Snowy Saturday

The creek on this snowy day

The creek on this snowy day

When snow falls, nature listens.

~ Antoinette van Kleeff

February 2013 010a

It is a lovely, snowy day here in the Bogs.  Birds are congregating at the feeders and in the berry-bearing bushes.  The wind gusts and blusters occasionally, but it’s not as bad as it was over the past few days.

White out in the woods

White out in the woods

Back in the woods, all is quiet except for the honking of geese who are somewhere downstream of our little piece of the creek and the forest.

February 2013 045a

The cardinals are, as usual, stealing the show around here.  I was discussing the cardinals with M today, mentioning that after spending a few years of trying to capture them and almost always missing, the cardinals are finally cooperating with me.

Standing guard

Standing guard

M thinks they’ve gotten used to me, and perhaps realized I’m not a threat.

February 2013 013a

I had similar problems in the past with dragonflies and praying mantises.  With patience and persistence, either I learned more about their movements or they learned to tolerate me.  It could be they just got tired of this woman with a camera always trying to take their picture so they reluctantly gave up.

February 2013 014a

The Eskimos had fifty-two names for snow because it was important to them:  there ought to be as many for love.

~ Margaret Atwood

Fluffy

Fluffy

I’m opting out of the photo challenge today.  It’s Shadow, and shadows are hard to come by on a day like today.  I could turn on some bright lights and create a few shadows, but I prefer to find them naturally.  Besides, I tried that.  Apparently our lights are not very bright and our shadows are not very interesting.

February 2013 023a

That should do it from the Bogs for today.  Thank you for dropping in to enjoy the snow with me.  The sledding hill is open once again, but make sure you either stay to the right of the pond or stop before you get to the pond.  It’s not frozen enough to hold a person just yet.  I highly recommend rolling the sled when you get near the bottom.  You’ll fall out, but that’s half the fun, and you’ll stop with no problem.  Hold on to the sled handle when you do it, otherwise the sled might end up out on the pond.

New peg for the clothesline

New peg for the clothesline

Have a delightful day, evening, night… whenever and wherever you are on the spectrum of time.  :)

February 2013 035a

32 Comments on “Snowy Saturday”

  1. Ellen says:

    if I tried, I`d surely end up out on the pond. Well, you`d have the chance to take good pictures if the challenge of the day were “ridiculous” or “clumsy” LOL

  2. mobius faith says:

    great quotes and more wonderful images. Love the shots of the creek.

  3. OmbudsBen says:

    It’s amazing to me that little birds like this are more vulnerable to starvation than to freezing temperature. Given enough fuel, these little guys’ hearts will pump fast enough to stay warm and survive the deep freeze! Just amazing.

  4. One Old Sage says:

    I love your pics. Great work and the quotes are also great.

  5. dearrosie says:

    I know about the Eskimos fifty-two names for snow… When I lived in a frozen country and had to shovel out my driveway I’d make up words to describe the snow and the darn backbreaking labor it caused me and would end up laughing so much I’d forget I wasn’t enjoying myself. Unfortunately I didn’t keep a list of the words I came up with.

    Congratulations on your brilliant photos. So nice to think the birds are posing for you.
    Love the one with the cardinal and the woodpecker! wow!

  6. seeker says:

    Those birds are so beautiful especially the Wood Pecker. I am worried that they might be too cold.

  7. Your cardinals are beautiful, Robin, especially against the white of the snow. I love the quote by Margaret Atwood, too. Lovely. I almost feel like I’m there. I am so homesick for winter. :-)

  8. You appear to have become fast friends with the cardinals!

  9. Sartenada says:

    Your bird photos are gorgeous. I love vary much also those winter photos. Some photos are so similar that they could from Finland.

  10. Xandi says:

    Great photos! Love the snow and its whiteness :)

  11. Phil Lanoue says:

    Fantastic winter scenes Robin!

  12. Kathy says:

    The cardinals are heart-stoppingly beautiful. It’s rare to see a cardinal this far north (although Barry tells me they’re around now with the global warming trends) so am always overjoyed to see the vibrant red of them. I love the clothespin pic!

  13. Chloe says:

    snow is so picturesque! i kind of wish i lived in a country where it snowed in winter

    • Robin says:

      I think I would miss the snow if I lived in a place that didn’t get it, Chloe. Then again, there might be other beauties that make up for the lack of snow. :)

  14. Dounia says:

    All of these photos are gorgeous, but I really love the ones of the cardinals!

  15. Lovely – especially the birds on the clothesline!

  16. Joanne says:

    I love seeing all of your little bird friends around the Bogs Robin. They are such tiny creatures compared to most of my visitors. :)

    • Robin says:

      I hadn’t thought about that, Joanne, but it’s true. Most of our birds are quite small in comparison to yours. We do have a few bigger birds around from time to time, and they really stand out.


Thank you for visiting, and for commenting. I hope you'll join me at my new blog home, Breezes at Dawn.

