110: Frosty Morning

I went out early today after a glance out the window revealed that Jack Frost had paid us a visit.  Everything that wasn’t already covered with snow was coated with a thin, glittering layer of white ice crystals.

Unfortunately, I didn’t have much luck capturing the glittering part.

The frost isn’t nearly as spectacular as last year’s hoar frost, but it is very pretty.  For those who missed last year’s display, below are a few photos I took.  I don’t think I posted any of these here at the Bogs blog, but one or two may have shown up over at Bountiful Healing at some point.

(Frosted.  February 2010.)

(Sun flare and frost.  February 2010.)

(Sparkling.  February 2010.)

(Ice flowers in the locust tree.  February 2010.)

M and I are heading north to do some cross-country skiing this afternoon and evening.  There is a lighted cross-country ski trail that he wants to try out so I’m pretty sure we’ll end up being there until after dark.  I will take the camera along in case I find some time to hike around a bit when I’m worn out by the skiing.

20 Comments on “110: Frosty Morning”

  1. patbean says:

    Beautiful photos. And thanks for subscribing to my blog. I returned the favor and am looking forward to more of your writing.

    http://patbean.wordpress.com

  2. Some of these almost look like you took them with an IR (Infrared) camera. Pretty!

  3. Corina says:

    Wow! Gorgeous photos… kind of like winter’s flowers! Very , very pretty!

  4. Bo Mackison says:

    Pretty, pretty! We have the clouds, but no frost, no lovely snow crystals. Thanks for sharing!

  5. OmbudsBen says:

    Believe it or not, we’re getting a lot of frost out here in the SF Bay area, too. When I get out the door at 6 am I often have to scrape frost off the windows of my car lately. This morning, when I looked down after scraping rigorously, the front of my jacket was covered in “snow”. Though not as pretty as your pics, it’s still a tactile reminder of growing up in the upper midwest!

  6. Anna says:

    Every photo is gorgeous! I agree with Scott that some of these look IR. I really, really, really like locust tree shot! I hope you had happy trail with the cross-country skiing!

  7. Karma says:

    Those shots from last year’s frost are just amazing!

  8. Your wintery wonderland is beautiful, Robin! Yes, I do go into raptures over your snow photos….not having seen any snow since I was a child, and I also have to give full credit to your photography. I really love “Sun flare and frost”, so pretty. 🙂

  9. How pretty! I cant say Ive ever seen frost that beautiful in person. Thanks for taking the picture! And be safe!

  10. Marianne says:

    Beautiful frosty photos. I love those ice crystals. Absolutely gorgeous!


Thank you for visiting, and for commenting. I hope you'll join me at my new blog home, Breezes at Dawn.

