that renders you speechless.

  3. When we hear of other’s less than desirable situations, it always reminds us to be so grateful for what we have, doesn’t it?

    I’ll look forward to seeing more photos of the Atlantic Ocean and Lauderdale-by-the-Sea after you have sorted through your photos. It looks simply beautiful! 🙂

    • Robin says:

      That’s true, Joanne.

      And thank you. There will be plenty more to come (if I don’t get wrapped up in the excitement of spring here in the Bogs). 🙂

  4. Karma says:

    Japan’s news is indeed devastating. One of the teachers I work with has a son visiting Hawaii who had to evacuate early this morning, so we had been keeping an eye on that area of the world. Safe travels home!

  5. newbunny says:

    amazing beautiful pics,well done.

  6. Your pictures bring peace of mind, Robin. I have a feeling of helplessness and deep sadness. Empathy and prayers are thoughts that come to mind. My friend and neighbour´s son lives there with his wife and newly born baby girl. So far, they are safe; gratefulness and relief.

  7. Great photos, Robin–lovely post! We’re with you–all thinking about Japan!

    Hugs from Haiti,
    Kathy

  8. Tammy McLeod says:

    Your photos are beautiful. I’m with Isa in sending prayers. These are so calming to look at after everything else we’ve seen on the news.

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, Tammy. I’m glad they brought a sense of calm for some of my visitors.

      Thank you, also, for stopping by and commenting. I appreciate it. 🙂

  9. That third picture is amazing! So glad the weather cooperated. Have a safe trip home!

  10. Anna says:

    Yes, it is very sad and shocking about Japan. Bless them.

    Your photos are beautiful, and I love the header photo too.

  11. milkayphoto says:

    It is amazing how tragedy can put things in perspective, huh? Glad you had wonderful weather – I’m sure it renewed your soul! Have a safe trip back!

  12. Marianne says:

    Yes, the news from Japan is both devastating and heartbreaking. We just never know what can happen or when.

    Your pictures of Florida are awesome. I love them all.

  13. penpusherpen says:

    Hi Robin, Japan is a factor which is colouring all our lives…With the available news 24hrs it can’t help but be there, showing again and again the horrific pictures of devastation. For we who can only look on in horror, our only option is to add our condolences for those lives lost and the hope that all other Countries will send aid and help with the massive clearing and cleaning up programme …It shows again that we are here on this Earth on sufferance only, the Earth will shrug it’s back again and again we have to accept and learn to live and die with the consequences…Not much to console the ones who have lost loved ones, but Nature is cold and uncaring.
    I love the last Photo, flying away, it drew my imagination and I could see it taking off and flying high…free as a bird… xPenx

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, Pen. I hope you could hear the bird as well as see it taking off and flying away. Those wings make quite a wooshing sound (especially if you’re standing as close to the bird as I was at the time).

      I sometimes think having the news available so quickly and so often might not be a good thing. I have been pondering giving up the news for a while. But then I’d end up being one of those “uninformed Americans” (also known as “ignorant Americans”) and I’m not sure that’s a good thing either.

  14. Derrick says:

    Love that 2nd picture – reminds me of family vacations in south Florida not far from where these were taken.

  15. Barbara Rodgers says:

    Flying away – GREAT SHOT!!

    It is so heartbreaking about the tsunami. The ocean is so nurturing to the soul and yet other times so deadly. Nature is both beautiful and brutal, sometimes on such a large scale that its balance is so hard to accept…


Thank you for visiting, and for commenting. I hope you'll join me at my new blog home, Breezes at Dawn.

