81: Sunday signage

(So it is… )

M and I are back in Sabbaticalville (West Chester, PA).  It’s been warm (in the 50’s) and raining all day.  Weather-wise, we’re doing well here.  It’s the ride home tomorrow that may cause some problems.  The Lake Erie snow machine is churning out the snow and we have apparently had somewhere between 8 and 12 inches of snow at home so far and it’s expected to continue until Tuesday.

(Snowflake doll.)

I’m still on track with my outdoor commitment.  M and I took a 30 minute hike in The Narrows of Pennsylvania on an unimproved hiking trail along the Juniata River.  It was cold with snow and ice on the ground so we didn’t get far.  We took our time in order to avoid slipping and falling.

(Today’s temperature.)

Today I hung out in my sister-in-law’s backyard, watching the birds at the feeders, listening to the rain and the wind.  I can’t believe how warm it was!  It felt nice but will make the cold a little harder to take when we get back to the frozen tundra that is the Bogs.

(A doll looking for a home.)

We paid a visit to an interesting store yesterday.  I’ll tell you more about it after I’m settled back at home.  I need to wrap this up, check my email, and then it’s off to bed.  The plan is to get an early start to our day tomorrow.  Hopefully we’ll be able to make it home, but we’ll err on the side of caution and stop somewhere if we have to and continue home on Tuesday when, we hope, the weather will improve.

7 Comments on “81: Sunday signage”

  1. Meredith says:

    Hope you had a blast! I have to say though that I find the dolls a little creepy – it’s kind of like the “uncanny valley” of dolls 🙂

    • Robin says:

      Maybe it’s me but I’ve always found dolls to be a little creepy, Meredith. All dolls. I think it might be related to watching movies and television shows (“Twilight Zone” and “Night Gallery”) that involved killer dolls.

      That said, the dolls hanging out in this particular store were particularly creepy.

  2. penpusherpen says:

    Yup, I concur, it’s upside down…
    and so glad the weathers behaving itself. and like Meredith, I have a feeling sometimes, that dolls are hiding something, almost a knowing look in their smiles!! Shivers!! Maybe taht just says something about the way my mind works?.. 😉
    catch you laters….xPenx

    • Robin says:

      I agree with you and Meredith, Pen. Perhaps it’s that dolls appear to see everything that accounts for that feeling that they’re hiding something…

  3. Marianne says:

    I remember the Twilight Zone. You’re right. The dolls were creepy. I think media people still use dolls to terrify the masses. But, never watch the stuff and don’t understand the draw. It’s all so inane.

    • Robin says:

      Marianne: I used to watch horror movies (and read horror novels). Not so much anymore, though, as it seems I am more easily frightened as I get older. Or maybe it’s just that I prefer something a bit more positive.

  4. […] Furniture is the interesting store I mentioned in this post.  If there isn’t one of everything ever made in that store, I’ll be amazed.  It was […]


Thank you for visiting, and for commenting. I hope you'll join me at my new blog home, Breezes at Dawn.

