Weekly Photo Challenge: Shadow

This week’s photo challenge (as you can tell by today’s post title) is Shadow.  One of the great things about being in Florida is all the sunshine.  The great thing about all the sunshine is it made it relatively easy for me to capture some shadows for this week’s  Weekly Photo Challenge brought to us by The Daily Post.

As I sit here typing, the early morning sun is creating all sorts of shadows and patterns in the room.  I’m tempted to get out the camera and take a few more shots, but that way leads to never getting this post ready to publish.

We had another beautiful sunrise this morning.  There were clouds on the horizon again.  I like watching the light play subtly on the clouds as the sun makes its way above the horizon line.

Day 168

Meeting my outdoor commitment here in Florida has been easy.  Today, though, brought some storms and by tomorrow it will be significantly cooler.

This morning's sunrise

M and I did get out and swim for a while this morning.  Since there was no lightning to go with the heavy rain, we figured once we’re wet, we’re wet.  Why bother to seek shelter?  Especially if the idea was to get wet in the first place?

Storm moving out to sea

Around noon some serious looking clouds moved in on us from the west.  We postponed our walk to lunch until there was a break in the rain.  (Have I mentioned that this is another car-less vacation for us?  We’re becoming experts at the car-less vacation.  We get loads of exercise that way and never have to worry about parking or paying to park.)

I really enjoyed watching the way the clouds and rain moved over us and then out across the ocean.  It’s not something I get to see everyday, nor is it something I would usually get to see so well demarcated.

Another interesting facet of the storm was a large gathering of birds.  There were the usual gulls along with an assortment of terns, pigeons, and turkey vultures (the turkey vultures, we were told, are wintering here).  It was difficult to capture in still photography.  I wish I’d thought to turn on the video but I was busy watching and trying to take the occasional photo.

Wind on the waves

The ocean calmed down considerably once the first round of heavy rain and wind moved through.  The temperature dropped almost 20 degrees.

After the storm

The clouds move in, the sun shines, the rain falls while the sun is shining and makes you wonder where on earth (or in heaven) can it be coming from.  The snowbirds have a two-word phrase for it all:  That’s Florida.  I don’t know how many times I’ve heard that since we arrived.

We met a man from Canada a few days ago who explained to us that we are not snowbirds.  A snowbird is someone who stays for a month or more (he stays for 3 months every year).  Since we are here for only 10 days, that makes us snowflakes.

Funny.

27 Comments on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Shadow”

  1. milkayphoto says:

    Hehehehe…snowflakes. That IS funny!

    LOVE the shadow shots! And, swimming in the rain is awesome! We, too, always thought it ridiculous that folks on the beach (or at the pool) would run away when it began to rain!

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, Tracy. 🙂

      I never could figure that out — running away when it rains at the beach or at the pool. If there is lightning, yes. Otherwise, why??

  2. SWK says:

    Love those storm pictures.

  3. Bo Mackison says:

    You’re only a snow flake. AH, ha ha! Well, you get a gold sun for lovely shadow work, snow flake or snow bird. Love that chair shadow on the yellow wall.

  4. Kala says:

    I absolutely love the image of the palm tree reflection.

  5. Snowflakes – I love it!! To see the rain streaming out of the clouds is so pretty, and then everything looks so calm afterward! Your shadow photos are great!!

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, Holly. 🙂

      It was really interesting watching the storm move like that across the water. With all the trees we have here in the Bogs, we don’t get such clear views of the horizon or the storm fronts.

  6. k says:

    I love After the Storm picture –

  7. Love the chair and the balcony shades, Robin! The colors in the water are stunning, and the last shot is just breathtaking.
    We get weather like that during the summer, too. After a stormy afternoon the sun breaks through the clouds and everything is golden, plus the occasional rainbow. I’ve seen a lot of those lately – amazing sky for taking pictures.
    By the way, your clouds arrived yesterday, and today I got to shoot them during the sunset. They were amazing! Thanks a lot! 🙂

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, SunsetSeaSoul. 🙂

      I’m glad those clouds made it to you. I packaged them up especially for you. I should be caught up soon so I can visit your blog and see how they worked out. 😀

  8. Marcie says:

    Snowbirds or snowflakes? Love the distinction. And – such wonderful captures of shadows and light. Great eye!

  9. You found some great shadows. I want to get some paint and paint that palm tree onto that wall, using it’s shadow as my guide 🙂
    The sunrise is beautiful, and so are the storm photos.

    • Robin says:

      Thanks, Michaela. 🙂

      With such a great expanse of white wall along with the daily palm tree shadows, I’m surprised someone hasn’t come along and done just that (painted the palm tree onto the wall). I can see why you’re tempted.

  10. Meredith says:

    That’s awesome, I love the term “snowflake” – though it does make you guys sound a little bit like a couple of Valley girls 🙂

    The shadow pictures are awesome, I wish we were in Florida!

  11. penpusherpen says:

    hiya snowflake, 😀
    there’s something very emotive about photo’s capturing shadowy shapes and various shades, like comparing life with unreality in the same candid shot… All three photo’s were prime examples. Don’t go melting in the sun,Robin snowflake,… keep the sunshades handy …xPenx

    • Robin says:

      Thanks, Pen. 🙂

      I didn’t melt and now that I’m back at home, it’s cold enough to keep that from happening anytime soon. I went out to join the other snowflakes today.

  12. Marianne says:

    Wonderful shadow pictures, Robin. Snowflakes, that’s funny. Leave it to a guy from Canada, eh!lol

    • Robin says:

      lol, Marianne! I wonder if it’s a Canadian thing. Most of the folks we have met down there have been from Canada although there were a few from Minnesota (almost Canada) last year.

  13. Barbara Rodgers says:

    In the second picture I love the way the shadow of the railing fits perfectly on the balcony – what a lucky moment! And the third picture with one tree clouded in the fog, very unusual and eye-catching!

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, Barbara. 🙂

      I had to be up at sunrise to capture that kind of light (in the balcony shot). I don’t know why I find that easier to do at the beach than at home. I must be missing a lot of great light in the early mornings.


Thank you for visiting, and for commenting. I hope you'll join me at my new blog home, Breezes at Dawn.

