Snowscapes

Red-bellied Woodpecker

Red-bellied Woodpecker

There is nothing in the world more beautiful than the forest clothed to its very hollows in snow.  It is the still ecstasy of nature, wherein every spray, every blade of grass, every spire of reed, every intricacy of twig, is clad with radiance.

~ William Sharp

January 2013 004a

Friday was just the kind of day Mr. Sharp describes.  The morning started out gray and cloudy, but within a few hours the clouds broke apart and drifted like cotton balls in a deep blue sky.

Yesterday's view of the pond

Friday’s view of the pond

It was the kind of day to marvel at the magic of winter, and the many-colored sparkles on the snow and ice.  It was a good day for sledding, too.

Down the sledding hill and out onto the pond.

Down the sledding hill and out onto the pond.

During those deep freeze days, the pond was frozen enough to bear our weight, and we could sled right out onto the ice, competing to see who can make it the closest to the back of the pond.  (M always wins, but there’s a good reason for that.  He doesn’t hesitate or try to slow himself down.  He trusts that he’ll get there, wherever “there” might be.  I want to be like that someday.  When I grow up.)

The little holly in the meadow

The little holly in the meadow

On Friday I hiked around Breezy Acres, around the pond, through the meadows, and into the woods.  Later in the day I went cross-country skiing up at Chapin Forest Reservation.  I had a moment (or two or three) of panic going up a big hill that I’ve been able to ski up in the past.  The conditions were icy, and by the time I got near the top of the hill where it is steepest, I’d lost my momentum and started a slow slide backwards.  Digging in my poles, I stood there for a minute or so, hoping my arms would hold me until I figured out what to do.  I eventually moved to the side, off the groomed trail and on the up side of a tree which kept me from sliding as I removed my skis.  I walked the rest of the way up.

Tracks across the pond

Tracks across the pond

I’d like to say it was easy going after that, but it wasn’t.  The tracks were icy, and I find it difficult to ski on ice.  At the third big patch of ice, I took off my skis and walked around it.  Near the finish, I once again took off my skis and walked.  My legs and arms were tired, and I wanted nothing more than to have some almost direct contact with the earth.

I don’t have any photos from this adventure.  I was too busy learning to ski on icy snow.  I can’t say I liked the ice, but did enjoy being back in the woods where I rarely saw anyone else.

In the woods

In the woods

From the looks of the weather forecast, we’ll have lost most of the snow by next Saturday.  It’s supposed to warm up into the 40’s by midweek, and the 50’s by Saturday.  An early January Thaw.

Snow hillocks in the woods

Snow hillocks in the woods

It’s not the end of winter.  The weather folks are saying an arctic blast will follow the warm-up.  There might be more skiing to come.

Patterns in the ice by the creek

Patterns in the ice by the creek

M and I have been keeping busy this weekend with projects around the house.  Why is it that a simple project almost always turns into a complicated undertaking?  It must be those connections.  One thing always leading to another.  And another.  And, well, you get the idea.

Circles and ripples

Circles and ripples

I reckon that’s it from the Bogs for today.  It’s been an overcast, gray day with the temperature in the mid-30’s.  The snow is starting to melt and I can see some softening around the edges of the pond.  The top is getting a bit slushy.  We’ll have to close it off to sledding, skating, and walking until that next arctic blast.  If the ice on the surface of the pond doesn’t thaw completely with this warm-up to come, it might do the surface some good by making it smoother for ice skating.

Lace and bubbles

Lace and bubbles

Thank you for stopping by.  I hope your weekend was relaxing and fun.

Slabs of ice on the creek

Slabs of ice on the creek

Be good, be kind, be loving, just Be.  :)

January 2013 042a

Jagged

34 Comments on “Snowscapes”

  1. What a lovely quote! You chose perfect photos to go along with your days adventures, too!

  2. Val says:

    You’ve excelled yourself with these photos, Robin. :)

  3. Phil Lanoue says:

    Fantastic winter scenes Robin!

  4. ♡eM says:

    Those patterns in the ice are mesmerizing. Nature – the world’s artist.

  5. ~mimo~ says:

    Beautiful images Robin!!

  6. Karma says:

    Gorgeous day for gorgeous pictures! I envy your energy for the great outdoors in winter!

    • Robin says:

      Well, I’m not always energetic, Karma. lol! There are days when I have to push myself out the door. Yesterday was one of them. The melting slushy snow isn’t nearly as pretty as a fresh snowfall.

  7. Amy says:

    Gorgeous snow scene! Wonderful quote.

  8. artsifrtsy says:

    Gorgeous shots – love the woodpecker in the snow.

  9. Chloe says:

    beautiful captures

  10. So lovely…I adore the deep silence of the snowy woods, and the world of contrasts that only exisit in winter…

  11. Jo Ann says:

    You’re brave to attempt skiing on ice. I only tried skiing once and that was it. I like direct contact with the ground! I enjoyed the quote and the pics.

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, Jo Ann. I’m not too terribly brave. I always have moments of nervousness before I start to ski, and often while skiing, which tends to throw me off balance. When I relax into it, it goes well. :)

  12. aFrankAngle says:

    Imagine you had a good workout on the skis. Circles and Ripples may favorite. :)

  13. hi Robin…I just wandered back here again today to enjoy your ice photos again…you do have a special way of catching the essence of creativity and beauty in ice. I remember a few photos your took last winter, of ice on waterfalls…the ice looked like feet and toes. Winter obviously touches a inspiring spot within you in a special touching way…the photos really show that delight and connection. thanks for the wonderful winter photos… (and other seasons too)

    • Robin says:

      Thank you so much, Kathy. :) I was just thinking of the ice picture, too (the one that looks like feet and toes). Funny how that came to mind for both of us.

  14. Joanne says:

    It all sounds like such great fun Robin, skiing on snow and ice, and even the icey pond! :)

  15. Carla says:

    Love the ice patterns. Always wondered why they’re called red bellied woodpeckers! And sounds like quite an icy ski adventure! Perhaps I’ll live in a snowy place again one day, but I’m not sure it’s going to happen – but I like visiting the snow!

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, Carla. :)

      I’ve been wondering the same thing about red bellied woodpeckers. I never see any red on their bellies. I looked it up and according to Wild Birds Unlimited, it’s name comes from “the unique pinkish tinge on the belly, common to both genders.” That answer makes me wonder why it isn’t called the pink bellied woodpecker…

  16. Ellen says:

    that snow is so inviting … like velvet!!! or maybe is the picture? It doesn`t snow in BA, just one day in 98 years!!!! so I don`t get to see snow often …


Thank you for visiting, and for commenting. I hope you'll join me at my new blog home, Breezes at Dawn.

