67: Sunny Day

(Today’s view of the pond.)

The wild gander leads his flock through the cool night,
Ya-honk! he says, and sounds it down to me like an invitation:
The pert may suppose it meaningless, but I listen closer,
I find its purpose and place up there toward the November sky.

~ Walt Whitman, Leaves of Grass

We had visitors come to the pond this morning.  I heard them flying in just before sunrise.  They didn’t stay long but managed to leave a bit of a mess before moving on (without our help, I might add).

(Visitors.)

I’m glad they left on their own.  I was worried that we might scare off the ducks at the same time we were shooing away the gaggle of geese.

It’s a lovely, sunny day.  Still cold but the sun makes a big difference, as does the lack of gusty winds.  There is a breeze, as you can tell from the above video.  I enjoy the sound of the cattails rustling in the wind.  Some days it sounds as if they are murmuring to each other, passing their secrets along to the back of the pond and into the woods.

(Opposing forces:  Sun on ice.)

Without the wind to blow the water, there is a 6-8 inch border of ice around the pond.  It won’t last.  We’re going to have a warm up over the next few days, something that will further confuse the poor plants.  After that there is snow in the forecast once again.  I think it may turn out to be one of those baffling winters, going back and forth between warm-ups and cool-downs.  I wonder what that will mean for the flowers and buds once spring arrives?

(It looks like an owl face to me.)

My dule of doves have found the bird seed I’ve been leaving for them.  Yay!  The other piles of bird seed that I’ve left in various places remain untouched.  Hopefully the birds will find them soon.

I’ve noticed — as have others — that my blog is slow to load.  Have you noticed it too?  I can’t decide what the problem might be.  The theme I’m using has always been somewhat slow to load.  I’ve been using larger file sizes for the photos so folks can click on them and view the larger version.  And my posts have become more photo-heavy since I began the outdoor commitment.

(Mushrooms.)

I’m going to start with reducing the file sizes on the photos.  If that doesn’t work, it may be time for me to switch themes.  I’ve been wanting to do that for a while now, but have been unable to decide on a theme.  If things don’t seem to be working, bear with me (and, if you have time, please let me know if you’re having difficulties so I can try to fix it).

24 Comments on “67: Sunny Day”

  1. photobyholly says:

    Beautiful! Isn’t it funny how deceiving a blue sky can be, until you step outside and see the ice?? I like your video – it really helps to show how it actually feels to be there!

    • Robin says:

      Thanks, Holly. 🙂

      Yes, those blue-sky days can be deceptive. In winter they can often be some of our coldest days since there is no cloud cover to hold in what little heat there might.

  2. Karma says:

    I haven’t noticed any particular slowness with your blog loading, but I can make a suggestion that could help since you are getting photo-heavy these days. Have you tried using a photo-hosting website like Flickr or Picasa? When you write a blog post, you can add the HTML code for embedding your photos (after you’ve uploaded them to the photo-hosting site) and the pictures will pop in from the site. There is also a variety of sizes for displaying the photos to choose from.

    I enjoyed your video with the rustling cattails – that was cool. Is that also a cattail in the owl-face picture? That’s neat – I’ve never seen them look like that.

    • Robin says:

      Thanks for all of the suggestions, Karma. 🙂

      I have used Flickr and Photobucket in the past. For some reason my photos tend to lose their clarity (on my computer screens, both the laptop and the desktop PC) when I use a photo hosting website.

      It looks like most people are not having trouble with my blog loading so I may leave things as they are for now. Still looking at new theme possibilities, though. 🙂

      And yes, the owl-face picture is a cattail. I’ve never seen one look like that either.

  3. Marcie says:

    Looks like the same kind of day we’ve had here. Beautiful images!!!

  4. Kathy says:

    Your page isn’t slow-loading for me. But then I am the Queen of Big Photos, lol. It probably takes two days for some of my pages to load on a slow computer. I like your owl cattail. It is adorable.

    • Robin says:

      lol, Kathy! I like your big photos. I never have any trouble with them loading. In fact, my own blog is slower than yours.

      I was almost tempted to cut down the owl-faced cattail and bring it in to enjoy it some more, but it looks best outside in the sunlight. Besides, it would have spread seeds all over the place and wouldn’t have looked like an owl-face anymore once moved.

  5. Marianne says:

    It looks and sounds like a beautiful day at the pond. The mushrooms look neat. Are they edible?

    • Robin says:

      I don’t know if they are edible or not, Marianne. I know so little about mushrooms, especially wild mushrooms, that I’m afraid to try to identify them on my own. I’d love to have someone who knows their stuff come by and teach me about all of the edible (and non-edible) plants and fungi on the property.

  6. Kala says:

    Robin, the blog loads just fine for me, but I have a very high speed broadband connection. As always, I LOVE the view of your pond.

  7. ladyfi says:

    I don’t have any trouble loading your page! Re. photos, I size them down to 1200 X 900 before uploading. Then I use the media viewer to reduce them to about 90% or so.. They still look big on the screen and when people click them, they still enlarge to a good size.

    Your November photos are delicious – love the colours and blues! We’re under snow and very very cold temperatures at the moment…

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, LadyFi. 🙂

      I usually size my photos just a little smaller than that so maybe it isn’t the photos after all (since I have no trouble with the photos loading on your blog).

  8. Anna says:

    I really like the ice and owl face in the cattail! Neat! I’ve been enjoying the changeable pond scenes in your posts. I don’t have a problem with loading your blog; however, I have super speed internet. The size and amount of your photos are fine as I see it. Perhaps a new theme would be helpful for you… don’t know… but something you could play with. 🙂

  9. penpusherpen says:

    NO slow loading for me either, and the video was lovely to watch, er…actually hear… ‘cos I’m so sure I could ‘hear’ the cattails talking to each other!! .. couldn’t quite make out the words tho’ .. 😉
    and so many Ducks, the last time we saw that many nearby where we live, Bess was trying to follow them into the water, she got covered in black mud. Oh boy, that was such a wonderful walk home… with ‘stinky’ in tow… lol!!
    and I changed my theme, then back again so many times. I’ve stayed put for the time being. I was like a kid in a candy-store when I first set up, and the trouble is finding the theme which offers what you want for your ‘type’ of blogging. Good luck, and I’ll see what you choose next time I call round. Wonderful photo’s by the way, almost forgot to say, to busy ‘talking’ to the cattails… 😀 xPenx

    • Robin says:

      lol, Pen! I’m glad you could hear the cattails talking to each other, too. 😀

      I used to change my theme a lot too, in the beginning. I settled on this one after a while because it seemed to suit all of my needs with both words and photos.

      Stinky… hehehe. Dogs and ponds/lakes. Not always a good combo.

  10. Meredith says:

    I love the owl face – I feel like owls are everywhere all of a sudden. And I love the pictures of the ice, they look like ice fossils!

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, Meredith. 🙂

      Lucky you, with owls everywhere. We have a Great Horned Owl that lives in the woods at the back of the pond but I’m not sure if it’s still there during the winter months (since I’m not outside at night usually, once the weather turns cold).

  11. jenna says:

    It so totally looks like a masked owl! Ha.
    I envy Merdi… she has owls where she lives. I want owls too.


Thank you for visiting, and for commenting. I hope you'll join me at my new blog home, Breezes at Dawn.

