Easily spooked (22)

(Scary house in Coudersport, PA.)

It was rainy and chilly here this morning.  Dark and cloudy, too.  Not the kind of day you want to go wandering around outside.

(This morning’s view of the pond.)

There was a break in the rain and I thought I’d make like the goddess Nike and Just Do It, but then the skies really opened up and it poured before I could get out there.  That was a blessing.  Imagine if it had done that while I was wandering off towards the woods or something.

(Heavy rain.)

The thing is, I’m not feeling well at all today.  The cold symptoms have gotten worse, adding body aches and pains on top of the sore throat and the so-congested-it-feels-like-it-will-explode head.  There is no fever so I’ll stick with the cold diagnosis for now.  The not-feeling-well cherry on top is a terrible pain that I am pretty sure is due to eating a handful of cashews coated with honey and sesame seeds.  You see, I shouldn’t be eating those cashews.  I’ve experienced this pain before and it always coincides with the eating of the cashews.  Did I learn my lesson?  Hopefully so, this time around.

I had to have a conversation with myself about commitments and such.  The conversation didn’t last long.  I resigned myself to going out.  And the wind did me a favor by blowing away some of the cloud cover for a little while, allowing the sun to shine through.  I bundled up and headed out only to find myself frightened by something as soon as I opened the door.

(Scary boots.)

Yep, hip boots.  Or waders.  When I opened the door and saw the feet part of the boots, I thought someone was lying on the sidewalk.  Sort of.  It was quick, just enough to startle me before the boots registered with my brain as being 1) M’s boots, and 2) empty of any body.

Having determined that I was in fact okay and not suffering from a heart attack or other lingering effects from the scare, I slowly made my way out to the pond via the side of the yard where the standing stone stands.

Something amazing happened soon after:

My head didn’t clear but the skies did.  For a little while.  Long enough for me to walk around for about 40 minutes or so, enjoying the invigorating feel of the gusty wind.  There were still some lighter clouds rolling in and out, but the dark and gloomy variety moved east to haunt someone else.

I met a few other creatures along the way.

I think that is an American goldfinch wearing his winter plumage.  (If I’m wrong, please correct me.  I’m trying to learn what’s what and who’s who out there.)  Look how nicely he stands out against that lovely blue sky.

I also met a doe right here on the path going into the woods but we startled each other and she bounded off before I could even think about the camera.  If you have a good imagination, you should be able to see her just a few feet away right in the middle of the path.

The little gal or guy above accompanied me through the meadow, leading the way.  Moth or butterfly?  I’m not sure.  The body reminds me of a moth but the antennae look like those of a butterfly.

(In the clover.)

It was a good walk.  I came back with wet feet and a vastly improved mood.  Unfortunately, the other problems didn’t go away so now I think I’ll have a cuppa hot tea and then succumb to the nap that has been calling.

16 Comments on “Easily spooked (22)”

  1. jenna says:

    oooh, look at the birdie!

    I once thought an inanimate object was an intruder and ran out the door screaming. Later, I congratulated myself on my good reflexes. I like to think they compensate for my crude observation skills.

  2. With some love and care, that house in Coudersport would be fabulous! (I love old houses!)

    The contrast of the grey sky above the autumn leaves and pond is so dramatic! I’m sure it is just your unwell feelings that produced your spooked moments. I do hope your cold leaves you very quickly and your walks can be enjoyed with a clear head again.

    I’m not sure about your moth/butterfly. I thought it a very pretty moth when I first saw it, and fully understand your uncertainty. I hope one of your friends can identify it for you.

    • Robin says:

      Joanne: It would take a great deal of love and care and money, I think, to bring back that house. It does look as though it has good bones, though. Maybe someone will come along and fix it up. I hope so. It’s such an interesting looking place.

      One of the things I like about those dark and gloomy days is the way the fall colors pop. I think of it as a reminder to enjoy the gray days too. 🙂

  3. Christina says:

    Hmmmm….not sure what the bird is for sure, but I am doubtful about to goldfinch mostly because of the beak – of course, the angle may be taking away some of the shape, BUT, finches & sparrows are easy to identify first off from their conical bill shape. Look at the photo on the page you linked – the bill is pretty dominant and not just because of the color. I’m thinking the bird in your photo looks more warbler/vireo-ish. Most likely it is a winter plumage or female making it much harder to positively identify though. Those wing bars are pretty dominant. Oh, heck, I don’t know! Sometimes I’ll see a bird in my yard and not having had time to spot all the right field markings (bill shape/color, wing bars, eye ring, tale length or markings), I ll just write “nondescript yellow/gray/brownish bird”! Those drive me nuts. Often it will be their voice that helps the most.

    • Robin says:

      I was hoping you’d stop by and have a look, Christina. I see what you mean about the bill. The voice actually reminds me of a bluebird but that can’t be right either. The coloring is all wrong.

      If you look at the middle photo under “field marks” (“adult male nonbreeding”) on the page I linked to, even the beak looks pretty similar.

      I guess I’ll go with your idea (“nondescript…”).

  4. Karma says:

    Hope you are feeling better soon! I would think taking yourself outside would be quite the burden if you aren’t well and would rather curl up with a hot cup of something good. I love the bird pic – whatever type he (or she) happens to be. Your clouds have definitely come east. Wind and rain is in our forecast.

    • Robin says:

      Karma: Thanks. 🙂 It’s not a burden yet. If it had rained all day and I had to force myself out, that would be a different story. But I do have to admit to wanting to stay in my jammies all day.

      I see you’ve got a nor’easter blowing through your area. Stay warm and dry. 🙂

  5. Kala says:

    Glad you had a good walk. That house does indeed look haunted! And that shot of the boots is scary and funny at the same time.

  6. burstmode says:

    Architecturally, that house fascinates me.

  7. Bo Mackison says:

    Love, love, love those scary boots! I’d have jumped and run, I think…

  8. Anna says:

    What fabulous photos. I really like the scary house! Wowzers! Those boots made me chuckle. I love the fall leaves with the moth… or butterfly… it is so pretty!


Thank you for visiting, and for commenting. I hope you'll join me at my new blog home, Breezes at Dawn.

