163: Beach watching

Sunrise this morning was lovely.  The winds were still blowing and gusting like crazy, and there were a few times when I thought I might get blown away, but it’s still wonderful to be near the ocean and watch as the sun appears to rise from the water.

(Fake sky, real palm trees.)

Today was moving day for us.  You see, the resort where we stayed last year and moved to today rents apartments/condos on a weekly basis only.  We decided we would add two extra days to our stay this year since a one-week stay means two of those days are taken up by travel.  We wanted a full week to enjoy the beach.  So we had to book two nights at another place.  Nothing is terribly cheap here, especially if you have an ocean view.  But we didn’t do too badly.  The room was small, but served its purpose.

Now that we’re settled into an apartment, we can do a little less eating out.  That’s a good thing.  Although we’re getting plenty of exercise, I’m not sure it makes up for the calories of all the food we get served in a restaurant.  Not that I belong to the clean plate club anymore.  Still, sometimes it’s hard to resist the food I intended to leave behind or take home, especially when the waiter or waitress takes their time about clearing the plates.  The longer it sits there, the more likely I am to eat it.  I suppose that’s why the diet gurus recommend asking for a take-home box and halving the food as soon as it is served.

We did have to spend a few hours waiting to get into the apartment.  Check out time at our hotel was 11:00am and check in at the apartment was 3:00pm.  So we sat on the deck, watching the surfers, the waves, the people on the beach, and the storm clouds as they approached.  It rained like crazy for a little while.  I hear Florida really needs the rain (and there are some wildfires south of here) so I’m not complaining.  Mother Earth will do as she wills.

I enjoy watching the surfers so I am doubly not complaining about the wind and big waves.  It brought the surfers out today.  It has also brought out the kite surfers.  I have more than a few photos of kite surfers, too, but haven’t gotten around to uploading them yet.

I decided I would much rather show you this guy, skiing on the beach.  The first time he went by, I was so surprised and so busy watching him that I didn’t grab the camera in time (I had it tucked away in case of rain).  I almost missed him on the way back, too.  It was just starting to rain when he passed by again.  Under his hood, by the way, is a thick winter hat.

I looked it up and apparently there are people who miss winter so much that they are sand skiing.  Who’d have thunk it?

(Man ‘o War)

M and I have not spent much time in the ocean yet.  That is partially due to the roughness of the waves and the riptides.  The other part of the blame goes to the jellyfish.  That’s not exactly true.  It’s due to the Man ‘o War, which is not a true jellyfish.  There were many washed up on the beach our first day here and I’ve been giving them a wide berth during our walks on the beach.

I’m not going to get around to finishing up the story of our tour of the Intracoastal Waterway.  Unless we have a day that’s too stormy to get out and about, it’s unlikely I’ll find the time.

I feel spoiled.  As I sit here typing I can watch the waves and clouds (another storm is coming) roll in.  The water is an amazing shade of turquoise, and not nearly as rough and choppy as it has been.

Life is really good.  🙂

37 Comments on “163: Beach watching”

  1. Bo Mackison says:

    It’s good to feel spoiled occasionally. Hope you will soon enjoy a sunny visit.

  2. milkayphoto says:

    I can see you are trying so hard to soak it all in…I would do the same!

    I’ve never seen a Man o’War and would have had no idea what that pile of colorful sludge was on the sand! Yikes! I’d stay out of the water too with those buggers around!

    • Robin says:

      I didn’t know what they were either, Tracy. I checked the beach report after seeing the local rescue/fire department dune buggy riding up and down the beach with two flags flying (a red and a purple). They don’t have lifeguards here so I guess they send those guys out when they think it’s important. The red flag means dangerous riptides. The purple flag means (sea) pests. When I looked online, they listed them as moon jellyfish and man ‘o wars. Apparently they can be lethal.

      I’m giving it another day or so before I do more than wade in the ocean. There were still quite a few of those piles of colorful sludge and bladders sitting on the beach this morning.

  3. Robin, wish I was there! I like your sandy white opposed to my winter white that just decorated our landscape again. Lovely photos to help me feel warm.

    • Robin says:

      More snow, Martina? Yikes! I haven’t been paying too much attention to the weather at home.

      Glad to help you warm up a little. 🙂

  4. You’re so lucky! I love my sea, but one of my dreams is to see the ocean (and take hundreds of pictures of it, it goes unsaid).
    I love the colors in the first shot. Enjoy!

    • Robin says:

      Thank you so much, SunsetSeaSoul. 🙂

      Your sea is beautiful. It’s interesting, though, how water differs from place to place. Even the same ocean looks different as you move from place to place. The Atlantic has a greener, grayer cast to it up north. Here it has that lovely turquoise blue that I associate with warm water.

  5. Amazing! Enjoy your time! The color of the water is always beautiful there!

  6. Isn’t that beautiful shade of green water just fabulous? We get that colour here quite often. Perhaps Florida has similar weather to the Gold Coast.

    Your little jellyfish friend is what we call a “blue-bottle”. They pack quite a punch with their sting too! In our area, beaches have been known to close due to their mass arrival!

    Have a wonderful holiday, Robin. Will the snow still be waiting for you in Ohio when you return?

    • Robin says:

      Joanne: The color is, to me, so amazing. I grew up quite a distance north of here where the ocean is not as colorful (still beautiful in its way).

      I read that about the blue-bottles when I was looking them up. The beaches were not closed here, but the warnings were out so I guess it was a matter of swim at your own risk.

      I’m not sure if there will be snow or not when we return. If we’re lucky, we’ll return to find spring is taking a firm hold.

  7. Marcie says:

    So great to see warmth and tropical sunshine. And the guy on skis – too funny! He just made me laugh!

  8. patbean says:

    I agree. Life is good — and so are your pictures. They make me feel as if I’m there on the beach with you. I love seeing the sky, the waves, the people, the eye-glass-wearing cactus through your eyes. Thanks for sharing.
    Pat Bean
    http://patbean.wordpress.com

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, Pat. 🙂

      The cactus was holding an empty beer bottle too. I wonder if that’s how it ended up with someone’s glasses… having had a few too many. 😉

  9. penpusherpen says:

    Great that you’re feeling spoiled…and I love the Cactus wearing glasses (or is glasses wearing Cactus? 😉 ) made me chuckle!!
    Have a fantastic time Robin, and watch out for the Man o’ War’s sting, he looks so pretty colour wise but I’ve been reading your link, not a friendly chap at all!!
    Lovely to read that life is good 😀 .. xPenx

  10. I REALLY want to go to the beach!!!
    Looks like it was really windy when you took the first one. Love the hibiscus, it looks like a painting.
    The skier is hilarious!! Certainly not something you see everyday! He must miss the snow even more than I do, because you wouln’t see ME skiing on the beach, OR wearing a winter hat and warm jacket when it’s obviously warm (judging by his shorts, and picture of the surfer).
    The cactus made me smile 🙂

    • Robin says:

      The wind has been incredible, Michaela. I really do associate this more with storms or pre-hurricane.

      You won’t find me skiing on the beach either. But that winter hat and warm jacket was even worse, I thought. It was almost 80 degrees. The wind chill can’t be THAT much. lol!

  11. Great photos of the sky! The guy skiing on the beach and the cactus both cracked me up. How funny!

    Hugs from Haiti,
    Kathy

  12. Marianne says:

    The sunrise photo is beautiful, as is the flower. I’ve never seen a man o’war before. I’ve heard they are poisonous. How long can they survive out of water? Is there a beach patrol that collects them? I imagine it makes swimming tricky. What do the surfers do about it? So many questions seem to come to mind, Robin.

    Hope you have a very wonderful day by the beach.

    • Robin says:

      They are poisonous, Marianne. This isn’t the first time I’ve seen one, but I never knew what they were before. I just figured it was another jellyfish.

      I don’t know how long they can survive out of water, but do know that the tentacles can continue to sting and release venom for up to a few days after the Man ‘o War is beached or even after the tentacles are detached. As far as I know, no one collects them. They just wave flags around to let you know they are there and I guess it’s up to the beach-goers to decide whether or not to get into the water with them.

      As for the surfers, I suspect they don’t care too much if the surfing is good. Some wear wet suits so it might not be a problem.

  13. Barbara Rodgers says:

    Another beautiful sunrise! I’ve never seen anyone skiing in the sand before… I know what you mean about the calories and portions of restaurant food – that’s a good idea to bring your own box! 🙂

    • Robin says:

      I’m thinking of buying a Bento box, Barbara, so I can carry it with me to restaurants. I think it would be a great way to portion control as well as keep my foods separate. Not that I’m OCD about it or anything. Much. 😉

  14. Karma says:

    That cactus is wicked cute! Are those your glasses it’s wearing?
    Sand skiing, huh? Learn something new everyday (if you are lucky! 😉 )

    • Robin says:

      I love that cactus too, Karma. Nope, they are not my glasses. Mine are much more fashionable (ha!). The cactus was also holding an empty beer bottle. It must have had quite a night. lol!

  15. Kathy says:

    How in the world did you get that fake sky? I stared at it for a couple of minutes before actually reading the caption and realizing it was fake. OK, a couple of seconds. It’s fun to look at Ohio pictures and then see the rich luscious colors of a warmer climate.

    • Robin says:

      I wondered if someone would ask about that, Kathy. I’m glad you did. 🙂

      There is a diner in Lauderdale By The Sea that is in a shopping area where they have a lovely water fountain/courtyard type area. Above it all is a half dome with that painted blue sky on it. We were there for breakfast one morning and I had to get a photo of it.

      Great big difference between here and Ohio, that’s for sure!

  16. Ron in L.A. says:

    Good to see you’re having fun Toni 😉

    R(etc…)

  17. […] comes in.  And let’s face it.  I didn’t think jellyfish were nearly as cool when the Man ‘o Wars were washing up on the beach during our vacation in Florida.  (Yes, yes, I know.  They are not true jellyfish.  There were moon jellyfish washing up at that […]


Thank you for visiting, and for commenting. I hope you'll join me at my new blog home, Breezes at Dawn.

