32: Sunday Sunshine

(A light in the woods.)

Turn your face to the sun and the shadows fall behind you.  ~ Maori Proverb

Hey!  I’m finally getting the hang of the star-effect using the manual settings on the camera.  Some are better than others, though.

It’s day 32 of my outdoor commitment.  It’s the kind of day when you want to bring the outdoors inside by throwing open all the windows and doors, inviting in the sunshine and fresh air.  Of course that’s just what I’ve done today.  It’s driving the cats bonkers since they would rather be outside playing than hanging around in the house.  Sometimes I feel bad about keeping them indoors.  Then I remember that it’s healthier for them (and for me as I don’t have to worry about whether or not one of the visiting hawks or owls will decide to eat them).

(Sunlight and leaf on the pond.)

Let us dance in the sun, wearing wild flowers in our hair…   ~ Susan Polis Shutz

M and I have spent a goodly part of the morning on more winter preparations.  Say goodbye to the pedal boat and the swim platform.  We’ve hauled them out of the water and won’t see them in the pond again until next year.

(This morning’s view of the pond.)

The rowboat will stay out for a while longer, probably until the pond starts to freeze.  Putting the rowboat away for winter is easily accomplished.  We haul it up on the bank and turn it over.  Voila!  Winterized.

(Leafy sunshine.)

I am grateful to report that hauling in the swim platform didn’t end with one or both of us swimming in the pond.  The weather is warm today, but not warm enough for a dip.  The nights have been cool, sometimes cold.  The temperature of the water has dropped with the air temperature.  M did wind up stuck in the muck a few times, the mud grasping and suctioning on to his hip boots (formerly known as the scary boots).  I wish I’d had the camera.  It seemed unwise to take it along on this excursion as we weren’t sure whether or not pulling up the platform anchor would result in tipping the boat.

(Prayer flags and sunlight.)

Breezy Acres is not just breezy today.  It’s downright gusty.  The wind is whooshing and whistling, creating a kind of music for the falling leaves to dance to.  The laundry on the line is drying quickly, allowing me to get quite a bit of it done today.  In between hanging laundry I’ve been soaking up the sun and wind and warmth, taking in all the sights, sounds and fragrances of this beautiful day, and once in a while doing a dance of my own in celebration.

(Creek-side reflections.)

This week will be a busy one.  I want to finish up the fall cleaning and winterizing the garden.  Thunderstorms are expected tonight and tomorrow so it looks like the garden will have to wait until the middle of the week.  In the meantime, I think I’ll relax and take in the what’s left of this sunshiny Sunday.

(On the deck.)

The drawing for the Give-Away is tomorrow evening so if you haven’t signed up yet (and you want to), head on down to day 30 (The leaf and berry collection) and do so.


11 Comments on “32: Sunday Sunshine”

  1. Kala says:

    Love the flare you’ve captured in some of these images.

  2. Kel says:

    oooh love the prayer flags in the trees

  3. Kathy says:

    What a peaceful day! I loved hearing about your late-autumn chores. Day 32! You rock, girl. You are doing great. Are you having trouble going outside any days yet? Also…great sock pic. All I could think was “Where are her shoes?” (Have you ever shown bare feet photos?)

    • Robin says:

      Thanks, Kathy. 🙂

      I’ve had one or two days when going out seemed more of a chore than a delight, but once outside, it was worth the effort. I imagine there will be more of those days once winter sets in.

      My header has my bare feet in it. And I’ve done several posts at Bountiful Healing about my feet. The public display of my feet (and my use of my feet as a gravatar) all began here:

      http://bountifulhealing.wordpress.com/2007/02/14/the-naked-truth/

      I’ll let you in on a secret. I used to give my sons a hard time about going outside in their socks, but now that they are grown and not here to see me do it, I go outside in my socks. I usually stay on the deck, though, unless something draws me off it and I don’t have time to run inside to grab my shoes.

      • Kathy says:

        Duh. I’ve seen your foot header lots of times. (This is the reason I say I’m kind of visually blind sometimes…missing the obvious. Just remodel your kitchen. I’d never notice it.) Thank you for providing that link to a wonderful foot blog.

        • Robin says:

          That’s okay, Kathy. I’m the same way. I’ve been sitting here trying to remember what you have pictured on your blog header and, well, I’m not sure. I’m thankful that I have friends and family who know me well enough to know that I probably won’t notice a changed hairstyle, a new piercing, or (as you mentioned) a remodeled kitchen so they point things out to me all the time. lol!

          I’m glad you enjoyed the foot blog. 🙂

  4. jenna says:

    Kathy is missing out on your masthead in all its pedicured glory, it seems!

    Do you keep “negative notes” (outmoded term nowadays), or can your camera record what all settings were part of a picture? Back in the mesolithic days of my art degree, we all kept tiny notebooks on hand to record date, light conditions, f stop, shutter speed, and the like. We kept similar notes during processing, and that way, anything particularly fabulous or particularly lousy could be replicated or avoided.

    Some of my classmates opted for the approach of taking as many photos as humanly possible, in hopes of salvaging a good one, but that seemed like throwing a lot of pasta at the wall, waiting for one noodle to stick, if you know what I mean. Plus, this being the days of film, you could rapidly spend hundreds of dollars on such an endeavor.

    • Robin says:

      J: I do keep notes, sometimes. I have a little moleskine booklet in my camera case. I don’t always remember to write things down, though.

      With digital photography, throwing all that pasta against the wall doesn’t cost anything but it’s a pain in the arse to have go through them all. I try to get it right the first time. Or at least the second time. It’s been sort of trial and error with the star effect because of the differences in light. Most people go for that effect at sunrise or sunset. I’ve been playing with it on the pond reflections and through the leaves on the trees. “A light in the woods” came out the first time which I would attribute to luck except that I’ve been playing with it enough now that I might actually know what I’m doing. lol!

  5. Dave Q, UK says:

    beautiful series, i like photos #2, 3, 6 and 7


Thank you for visiting, and for commenting. I hope you'll join me at my new blog home, Breezes at Dawn.

