Sunlight through the woods

I spent yesterday afternoon sitting on the deck.  It was too nice to stay indoors.  Being a bear of little ambition yesterday, my deck sitting consisted of doing pretty much nothing, thinking pretty much nothing.  I took a book with me, and the camera.  But it was so nice just sitting there, just being.  I didn’t need the book.  Or the camera.  Until…

… I looked out at the back of the pond.  The swallows swooping and swirling drew my eyes back that way.  It was the sunlight coming through the dark green of the woods that kept my eyes focused there for a while.  Finally I reached down, picked up the camera, and snapped a few shots.

Then I went back to sitting and being and listening to the birds while the sun poured down on me.

16 Comments on “Sunlight through the woods”

  1. Kathy says:

    We ARE living tandom lives and blogging about the same things! (Did I ever tell you I like your shoe picture?)

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, Kathy. 🙂

      I think of those as my boat shoes. I wear them when I’m out pedaling or rowing around the pond. I became known for my feet early in my blogging career (particularly over at my other blog — Bountiful Healing) so it has become a tradition now for me to take pictures of my feet, in shoes and out.

  2. Wendy S. says:

    http://mothermoonsmessage.blogspot.com/2010/06/touch-water-heal-our-land.html

    I know how much you love the water. My friend wrote this beautiful post about water and how we need to heal it. Thank you for the beautiful picture, reminds me of Monet.

    • Robin says:

      I do love the water, Wendy. Thank you for the link. I’ll be out at the pond on Saturday, touching my hands to the water. 🙂

  3. Ron in L.A. says:

    Beautiful image Robin… 😉

    R(etc… )

  4. Christina says:

    Wow – that reminds me of an impressionist landscape! Just stunning. I may ask permission to steal that one for my computer wallpaper 😉

  5. Joanne says:

    What a simply perfect afternoon you had, Robin! Isn’t it wonderful to become totally “brainless” and just drift along with the day?

    The book you took with you to the deck…was that “Dragonfly In Amber”? (I see that is one of your current reads). I have read the first five books of the series and am a big fan of Diana Gabaldon. What a wonderful concept she presents…time, as we know it, doesn’t really exist!

    Enjoy your beautiful view. 🙂

    • Robin says:

      Joanne: Yes, it is wonderful. I wish I could do it more often.

      And yes, it was “Dragonfly in Amber.” I was given the fifth book in the series (“The Fiery Cross”) as a gift for Christmas and it has been years since I read the first four so I’m rereading them. It’s no hardship to be rereading them as I enjoyed them the first time and am enjoying them the second time around. I also agree about it being a wonderful concept. Time and time travel have always fascinated me.

      Thanks for stopping by. 🙂

  6. Kala says:

    This image has a definite painterly quality. Just lovely.

  7. Marcie says:

    Stunning reflections. Such a peaceful..meditative study of light.

  8. Bo Mackison says:

    Love times when sitting is the best thing to do. Adds some peace to the hectic lives we all seem to have.


Thank you for visiting, and for commenting. I hope you'll join me at my new blog home, Breezes at Dawn.

