135: A walk in the Rockies

This is a placeholder.  A time for me to get caught up with myself, life, the universe, and everything.  But you can also think of it as a break from winter.  A chance to get away, and go back to August of 2010.

Walk along the path, surrounded by mountains.  The sun is warm.  The air is fresh and clean, being carried in by a steady breeze.  The grasses are dotted with spots of color, wildflowers in bloom.  Up the path a ways is a bench.  Have a seat and watch as the clear, shallow, chilly waters of the Colorado River flow by, reflections of the trees and mountains rippling on top.  If you sit long enough and still enough, perhaps elk will stop by.  Mothers with their babies.  Or a lone stag with large antlers.

(Elk.  Rocky Mountain National Park.  Colorado.)

Just relax.  Enjoy the views, the scents, the sounds, the sensations, and the flowers.

 

35 Comments on “135: A walk in the Rockies”

  1. Your photos are breathtaking! Thanks for sharing them.
    -FringeGirl

  2. I like looking either backwards or perhaps forward as I like to view it. Something to look forward to. I posted my daisy photo on Facebook a couple of days ago to remind myself of the wonderful white to come. Preview of coming attractions. It’s a nice break. Lovely photos, as usual Robin.

  3. Kel says:

    you daredevil snow-dune walker you 🙂

  4. Absolutely stunning photos, Robin. So crystal clear. It’s so easy to imagine the walk you described! 😀

  5. Pat Bean says:

    Beautiful photos. I lived in the Rockies for over 25 years … and miss them,

    Pat Bean
    http//patbean.wordpress.com

  6. Ah, finally a breath of fresh air AND sun amongst all the snow. Thanks for “taking me” there, even just for a minute.

  7. boatacrosstheriver says:

    The pictures of the lake are amazing. I love getting these tours vicariously.

  8. SkP says:

    amazing pictures – thanks for sharing!

  9. Kala says:

    Beautiful photos – and very refreshing to see this time of year when the earth is snow covered!

  10. Marianne says:

    I agree, beautiful pictures, Robin. I love the mountain path photo. So beautiful!

  11. Anna says:

    Lovely and refreshing looking back photos! I really like the grazing elk photo. 🙂

  12. Karma says:

    Love this! What a great refreshment from all the ice and snow we’ve all been photographing recently!

  13. Karma says:

    Oh and I forgot to mention, nice “Hitchhiker’s Guide” reference! 🙂

  14. Marcie says:

    So nice to be reminded of sunny..warm..beautiful summer. Thank-you for this!

  15. Oh my goodness, that first one is perfect in every way! THAT would be a nice place for a log cabin.
    I like the elk and flowers, too.

  16. The pictures are as always beautiful and your narration makes me feel as if I was seeing it in person.

  17. penpusherpen says:

    Catch up time, I’m ready with my coffee and biccies…and I’m definitely relaxing, and smelling the aromas of the great outdoors… (imagination is a wonderful thing!!) x

  18. milkayphoto says:

    Oh, SUCH a needed break from winter! I would LOVE to go running down that path, spin until I am euphoric and then fall into that green, green grass while the sun caresses my face!


Thank you for visiting, and for commenting. I hope you'll join me at my new blog home, Breezes at Dawn.

