167: Bogs boots in the tropics

This morning's sunrise

The sunrise today looked a lot like yesterday’s.  There were lots of clouds and I had to wait for the sunbeams to shoot through the clouds.  It must have rained overnight.  There were puddles on the balcony and the sand was wet.

It got windy again, although not as windy as it was those first few days.  There were some pretty big waves out there this morning.

Lizard

This is not the curlytail lizard that was sitting with me on the pool deck yesterday, but I think it is a curlytail lizard.  I spotted this guy on our way to lunch.  He was hanging out near one of those expensive-looking, gated, condos-on-the-beach.  I often wonder about those places.  I never see people there.  Maybe no one can afford them.

Curlytail lizard on the beach

This is not the guy from the pool deck either.  But I did catch this one with its tail curled.  It was kind enough to sit there long enough for me to take several shots.  I’m having similar luck with the birds around here too.  The wildlife doesn’t seem to mind people too much.

Skimboarding

Yesterday evening we watched some guys skimboarding.  A couple of them were quite good at it.  A couple of them were not but I give them lots of credit for trying no matter how many times they fell down.  It was all very entertaining and looked like fun.

I’m going to wrap this up.  I keep looking out at the ocean, my mind and spirit wanting to be outside rather than in here.  I hear winter will be welcoming us back to the Bogs when we return.  Might as well enjoy the warmth of Florida’s great outdoors while I can.

8)

Post title once again courtesy of my search engine terms.  My thanks to go out to the folks who come up with such great topics.

22 Comments on “167: Bogs boots in the tropics”

  1. SWK says:

    Hmm… I think I have to improve my sunrise/sunset shots… love it at that exact moment when the rays burst through the clouds.

  2. k says:

    Enjoy it while you are there; thanks for keeping us posted:)

  3. Karma says:

    Those search topics are funny, aren’t they? That’s a neat idea to use them for your post title. Love the lizard!

    • Robin says:

      Thanks, Karma. 🙂

      You wouldn’t believe some of the search terms/topics I get. Then again, you might. The internet is a funny place at times.

  4. Nate says:

    The rays of sunlight bursting through the clouds in the first photo looks like an amazing sight. Wonderful photograph. Thanks for sharing!
    – Nate

  5. ladyfi says:

    Wow – the photos here and in your previous post are so exquisitely beautiful! Soak up all that warmth and beauty before returning to winter!

  6. Pat Bean says:

    Lizards are so fun to photograph. Thanks for sharing.

  7. penpusherpen says:

    Good of little curly-tail to pose for you long enough for you to catch a wonderful shot, Robin, and I don’t blame you for longing to be outside, I would too if my ‘view’ was a spectacular as yours!! Take a paddle on the wonderful looking sandy shore for me please!! 🙂 …ah lovely!! xPenx

  8. SkP says:

    Another incredible sunset – so jealous – wish I would be there atm as well 🙂

  9. The curly-tailed guy is really cute! When we leave Haiti, I’m going to miss the lizards.

    Hugs from Haiti,
    Kathy

  10. Take some of that Florida weather with you when you go home, and chase winter away 😉

  11. Barbara Rodgers says:

    Why is it that no matter how many stunning sunrises and sunsets we see we never get tired of them? Each time is like the first time… Very nice shots, Robin! That was nice of the curly-tailed lizard to pose for you, he looks like a friendly little fellow…

    • Robin says:

      I think it’s a matter of how we approach them, Barbara. Or maybe it has something to do with the minds and awareness of those of us willing to get up to watch the sunrise or take the time to watch the sunset. I hadn’t really thought of it in those terms, but you’re right. Each times is like the first time. 🙂


Thank you for visiting, and for commenting. I hope you'll join me at my new blog home, Breezes at Dawn.

