127: Musical interludes

(Airiness.)

One of my resolutions this year is to include more music in my life.  To sing, to dance, to listen.  I have been turning on the radio every day while I exercise or clean.  Or I go to blip.fm if I’m in the mood to make my own playlist or listen to something specific while I’m at the computer.  Or I visit Radio WTH for a dose of “Just Damn Good Music.”

Today as I was dusting (somebody’s gotta do it) it occurred to me that M and I have a mighty fine music collection of our own that I could be listening to.  While we do have plenty of vinyl (and a turntable to play it on), I decided to start with the CD’s.  I realize CD’s seem to be almost as obsolete as vinyl now that most people have some version of an MP3 player, but our CD collection is fairly up-to-date within our range of likes.  However, being a pretty extensive hodgepodge of music, pulling one at random meant a blast from the past.

Today’s CD:  The Pat Metheny Group’s Still Life (Talking).

It’s been a long time since I last listened to Pat Metheny.  The music took me back to our time in Chicago and a summer night lying on the grass listening to Pat Metheny at an outdoor venue (the name of which escapes me at the moment and I’m too lazy to look it up).  I was not too lazy to wander over to his website, though, and spend a little time listening to Pat Metheny radio.  Head on over (click here) and check it out.

Outdoor adventures

M and I went to Quail Hollow State Park yesterday for an hour of cross-country skiing.  The trails were a little slick.  Not really icy, but with hikers having packed down the snow by walking all over the ski tracks, our skis would slide all over the place in spots.  Most spots.  It wasn’t comfortable skiing, especially when the legs slide in different directions.

(In the woods at Quail Hollow.)

We haven’t seen the sun since the weekend.  It has been dark gray and gloomy.  The snow had taken on some of the grayness but we’re getting a fresh coating today which has brightened it up.

(Skiing at Quail Hollow.)

I’m heading out in a few minutes to do some skiing around Breezy Acres.  I need the practice, and that will help me meet my outdoor commitment for today.  Even when it’s gray and gloomy, I gotta get out there.

16 Comments on “127: Musical interludes”

  1. Kel says:

    how funny, last night i was listening to some blasts from the past from the 80s music lists

    perhaps i should follow your lead and intentionally have more music playing at home

    there should be punishment for hikers or snowshoers that walk on nordic ski trails [something that involves a big stick!]

  2. Karma says:

    I love shot #2. The blurred tree makes a lovely background.
    There’s a little musical flashback at my place today too – a bit different in style, LOL.

  3. I have never heard of these websites, but I will have to check them out! I’m always looking for something else since Pandora limited my listening to 40 hours a MONTH (sorry, I don’t want to pay for what is basically radio)!

    • Robin says:

      I’d forgotten about Pandora, Holly. It’s been a while since I’ve listened to music there. I didn’t realize they were now charging for it.

  4. I love 1,2, and 4. So pretty!
    You used to live in Chicago? How funny! I used to live in Lansing, IL and then just north of Merrillville, IN from ’87 until ’95!

  5. sherri says:

    Looks like fun in the snow. We didn’t have nice places like this to do anything fun before I left Ohio…or I just didn’t know about them:-) Nice shots of the cattails.

    • Robin says:

      Where were you in Ohio, Sherri? We used to live in southern Ohio and there weren’t any fun places to play in the snow there (mostly because we rarely got snow there — winters were usually gray and rainy).

  6. penpusherpen says:

    Made me laugh with the new falling of snow to brighten up the old white stuff…BUT I know what you mean, just tickled my funny bone…
    I’m sure I used to listen to more music a couple of years ago, but lately it’s just taken a back seat, and I’m with you in the fact that I miss the uplifting beat and the memories it can bring…(so long as it’s not a Classical dirge.. 😉 ) …xx

  7. Anna says:

    Interesting. Same as you, Robin, this year for me is to have more music in my life as well as sing, dance, and listen… especially listen. I listen to music a lot now and suiting my moods of the moment. I really like in the woods at Quail Hollow photo.

  8. Ron in L.A. says:

    Thanks for the mention of WTH Robin, glad you like it… 😉

    R(etc… )


Thank you for visiting, and for commenting. I hope you'll join me at my new blog home, Breezes at Dawn.

