Laundry Day

Now that I no longer have the Mormons to contend with — or anyone else for that matter — I can do laundry on Mondays once again. Judging from the mountains of laundry that have managed to accumulate over what seems to be a short period of time, I’ll be doing laundry every day for a while.

(Lancaster County. Amish laundry. Photo by Robin. August 2007)

I collected more Amish laundry photos during our last visit to Lancaster. I know you all are thrilled.

It’s nice to be back in my own laundry room. It wasn’t just pumping in $1.50 worth of quarters in the washer and another $1.50 in the dryer that got to me so much as the fact that the washers didn’t wash well and the dryers were so hot I was afraid they’d melt our clothes. There was also the little matter of almost always finding the washers lined with other people’s hair, lint, and a variety of other assorted detritus. I don’t have a germ phobia, but really, I’d rather not have the leavings of others all over my clothing.

I did some ironing today, too. But don’t tell anyone just yet. Ironing is my least favorite domestic chore. I thought I’d try ironing a few things each day rather than let it pile up. I can’t say for sure this method will work out for me in the long run which is why I’d like to keep it between us for now. Besides, I want to see if it’s noticed.

More peppers made their way to the freezer via my slicing, dicing, chopping machine hands and knives. I’m pretty sure there are enough peppers in the freezer now to last us through winter and spring. Maybe into next summer when the peppers come in again.

I can see that my blog is going to become terribly dull now that I’m getting all domestic on you. I’ll have to see what I can do to spice it up.

5 Comments on “Laundry Day”

  1. English Nutter says:

    Thrilled. LOL! I happen to really like these Amish laundry photos. And your domesticity. 🙂

  2. Robin says:

    I like the Amish laundry photos, too. However, it’s beginning to look a little like an obsession.

    🙂

  3. kate says:

    Do you ever sell prints of your laundry photos? I’m collecting for my own laundry room and yours are great!

  4. Robin says:

    Kate: Email me at ordmagic@gmail.com

    I’m sure we can work something out. 🙂

  5. […] written quite a few posts about laundry including Laundry Day and The Ironing.  Prior to the Laundry Day post there were (more than) a few posts regarding my […]


Thank you for visiting, and for commenting. I hope you'll join me at my new blog home, Breezes at Dawn.

