52: Scenes from San Diego

(Is this one of the Happy Cows of California??)

Most of these photos were taken in Mission Beach or Pacific Beach.  I might mix in a few from the city, depending on where I go with this.  (I almost never know where a blog post will take me.)  The cow pictured above was on the porch of one of the houses/condos on the bay side.  I have seen similar cows in Ohio but never expected to see one here in a beach setting.  It just goes to show you that there may be some truth in advertising.  The cows of the Midwest really are trying to move to sunny California.

(A Pacific Beach mermaid.)

It’s another gorgeous day.  I hear I have Christina to thank for that.  She ordered in a week’s worth of lovely weather just for us.  We’ll be getting together on Wednesday so I can thank her in person.  In the meantime, thank you so much, Christina, for the mild Santa Ana winds that are making this perfect beach weather.

(Beachfront fortress.)

We had dinner last night at The Fish Market and lunch today with the parents of a friend at the Souplantation.  I wish (I wish!  I wish!) they would open up a Souplantation in our area.  They have such a wide variety of veggies to choose from on their salad bar, the soups are always delicious, and the Focaccia breads are freshly baked.

(Bird of Paradise)

This morning we went to Point Loma for a parade.

The parade took place on the Avenida de Portugal.  It was the 7th Annual Festival Das Bandas (Festival of Bands).  14 bands playing Portuguese music marched down the Avenida de Portugal to the United Portuguese Hall where they held a concert.  It was a short parade route.  Only 2 blocks long.

In case you’re wondering, neither of us are Portuguese or know anything about Portuguese music.  We just thought it would be interesting and fun.

We were a little under-dressed for the occasion.  Almost everyone there was dressed as if for church or some other important event (women in dresses and high heels, many of the men in suits or, at the least, dress slacks, shirt and tie).

This is one of my favorite shots from the parade:

See those little guys lying on the platform?  Here’s a close-up:

The one guy in front looks so serious!

M has gone to the conference he’s here to attend.  I went out to the beach for a little while.  I took a book but didn’t do much reading.  I was busy watching the surfers and boogie boarders and just enjoying the sun and surf.

Maybe next time I’ll be able to take those surf lessons.  If not, it might be time to go boogie boarding.

That’s something I’m sure I can do.  It’s only a matter of getting up the nerve to put on a wet suit.  The Pacific Ocean is cold.

18 Comments on “52: Scenes from San Diego”

  1. anhinga says:

    My husband and I had a wonderful one-day trip to San Diego when we were in Newport Beach for business a few years ago. It was so lovely in July that we ate every meal but one outside in eight days. Loved Pacific Coast Highway and how open it was to a coastal view (unlike much of Florida). In San Diego, we spent all our time at the zoo.

    • Robin says:

      Would you believe I haven’t been to the San Diego Zoo, Anhinga? We’ve been talking about the possibility during this trip, but I’m not sure it will happen.

      The Pacific Coast Highway is amazing.

  2. Bo Mackison says:

    Ahh, sunny California. Sounds lovely. And I love that you went to a two block parade where everyone was dressed in dresses and suits. SOunds like a unique experience!

  3. cismonok says:

    Thanks! 🙂

    Just warm enough for a quick bike ride here before the front comes through and Indian Summer is over. You’re making me a bit jealous for the nice weather…

    • Robin says:

      We enjoyed it, Cismonok. 😀 And we scored some Mandarin oranges and fig jam. Can’t beat that.

      You should be jealous, although it looks like it’s been pretty nice back there too.

  4. Marianne says:

    Beautiful photos. I’ve never seen a sand castle like that one. A work of art. Boogie boarding looks like fun. Do you have to wear sun screen this time of year?

    • Robin says:

      Lots and lots of sunscreen, Marianne. But I’m fair skinned (a born redhead who turned blonde with age). I have noticed that I don’t burn as quickly this time of year as I did when we were here in April of 2008.

  5. photobyholly says:

    Looks like you’re having a great time, Robin! Glad you have such nice weather!! I love the shot of the children by the podium – how cute!! I don’t think I could ever work up the nerve to go surfing or boogie boarding…. I’m too chicken for something like that. I didn’t even go wading in the ocean on my trip!!

    • Robin says:

      I’m chicken too, Holly. That’s why I set it as a goal this year. I did work on the physical aspects but just couldn’t master one particular move where you jump from a prone position to standing with one foot forward. It’s similar to a yoga move but I always have to grasp the ankle of the foot I’m moving forward and move it that way. That wouldn’t work on a surf board. I’d end up falling off the board for sure. Boogie boarding is similar to body surfing, something I did a lot of when I was growing up on the east coast.

  6. Excellent shots Robin, especially the gorgeous ones at the beach. You really have to visit the zoo, you won’t be disappointed for sure.

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, John. And thank you so much for stopping by and commenting. 🙂

      I’ve heard a lot about the zoo. I don’t know why it always drops off our list of things to do.

  7. Lovely photographs.. But the cow isn’t real, is it?

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, Visioplanet. 🙂

      No, the cow isn’t real. It’s a cow sculpture. We see them a lot where I live but it’s one of those things that seems out of place at the beach. That said, I’ve noticed there are a number of things like that around here, as if people bring a piece of where they came from with them.

  8. Karma says:

    It looks like you are having a wonderful time. I had no idea the Pacific Ocean in the San Diego area ever got cold – although I’m wondering if it is truly cold compared to the Atlantic waters off of Maine and Cape Cod where my children and I bravely swim in the summer time. I echo Anhinga’s comment about the zoo. I’ve been to SD once in my life (as a child) and what I remember most is the zoo. I’d love to get there with my camera!!!

    • Robin says:

      Karma: I think the ocean temps here are generally about 60-63 degrees year round (but not absolutely sure about that) which seems to be about where the Atlantic waters are in the summers in Maine (from what I was able to find on the internet). We went swimming in Cape Cod one summer and I think the water temp was about 65 degrees. Warm, I guess, for that area. lol!

  9. Kathy says:

    I have been so anticipating your photos of San Diego, Robin! Couldn’t wait to see them, and to think of Christopher and his girlfriend…to remember our trip out there last November. How interesting that we were both at the sea at the same time! We had birds of paradise, too, and sand castles. Did you shout out for my son? Did he answer? lol!

    • Robin says:

      Kathy: I did shout out for your son. I’m pretty sure I heard him answer and send a hello and love your way. 🙂

      I think our parallel lives are interesting too. Not completely parallel, of course. You were on the east coast and I was on the west coast. Maybe more like almost-mirrored lives or slightly different bookends.


Thank you for visiting, and for commenting. I hope you'll join me at my new blog home, Breezes at Dawn.

