Spicy Chipotle Shrimp Salad: Adventures in Cooking #4

(Grilled shrimp with some of the makings of the chipotle sauce)

Thank you to CookingLight for this week’s adventures in cooking.  The July 2010 issue of CookingLight magazine has loads of great summery recipes so it was difficult to choose one.  I happened to have a bag of shrimp in the freezer so it made sense to pick a recipe which called for shrimp.  The Spicy Chipotle Shrimp Salad had me almost drooling just looking at the photos and reading the recipe.

Someday I will take the time to properly photograph food so it looks as yummy and colorful as it does in the foodie magazines.  The main problem is that I’m usually so busy with the cooking (and then eating) process that I don’t have the time to set everything up with the right lighting.

(Mango and pineapple)

I didn’t follow the recipe exactly, but came pretty close.  M fired up the grill and we grilled the shrimp and fruit out there.  Rather than slice the fruit, I decided on large cubes so I could string it on the kebob thingy (it’s likely it has some other name but we call it the kebob thingy).  We also decided to have some grilled red potatoes with the salad.  The potatoes are simple.  Wash, quarter, toss with some olive oil and whatever spices you prefer.  I used Slap Ya Mama Cajun seasoning last night (the salt-free version as I prefer to add salt on my own if I want it or the dish seems to need it).  M has a veggie basket for the grill that he uses for the potatoes (and other cubed veggies that are not on a kebob thingy).

(Pre-grilled potatoes)

Other than that, I think I pretty much stuck with what the recipe called for.  It was a fantastic dinner.  The shrimp with the chipotle had a nice degree of spiciness without being overwhelming.  The fruit added sweetness and a cooling factor to the meal.

My finished dish doesn’t look nearly as pretty as the picture on CookingLight.com, but I suspect they either left out the mayo in the chipotle sauce or they grilled the shrimp with the sauce on.  Either way, their photo is missing the creamy pinkish tinge that results from mixing mayonnaise with chiptoles and adobo sauce.  My lack of lighting doesn’t help.

It should also be noted that I am heavy-handed with the cilantro.  I heart cilantro and always add plenty of it to any dish in which the recipe calls for it (or I think is suitable for it).

6 Comments on “Spicy Chipotle Shrimp Salad: Adventures in Cooking #4”

  1. sherri says:

    Even though I don’t eat shrimp (that’s another story:-) this looks flat yummy. Particularly the last image is a beautiful shot. The mango and pineapple surprised me. I thought it was yellow squash and was surprised that you’d be eating it. Of course you weren’t:-) I may try the fruit mixture – sounds terrific.

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, Sherri. 🙂

      The fruit mixture, especially with the dressing, was (in my opinion) the best part of the meal. I was a veggie person for a long time, not eating much in the way of fruit, but have become fruity in the past year or two.

      I enjoy yellow squash very much so I’m surprised that you’re surprised I’d be eating it…?

  2. Joanne says:

    What a wonderfully scrumptious summery meal you have made! I love shrimp (but we call them prawns, here in Oz).

    Today the weather is cold and blowy in my part of the world, so when you are blogging about your amazing winter meals (which I’m sure you will be!), I’ll be referring back to these recent posts, for summer meals inspiration. 🙂

    • Robin says:

      Joanne: I like the name “prawns” better than “shrimp.” I’m not sure why. It just sounds better to me.

      That’s one of the great things about being in different seasons: We both have something to go back to for seasonal inspirations. 🙂

  3. Bo Mackison says:

    So funny, we had grilled shrimp and pineapple last night for dinner. We must have been on the same wave length.

    We are making a big effort to clean up our eating, but it’s only been a couple weeks, and today is Friday which is synonymous in Wisconsin with Friday Night Fish Fry, heavy on the FRY.

    I’m working on some enthusiasm for a nice tilapia at home. Hmmm.

    • Robin says:

      Bo: Mmmmm…tilapia. Good stuff. 🙂

      “Cleaning up” the eating can be difficult when you’re going against the traditions of what you grew up with and where you live. What’s strange to me is that even though I love the “cleaned up” versions of foods, and feel better when I eat that way, it doesn’t take much for me to revert back to what I grew up with. There are studies out now about food and the brain. All the fat, sugar, and salt makes the brain say “mmmmm” and work on the same areas as other addictions so it’s no wonder cleaning up can be tough.

      That’s why I ended up eating cheesesteak this weekend (having grown up in the land of hoagies and cheesesteaks).


Thank you for visiting, and for commenting. I hope you'll join me at my new blog home, Breezes at Dawn.

