94: Merry Christmas!

(The Northern Flicker.)

Merry Christmas to those of you out there celebrating it!  I’m more of a Solstice gal myself, but any excuse to celebrate the day will do since each day we’re given, it seems to me, is a gift.

(Or is it a Common Flicker?)

Two unusual things happened today.  I would be flippant and call them Christmas Miracles but I don’t want to offend anyone so let’s just call them two unusual things.

(This morning’s view of the pond.  See the blue in the sky???)

The first unusual thing was a glimpse of blue sky.  It didn’t last long.  Maybe a half hour or so.  We even had a few moments of sunlight to go with it.  It has been cloudy and gray here for a while now, with snow flurries every day.  It was nice to see a little blue for a change.

(Blue jays.)

The second unusual thing is that the birds allowed me to photograph them.  This occurrence was almost as fleeting as the blue sky.  There is a possibility that it might have lasted longer but I was shooting from on my knees and there came a time when my knees decided, “Enough already!”

Most of my shots are not that great but at least you can see the birds well enough to identify them.  If, that is, you know how to identify them.

The day has been pretty full.  M and I opened gifts shortly after we rolled out of bed, had a delightful and delicious breakfast (that involved some leftover tempeh hash I made for lunch yesterday, recipe courtesy of Mark Bittman’s How to Cook Everything Vegetarian: Simple Meatless Recipes for Great Food), and then went our separate ways for a little while.  He brought in some firewood and I took pictures of birds.  Then we got together again to go cross-country skiing out at Quail Hollow State Park.

(One of the trails at Quail Hollow.)

Quail Hollow is what we’ve been training for the past two days.  (lol!  I’m not sure anyone who knows what they are doing would call what we’ve been doing training.)  It was great fun.  For the record, I fell once.  I tend to fall backwards and to the right.  My right hip is not pleased.  But that’s what the disco tub (the whirlpool) is for.

(Two trees and a picnic table.)

I went for a short walk when we finished skiing, just to take a few photos.  I think the walking may be one of the reasons I’m not as sore as I thought I would be from the skiing.  Since I haven’t been taking the camera along on my ski trips, I go for a walk when I give up on the skis.

(Gold in a blue and gray atmosphere.)

And now I’m off to enjoy some time by the fire and, maybe, a glass of wine.  After which I will probably fall into a deep sleep that will last until spring.

(A good place to picnic when spring comes back around.)

I’m kidding, of course.  As pleasantly exhausted as I feel, I don’t believe hibernation is in my nature.  There is more snow coming tomorrow and I’d miss playing in it if I hibernated.

(Seeds, waiting for spring.)

22 Comments on “94: Merry Christmas!”

  1. Marcie says:

    Beautiful images of these birds. Definitely a christmas miracle. Wishing you and yours all the best. Hope it’s been merry..merry!

  2. Must admit I am envious of your idyllic lifestyle ,beautiful scenery , beutiful snow to enjoy and close up views of the snowbirds , and to top it of a relaxing glass of wine , no one would even consider hibernation with so much to enjoy and do ,live laugh and enjoy my friend.
    Ian aka Emu

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, Ian. 🙂

      Now that you mention it, it IS idyllic in many ways. Still, there is a lot work going on to keep it that way, keeping each day pretty well balanced with work, play, and relaxation.

  3. Marianne says:

    Robin, the Northern Flicker is so cute. He looks like he is wearing a bib.

    The other birds are pretty as well. Love the detail.

    Nice to see some blue sky.

    Keep up the great work (outdoors and skiing), Robin. Great going!

  4. bearyweather says:

    Congratulations on getting the blue jays to pose for you … I will be trying to train mine this week. I am still waiting for blue sky .. it has been ages.

  5. The birds are just gorgeous, Robin, like nothing we have here in Oz, I’m sure.

    It sounds as though you’ve had a wonderful, fun, relaxing Christmas day with M, complete with unusual things and miracles. (It’s your blog; you can call them whatever you want!) It seems to me that your 365 day challenge has opened your heart, and eyes, to many miracles. 🙂

  6. Meredith says:

    Merry Christmas and Happy Belated Solstice!! 🙂 I’m glad you guys had a great day, we did too, hopefully we’ll be closer next year!

  7. Merry Midwinter Robin, beautiful birdie shots, the birds seem to have to concentrate so hard on feeding to stay alive at the moment that they let their guard down a little in terms of blog writing photographers 🙂

  8. boatacrosstheriver says:

    i love those birds —

    merry Christmas!

  9. Karma says:

    Seems like you had a really nice day. Great job on the bird pics! Seems every time I notice birds around my feeder, they flit away by the time I grab my camera.

  10. Anna says:

    Beautiful bird shots! I just love them. Hope your Christmas was a good one!

  11. penpusherpen says:

    ooooh your poor Knees, BUT there photo’s are lovely, I could look at our feathered friends for ages and not tire…they’re natures joy I think…
    and I’m having hash tonight, after all the richness of the Christmas meals lately it’ll be a wonderful change… and now you’re making me feel exhausted, all that exercise you’re doing…you are a marvel you know, and I feel likes those seeds, I:m totally waiting for spring..!! (I’m sure I’ve put on the weight to hibernate!! Ugh!!) 😀 xPenx

    • Robin says:

      Aren’t they, Pen? They add so much color to the winter atmosphere which can seem kind of drab at times.

      I’m pretty sure I’ve managed to put on tons of weight for hibernation over the past couple of weeks. Unfortunately, I don’t really hibernate, not to the point where I don’t eat and have to live off of my fat stores.


Thank you for visiting, and for commenting. I hope you'll join me at my new blog home, Breezes at Dawn.

