118: Another thaw

It has warmed up again here in the Bogs.  It’s 38°F with light rain and drizzle this afternoon.  Rain moved through overnight and started the process of melting the snow.  The rain has turned everything to slush and mush and fog.

(Today’s view of the pond — through a raindrop.)

It is not a good day for a walk.  The slush is rather slippery, especially in areas where the ground is not flat.  I would like to have gone back to the woods and into the fog, but didn’t want to risk a tumble down the hill.  I ended up staying close to the house.

I have had time to sort through the photos from my walk at the Holden Arboretum yesterday and will bring those to you in a slide show tomorrow.  In the meantime, here is a sneak peek:

As you can see, it was a much prettier day.

Winter will return tonight, bringing freezing rain, ice, and then snow.  It should be interesting to see what kind of mess that will leave for tomorrow’s outdoor adventures.

15 Comments on “118: Another thaw”

  1. Bo Mackison says:

    Love the raindrop view. Those are some of my favorite photos — views through rain drops.

    • Robin says:

      I didn’t realize I’d captured the view or such a clear shot of the raindrop until I looked at it on the monitor. I was actually trying to focus on something else, but this worked out better. 🙂

  2. I love the raindrop, and your version of warming up and mine are very different. 😉 Love it though!

  3. penpusherpen says:

    That raindrop view is stupendous, magnifico, (can’t think of a word that describes it well enough) ..
    We have sunshine today, warming temps and I feel so much cheerier. Smiling widely in fact. (please M/s weather forecaster don’t burst my bubble of happiness) 😉
    xPenx

  4. Well, yes, the raindrop is everything that Bo, Miss Morgan and Pen said above, so I won’t mention it! 😉

    I, personally, love the first photo, with the misty look. 🙂

    We had rain here again this afternoon, after a hot and humid day.

  5. bearyweather says:

    Love your raindrop! “Thaw!” really? … oh, I long for a thaw! It is the coldest month of the year here. Radio just said our high today will be -7º

    • Robin says:

      Bearyweather: Brrrr! That’s not a high. That’s torture.

      But if it’s any consolation, it’s snowing again here. The thaw was short-lived.

  6. starbear says:

    Thaw – not here in Michigan.
    We call this type of thaw “the slurpies” – could you please send some of the warmth north – our high today may reach 10F?
    Where’s your “like” button?

    • Robin says:

      The “like” button is just above the comments, Starbear. I frequently have trouble locating it too (here and on other blogs). You don’t suppose WordPress moves around? Nah, probably not. I think I just forget.

      “The slurpies” is a good terms for it.

  7. Marianne says:

    Oh, Robin, the raindrop is beautiful. We have been getting the same weather that you have reported. I just hope it’s over soon.

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, Marianne. 🙂

      I’m getting a little tired of the cold, too. That said, I’m trying hard not to have fun in it in some way or another. Otherwise, it gets almost unbearable at this point (especially knowing we have the dreaded month of February coming up).

      • Robin says:

        Ooops… that should be trying hard TO have fun in it. Yikes. (I know I could have edited that but I’m not sure the edit shows up in the emails to those subscribing).


Thank you for visiting, and for commenting. I hope you'll join me at my new blog home, Breezes at Dawn.

