Tall Ships

Yesterday afternoon M and I decided to brave the three H’s of summer (heat, humidity, and haze) and go up to Edgewater Park in Cleveland to watch the tall ships come in.  It was a blistering afternoon with full and brutal sun shining down on us, but it was worth the discomfort to see the ships appear on the Lake Erie horizon.

I took a lot of photos but the haze, the brightness, and the distance were not optimal conditions.  None of my photos of the ships are good quality pictures.  I’m posting them so you can get some idea of how beautiful the ships are.

The haze did give the ships a ghost-like quality as they sat about 2 miles out, waiting to come in to port.

This guy was there with another couple.  I’m not sure but I think it might be a Jesus doll.  I didn’t realize they make Jesus dolls.

There were a lot of people out there, in and out of the water, waiting and watching and admiring the ships.

16 Comments on “Tall Ships”

  1. anhinga says:

    What a wonderful photo opportunity. You did a great job. They are beautiful.

  2. Bo Mackison says:

    Oh, wow! Aren’t they gorgeous. You did a great job in difficult conditons.

  3. Marcie says:

    These ships are absolutely beautiful!! Wonderful series of images!!!

  4. Joanne says:

    Robin, you underestimate your photographic abilities. These are beautiful! Most would be amazing pictures to frame!

    Is there a story to the ships?

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, Joanne. 🙂

      Each ship has its own story. I was going to try to write something up with each photo but found myself unable to figure out which ship was which. There were a few I could pick out (such as the one from the Netherlands) but I was unsure about most of the U.S. ships. The website I linked to has information about each ship and links to each of their websites if there is one.

  5. Kala says:

    These ships are exquisite. Glad you photographed them!

  6. Karma says:

    Very nice photos! Even with the haze and other difficult conditions, they came out beautifully. I really like the one with the lighthouse; the composition there is especially nice.

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, Karma.

      I noticed that the haze is similar to fog, creating “noise” in the photos. I’ll have to work on my fog photography skills this fall. We generally get a lot of ground fog in the autumn months as things are starting cool off.

  7. Anna says:

    Wow! These are absolutely gorgeous photos of the Tall Ships. I would have loved to have seen these ships. I especially like the 2nd ghostly look photo of the ships. I sure laughed when I saw the Jesus doll, saying, “What the heck?” LOL Truly, great shots!

  8. Magenta says:

    The tall ships are beautiful. Reminds me of a trip I took to Halifax to see the Bluenose II. Oh, and yes that was a Jesus doll. He’s from the Little Thinkers doll collection.


Thank you for visiting, and for commenting. I hope you'll join me at my new blog home, Breezes at Dawn.

