Beat

The beat of wings

The beat of wings

Beating your wings and feathers
You broke free from this world…

~ Rumi, Gone to the Unseen

Today’s Capture Your 365 prompt is Beat.  The beat of drums, the beat of the heart, the beat of a bird’s wings.  In the case of the starlings pictured above, it looks like I captured the beat of the wings as well as the bird on the suet crying, “Beat it!” to the other bird flying away.  Starlings can be rude creatures.

Bella beat

Bella beat

One of the informal meanings of the word beat is fatigued, exhausted, worn out.  After a morning of play and following me around, Bella and Izzy found themselves beat and ready for a nap.  Nap, by the way, is tomorrow’s prompt so I’ve got two covered in one day.

Izzy beat

Izzy beat

As for me, I walked my usual beat today, the path around the pond and meadows, capturing snowflakes on my hat, my gloves, my winter coat, my nose, and my tongue.  The snow is so light and fluffy.  I must have looked as though I was covered in tiny feathers or bits of fluff.

February 2013 025a

The hydrangeas are capturing the snow, too.

My head seems to be empty of thought lately.  It’s a winter hibernation of the brain otherwise known as the February Funk.

Mrs. Cardinal

Mrs. Cardinal

My body wouldn’t mind following my brain, and taking a long nap.  A sunny day would cure that quickly.  It’s been a while since we’ve seen the sun in its full and shining glory.

Crook

Crook

In spite of wanting to hibernate, I’ve been productive lately.  You would not believe how much stuff I managed to get rid of this weekend.  I sorted through a box of old files, consigning much of it to the fireplace.  My children and grandchildren will thank me for this after I die.  Being a good mother and grandmother, I saved them a lot of time and trouble and sorting through papers that are meaningless to them.

Fluffy snowflakes in the willows

Fluffy snowflakes in the willows

Sorting, sifting, and letting go.  There is freedom in releasing things.  I’m beginning to feel open and spacious.  Ready for something new.

Snow globe

Snow globe

Speaking of new, I have my new blog home just about ready.  I’m going to hang out here for a few more weeks.  It will give me time to tweak and play and decide what goes and what stays.

February 2013 048a

This place has gone to the birds

I reckon that’s it from the Bogs for today.  Thank you for stopping by, and joining me on another walk.  The weather prognosticators are saying we’ll get about four more inches of snow today.  It’s a great day for sledding.  See you at the top of the hill.

February 2013 069a

Have a delightful day, evening, night… wherever and whenever you are on the spectrum of time.  :)

Floating

Floating

20 Comments on “Beat”

  1. Coming East says:

    Since nothing looks very wintry here in Virginia Beach right now, I enjoyed feeling in the depths of winter vicariously through your wonderful pictures. I’m cold just looking at them. I didn’t know you were moving to a new blog home. Hope I can still find you!

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, Susan. :) I don’t think you’ll have any trouble finding me. I’ll be sure to leave a forwarding address and link to click on. It will be a few more weeks before I make the move.

  2. Phil Lanoue says:

    Stunning images Robin! Bella and Izzy are so cute!

  3. dogear6 says:

    I loved your interpretation of today’s 365 theme! You really covered the gamut.

    Nancy

  4. seeker says:

    Aha, another cat lover. Bella and Izzy. I hope they like birds enough not to eat (eliminating the b before the eat) them.

    • Robin says:

      The birds are safe from Izzy and Bella, Seeker. They’re mostly indoor cats, and we watch them closely when we do take them out for a little fresh air. I worry more about the birds eating the cats. We’ve lost one cat to a red-tailed hawk.

  5. Chloe says:

    wonderful captures :) i might visit the link & use some of the prompts to help get me out of this slump i’m in :( x

  6. This was such a lovely interpretation of “beat”. My favorite photo is the “crook” with birds in flight. Have you decided to self-host? Please let me know when you “fly” there and I will follow:) ps I hope you get some sun, it makes all the difference, doesn’t it? xx

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, Smidge. :)

      I won’t be self-hosting. I thought about it and decided I don’t have the skill set needed (mostly the patience and time to learn all I’d need to learn). Having had a self-hosted site, I know it’s not terribly complicated, but I also know it took more time for me to fiddle with it or make big changes when it needed a more up-to-date look.

  7. Joanne says:

    I hadn’t noticed before that Izzy is much darker than Bella, I had always wondered how you could tell them apart! I wonder if they realise that there are so many birds out there in the garden? Best they stay indoors, I think. :)

    • Robin says:

      Oh, they know about the birds, Joanne. In fact, the birds like to taunt the cats, flying nearby, chirping at them, and then taking off as if to say, “You can’t catch me!” The cats could, of course, catch a few birds so I’ve advised the birds to stop the taunting before they end being a pile of feathers.

  8. Love the shot of the hydrangea covered in snow.

  9. Stacie (The Happy Hermit) says:

    I just love your photos!

  10. Karma says:

    The next group of photos I take is sure to look similar to these! Winter Storm Nemo is due to swoop in on us today and tomorrow. Just hoping for the power to stay on. Love your bird photos, as always. Kitties are adorable. I’d love to do that sorting and letting go of stuff around here! Someday…..


Thank you for visiting, and for commenting. I hope you'll join me at my new blog home, Breezes at Dawn.

