128: An elephant in the room

(An elephant at the Akron Zoo.  Taken in April 2007.)

I have all these critters in my photo archives who suddenly want to come out and play.  It makes me wonder why I take the photos if I’m just going to let them sit on the hard drive.  It’s time to bring some of them to the blog.  Just for fun.

I took this one at the Akron Zoo when we were last there with our oldest granddaughter, the Exquisite Emma.  It was the year the baby snow leopards were born (2007).  I didn’t realize it had been so long since our last visit.  This might be the year to go again.

Today’s CD

Orishas, A Lo Cubano.

Orishas is a Cuban hip hop group, influenced (obviously) by the hip hop movement as well as Cuban and Latin rhythms.  A Lo Cubano was released in 1999.  You can listen to one of the songs from A Lo Cubano here.  (The link takes you to a video on YouTube.)

This CD had me dancing around the house.  It would be impossible not to dance or move in some way while listening to the Orishas.  I’m sure of it.

(Warm and fuzzy with snow.)

Hey!  It’s snowing!

I know, right?  You’re surprised.  Me too.  Heh.  We’re supposed to get another 4 inches or so tonight.  Tomorrow will be a good day for skiing.  Heck, today is a good day for skiing.

(White pine captures snow.)

I was going to wait to go out when M got home from work since he’ll probably go skiing.  But I already put in a 5-mile walk/run this morning (on the treadmill) and thought a leisurely stroll back to the woods was more my speed this afternoon.

(Hemlock captures snow.)

The snow is all fresh and white and clean again.  It has been coming down all day.  The snow is falling slowly, softly, gently, almost floating.  While walking to the woods I had a brief flash of apple blossoms drifting on a gentle spring breeze.  It was nice to feel/sense that touch spring, if only in my mind.

(Queen Anne’s Lace captures… well… you get the idea.)

I disturbed a pair of ducks (mallards) when I slid down the hill to the creek.  I didn’t even notice them until they took off, startling me.  I noticed while they were in flight that they are almost the same color as the creek looks right now.

(The mallards were here.)

A chevron of geese flew over as I was making my way up the hill towards the house near the end of my walk.  I stopped for a few minutes to watch and listen.  They were heading east.  Perhaps they’re looking for the sun.

(Prayer flags in the woods.)

14 Comments on “128: An elephant in the room”

  1. starbear says:

    Beautiful snow pics! Snowing again here too – glad I have two days with daylight ahead. I love the white pine and Queen Annes Lace.
    Funny, I too have been looking at all of my critter pics and addig them. Ill show you mine if you show me yours. 🙂

  2. Corina says:

    I like your clean, white snow. It makes it pretty to look at. I remember when we had a lot of snow here in 2008. Once it stopped snowing, it was still freezing so the snow took forever to melt. We ended up with the dirtiest snow you’ve seen. Very mucky.

  3. These photos are exquisite, Robin! Truly stunning!

    I’m going to sign up again for site updates, as I am not getting them. Finally realized this evening when I read your comment that I had not gotten anything recently.

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, Kathryn. 🙂

      I noticed that my subscriptions to blogs don’t work if I use the “Subscribe” drop down menu in the upper WP tool bar. But if I fill in my email address in the side bar version of subscribe, it works.

  4. Did you put the prayer flags up in the woods, Robin? They must be quite resilient to the weather.

    You have more snow…we have more heat! It’s been hotter the last couple of days than it has all summer.

    I like your elephant friend, he’s very magestic! 🙂

    • Robin says:

      I did, Joanne. They are surprisingly resilient. I thought they would have been shredded and worn out by now. They are in a spot that gets a lot of wind.

      Thank you. 🙂

  5. LOVE the Queen Anne’s Lace, and the view of the creek.

  6. Karma says:

    Wow, when I suggested “critter” pictures, I never expected to see such a large one, LOL! I haven’t been to a good zoo in years – I’d love to get to one with the Rebel in hand.
    It was reported that this January was the snowiest on record here in MA since they started keeping records! Same for you in Ohio, or is it always like this?

    • Robin says:

      lol, Karma! I was going to go small but the elephant insisted. lol!

      I think we may have had less snow than usual this year. We usually get over 100 inches. The National Weather Service website only has totals through December. We were behind the usual amount at that point. Not sure where we are now.

  7. penpusherpen says:

    Listening to the Youtube of A Lo Cubano…. so I’ll type to the rhythm…Yikes. any mistakes and its all your fault!! 😉
    Lovely photo’s, of course, and I love the idea of prayer flags especially out in the snowy weather, makes it mean more for some reason. xPenx..


Thank you for visiting, and for commenting. I hope you'll join me at my new blog home, Breezes at Dawn.

