164: Crossing the threshold of adventure

Today's sunrise

Not really.  It was a search engine term from today’s stats and I thought it would make a great post title.  Someday I may have a real reason for using it, but why wait?

Another beautiful morning

We had another fun and full day here in paradise.  We didn’t do any one thing in particular, but there was a lot of walking going on.  Even a little jogging and some swimming.  I’m trying not to take home more weight than I arrived here with, and that means exercise in addition to moderation.

Some of today's storm clouds heading out to sea

A few storms moved in and out throughout the day.  We got our sun and beach time in before noon, then set out for lunch and some shopping.  We got caught in the rain once or twice.  Having a good hair day today was pretty much impossible.  Not that I was going for a good hair day.  Humidity, salt air, wind.  Nah.  It ain’t happening.

A gull and his reflection

I’ve been taking photos of birds and flowers almost since we arrived.  Since I have nothing in particular to write about today, it’s a good time to show you some of the birds.  I’ll come back to the flowers another day.  I don’t know the names of most so I won’t guess.  Perhaps my Florida friend and fellow blogger, Anhinga, can clue us in on some of them.  I do know that some are gulls.  I also know that there are a large variety of gulls.

I love these guys. They look they're from NJ. Yo, Vinnie!

Some of the photos are probably blurry.  The blustery wind makes it difficult to avoid some kind of camera shake.  Even a tripod would be of little use.  The winds are supposed to decrease a bit tomorrow, after a cold front passes through. It won’t get cold, though.  Upper 70s, low 80s.  Nice.

A so black he's blue bird

I’ve been playing around with the camera again, using manual settings most of the time now.  Last night I decided to give light painting a try.  I’ll show you a (bad) sample of that when I finish with the birds.

I think this is an egret. He was hanging out near the grocery store.

Sunset tonight was interesting with storm clouds off in the distance and lightning shooting across and through the clouds.

Bird on the beach, after the storm.

Time for me to wrap this up and bring you the bonus light painting shot.  I’m hoping to give this a try again tonight after dinner.

Squiggles

I used the lights from the fishing pier which is just a little ways from us.

Lightning is still playing around way out over the ocean. The waves have calmed.  And most of the lights around here are shielded or lowered for the sea turtles.  M and I are going to have some dinner and then go relax on the balcony and listen to the sounds of the sea, something that will likely lull me into an early sleep as I’m already pretty tired.

See you tomorrow.  🙂

30 Comments on “164: Crossing the threshold of adventure”

  1. Love the birds – especially the NJ bird (Vinnie is my older son’s name)! Great squiggles! That’s something I haven’t tried yet…. someday!

  2. SWK says:

    I really like the bird pictures! Post title is pretty epic, as well. 😀

  3. I looove that sunrise! It’s so beautiful. Please send me some of those clouds, I’d love to shoot a sunset with that background. I can’t wait to see your flower shots!

  4. Karma says:

    That is quite the search term, eh?
    I can feel the warmth just emanating from this post…ahhhh!

    • Robin says:

      I think it’s one of the best search terms I’ve gotten so far, Karma. Oddly enough, I had one of the worst at the same time (and I won’t be using that one, ever).

  5. Bo Mackison says:

    Sounds of the sea. Ahhh.

    Certainly not a sound I am listening to, but I always have loved the soothing sounds of the incoming waves, I’m listening to birds and coyotes singing, but isn’t it lovely to be in a warm place.

  6. Christina says:

    Gorgeous! That second picture – wow!

    And you know I love all bird pics 🙂

    I think your blue-black guy is a grackle, yes the white one is en egret, and the goofy looking guy is either a cormorant or an anhinga. I’m not as up on the east coast birdies.

    • Robin says:

      Thanks, Christina! I can always count on you to at least give it try when it comes to Name That Bird. 😀

      I’ve been taking so many photos of trees and flowers and birds that this might start looking like one of your blogs.

  7. k says:

    I am glad you guys are having a good time; I am enjoying your posts, and photo’s as usual.

  8. Those sunrise photos were well worth getting up early for, Robin! Just beautiful.

    Your gull and his reflection looks like the common seagulls we have in abundance here. Bring out the food and they arrive out of no where!

    Tip ~ forget about having a good-hair-day when spending time near the ocean. It didn’t happen today and it ain’t gonna happen any day while you’re there either! It’s a small price to pay for all of the joy this holiday is bringing to you and M though. 🙂

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, Joanne. I think sunrises at the beach are almost always well worth getting up for. 🙂

      And you’re right about the hair, although I did have the best hair ever when the wind was so bad. I never thought that wind blown look would work for me, but it did. 😀

  9. Wow–I can’t believe how many birds you’ve managed to see! Great photos!

    Enjoy the sun and sea!

    Hugs from Haiti,
    Kathy

    • Robin says:

      Those are just the birds I managed to photograph, Kathy. There are some (one in particular) that keep eluding me. Hopefully I’ll get the before we leave.

      Thanks! 🙂

  10. penpusherpen says:

    Loved the squiggles,Robin, very imaginative..
    and I always ‘flock’ to see Birds photo’s 😉 I just love the amazing varieties, so many different sizes, colours and shapes and never tire of viewing them and listening to their wonderful uplifting sounds.
    Bad hair day? I just tuck mine behind my ears when all hope is gone…(Sigh!!) 😉
    xPenx

    • Robin says:

      I was looking at the shadow of a palm tree today, Pen, and realized that my hair is probably going to look like that by the time we leave. lol!

      I love the birds, too. 🙂

  11. Kala says:

    Great photos Robin. Looks like you’re having a fabulous vacation!

  12. Kathy says:

    Beautiful skies and birds! I remember learning the names of some of the birds while in Florida. I also remember coming home from Florida after photographing all the colors and feeling color-deprived. Fortunately you should be coming home to almost-spring? The color should be emerging soon.

    • Robin says:

      I felt that way last year, Kathy. But I’m thinking this year might be a little different. I’ve managed to find and appreciate little bits of color throughout the winter so maybe that will help.

      Then again, it is a riot of color here so we’ll see…

  13. Wow! So many different birds! Im glad you are having a good time. Do you take home sand or am I the only one 🙂

  14. Marianne says:

    Beautiful sunrise! Great bird photos. Glad you’re having a wonderful time, Robin.

  15. Barbara Rodgers says:

    Have you seen any sea turtles? These pictures are beautiful, I especially like the seagull and his reflection. Nicely done! To hear the sea lulling you to sleep, what serenity… Sweet dreams…

    • Robin says:

      We did not see any sea turtles, Barbara. I always hope we will. Lauderdale By The Sea has a sea turtle ordinance about lights at night so they must be there somewhere…


Thank you for visiting, and for commenting. I hope you'll join me at my new blog home, Breezes at Dawn.

