109: Cat blogging

(Izzy relaxing by the fireplace.)

I try not to be too much of a cat lady and generally avoid posting photos of the cats (Izzy and Bella) too often.  Izzy insisted on having her mug plastered on the blog today.  She said to tell you all hello.  Or, if you’re into that sort of thing, feel free to give her a lolcat caption.

It’s a bright, beautiful, blue-sky day here in the Bogs.  The lake effect snow machine was turned off earlier than expected and we don’t have quite as much snow as predicted.  It’s likely other communities nearby got more than we did.  Lake effect snow works that way.  Dumping tons of snow in one place and barely any in others.

I spent most of my outdoor time today cross-country skiing around Breezy Acres.  When I’d had enough of that, I sat and watched the birds for few minutes.  A red-tailed hawk came diving out of the sky and into the meadow, picking up something along the way and taking it back to a tree in the woods.  It was too far away for me to attempt to photograph it.  Just as well.  I probably didn’t need to see the end results.

I’ve been playing with photo editing programs.  The little bird above was processed in Picnik to give it, supposedly, a 1960’s feel.

That’s about it from the Bogs today.  There’s not much happening.  It’s kind of nice, being able to just hang out on a Sunday.  I hope you’re enjoying your Sunday, too.

14 Comments on “109: Cat blogging”

  1. photobyholly says:

    Once in a while my cats allow me to photograph them, too! Izzy is a beautiful cat – lovely colors!! I like what you did with your edits, sometimes I like playing around with photos, just to see what I can do with them – to take something, and give it a completely different feel.

    We are definitely enjoying our Sunday – lazy day at home! We finally took down our Christmas tree today, it looks a little bare there now, but we’re actually getting more sunlight in through the windows without it, so it’s also kind of nice!

  2. Bo Mackison says:

    What I’d like once in awhile? If Jazz would just please write the blog post for me! I’d even let her puss be in it, if she’d write a few words on my behalf! 🙂

    • Robin says:

      Bo: lol! I wouldn’t mind if Izzy or Bella would do the same for me. Posting every day like this is becoming increasingly difficult in terms of coming up with something to write about or photograph.

  3. I have to admit, I’m a bit of a crazy cat lady myself (or so My Stronger Half says). The picture of Izzy is great! Enjoy your Sunday.

  4. Kala says:

    Wonderful DoF in that last shot. And your Izzy is a very photogenic cat!

  5. jenna says:

    Oooh, Izzy wants you to give her a neck scratch from me!

  6. Izzy is very beautiful and I would be more than happy if she appeared more often here! I’m a self-confessed cat-lady myself and my daughter tells me that it’s okay to own two cats, which, like you, I do, although ownership of three cats gives you the title of the “Crazy Cat Lady”! Lol. 🙂

    • Robin says:

      lol, Joanne! I almost earned that title last year when we had a stray cat show up during a snow storm. Thankfully it all worked out and I found a place for her to go.

  7. Marianne says:

    Nice picture of the bird and the cat.

    So great to hear you are enjoying the cross country skiing. It must be really great exercise. And it’s probably really healthy to be spending that time outdoors also.

    • Robin says:

      It is great exercise, Marianne. Hard work. But fun, too. What I like most about it is how quiet it is in the woods (when we go out to wooded trails).


Thank you for visiting, and for commenting. I hope you'll join me at my new blog home, Breezes at Dawn.

