84: Snowshoes might be nice

(After the snow storm.)

Today’s walk was hard work.  The snow is just about up to my knees in most places.  It’s at hip level where the drifts have formed.  Trudging through it is a good cardio and strength workout.

(Today’s view of the pond.)

I was thinking that I don’t really want (or need) anything for Christmas.  I’m trying to downsize my ownership of stuff.  But after today’s walk I’ve changed my mind.  A pair of snowshoes would be nice, especially since I am committed to getting outside every day this winter (and beyond).

(Snow in the cattails.)

M wants cross-country skis.  Those would come in handy, too.  I think, though, I’d feel better balanced with snowshoes.  I have not yet taken the camera with me when we cross-country ski because I fall at least once, something that is probably not good for the camera.

(Where the doves live.)

It took me about an hour to work my way around the pond and back into the woods.  Normally, when there is no snow, I could make it around in about 15-20 minutes at a brisk pace.

(In the future woodland.)

I saw lots of birds on today’s excursion into the great outdoors.  Mostly chickadees and cardinals.  There were animal tracks at the back of the pond.  Having no experience with tracks or tracking, I’m not sure what they were.  Birds have left their scratch-like tracks on the edges of the pond, probably looking for a drink.

(Another view of the creek.)

That’s about it from the Bogs for today.  I’m off to reward myself with a cup of hot chocolate.  If you hurry over, I’ll make a mug of cocoa for you, too.

18 Comments on “84: Snowshoes might be nice”

  1. Christina says:

    Cold – but oh so beautiful!

  2. photobyholly says:

    If the snow is that deep, then snowshoes would DEFINITELY come in handy for your daily walks!! I love your shot of “snow in the cattails” – the angle of the sunshine, the blue sky in the background – gorgeous!!

  3. Marianne says:

    A mug of cocoa sounds wonderful. Looks like I missed lots.

    We’ve had a lot of snow with frigid temperatures. But, I can count my blessings because I wasn’t one of the three hundred people that were rescued off the highway. Kudos to the people who braved that ordeal.

    • Robin says:

      Marianne: I was worried about that sort of thing (having to be rescued off the highway) when we decided to make a run for it and head home while the snow was still flying. I am extremely grateful that didn’t happen.

      Stay warm!

  4. Beautiful pics portraying a very picturesque countryside , quite extraordinary to see snow at anytime for most Australians and the amount of snow in those pics is truely awesome
    Ian aka Emu

  5. penpusherpen says:

    oh yes please, Hot Cocoa ‘d just hit the right spot…’tis snowing here now, and I have my fingers crossed ( hence the bad typing) that it’ll go away and not lay!! (picture a mad woman, running about with a hairdryer!!) ….Wonderful, beautiful, cold pictures of snow keeping it’s icy cold fingers grasping and freezing everything in sight…(brrr) can’t catch me!! Nah nah!! Oooops too late!! frozen in time …>Pen<

    • Robin says:

      One hot cocoa coming up, Pen. Enjoy. 🙂

      I think you typed rather well for someone who was doing it with their fingers crossed. lol! The visual of a mad woman running about with a hair dryer has me laughing. I enjoy your cleverness with words. 🙂

      Alas, I don’t think Winter will be defeated so easily.

  6. Kel says:

    I believe Snowshoes would be an essential where you live:-)

  7. Karma says:

    Wowee! The snow has just piled on all around you! We in the northeast are still waiting. Just a dusting earlier this week.
    Your pond looks like a great place to ice skate. Do you ever clear any of it and do that?

    • Robin says:

      I shall send some your way, Karma, to put an end to the waiting. 😉

      M ice skates on the pond once it’s completely frozen (usually around mid-January). I gave up ice skating after taking a hard fall. I ought to be brave and try again someday.

  8. bearyweather says:

    I have been thinking about snowshoes, too. I fall down when I ski (more time than you do) … I would never take my camera with me. Besides, making the ski trails is pretty tough going.
    The students at school have been going out with new snow shoes these past few weeks .. the kids told me it is still a tough go until the snow packs down a bit.
    This brand was recommended to me (http://www.crescentmoonsnowshoes.com/) they look great, but a bit pricey … so, I have not splurged, yet.

  9. Robin says:

    Oh! I wish I’d known about those snowshoes when were in Boulder, Bearyweather. Thank you so much for the link. I can check them out the next time we’re in Boulder (my youngest son and his wife live in Boulder). That will give me time to save up for them.


Thank you for visiting, and for commenting. I hope you'll join me at my new blog home, Breezes at Dawn.

