NaBloPoMo

(Beer tray hanging in our basement. October 2006.)

Having given away our last Genesee tray, we replaced it when we were in PA. There’s a little beer shop that specializes in steins in Lancaster. The guy had two of these trays left, or so he said. I suspect he can probably order them by the hundreds.

It’s the first day of NaBloPoMo. And naturally I have nothing to post about. Not that there’s anything new about that. This must be the world’s dullest blog.

I think one of the things that makes this blog so dull is my reluctance to talk about my feelings and opinions. I do some of that elsewhere, in a journal. The main purpose of this blog was to try to keep family and friends up to date with us, especially after we move back east. It wasn’t designed to be a forum for my rants and raves. That makes it pretty impersonal, I suppose, and hence, boring.

I’m going back to work today. I suspect this is not a wise decision on my part. However, I figure I can be just as miserable at work, making money, as I can at home, not making money.

It’s not just the money part. I need to get out and get moving again. Being at home all day alone is eventually going to lead me to depression. I don’t need any help in that direction.

The pain was bad last night. It’s still pretty bad right now. I’m dreading the drive to work as sitting in the car is an exercise in severe torture. On the other hand, I’m looking forward to doing a little socializing at work. It might put a stop to this irritableness. Everything has been getting on my nerves lately. I was almost ready to write a rant about M the Elder last night and all he’s done is try to be nice and take care of me. He doesn’t deserve a rant.

I’ve even been yelling at the political ads on television.

It’s definitely time for me to get out of the house.

I was reading the news (although it’s hardly “news”) online this morning and see that Babs (Barbara Streisand) is still having problems with hecklers. I don’t understand why a Shrub supporter would attend a Streisand concert. Well, hell, I don’t understand why anyone, no matter what their politics or beliefs, would attend a Streisand concert given how much the tickets cost. I can’t think of one performer worth that much. But the world has got to know her political stance by now. Why support someone whose politics you disagree with?

It’s frosty here in the Bogs this morning. A great blue heron and a red-tailed hawk are at the far end of the pond, sunning themselves. We’ve seen the two of them out there together a couple of times. Perhaps they like having a bit of company when they hunt.

That’s about it from the Bogs for now. Perhaps work will give me something more interesting to write about tomorrow.

 

Without question, the greatest invention in the history of mankind is beer. Oh, I grant you that the wheel was also a fine invention, but the wheel does not go nearly as well with pizza. ~Dave Barry

 

4 Comments on “NaBloPoMo”

  1. […] went back, for the first time since I started blogging in this format, to look at my first NaBloPoMo post.  I’d forgotten how bad things were with me.  The pain.  The depression that I […]

  2. Oh, Robin, what a difficult time that was…my heart goes out to you…. can’t life be challenging at times? And such a struggle to get out of those difficult times. How wonderful that you have such a positive, connected community now…. I keep thinking of that phrase…”you just never know…” Thank goodness things have changed.

  3. […] Pennsylvania) which was going to take place in December.  My first NaBloPoMo post was titled NaBloPoMo.  Very original, don’t you […]


Thank you for visiting, and for commenting. I hope you'll join me at my new blog home, Breezes at Dawn.

