Routine

Winter colors

Winter colors

As long as habit and routine dictate the pattern of living, new dimensions of the soul will not emerge.

~ Henry Van Dyke

Sculpture at the Cleveland Museum of Art

Sculpture at the Cleveland Museum of Art

Now that the holidays are over, I’m starting to get back into my normal routine.  There is something comforting about routine and habit.  It’s easy to put life on auto-pilot while going about a normal routine.

In the new atrium at the Cleveland Museum of Art

In the new atrium at the Cleveland Museum of Art

Routine is not necessarily a good thing, though, if you’re trying to live mindfully.  It’s easy to miss the small, quiet beauties of life when I’m operating on auto-pilot.

The atrium at the Cleveland Museum of Art

The atrium at the Cleveland Museum of Art

Procrastination, I’m finding, is also a friend of routine.  You might not think that would be the case since an established routine means that things are getting done.

The Glass Box.  Cleveland Museum of Art.

The Glass Box. Cleveland Museum of Art.

What is not getting done, however, is a project that I should be working on today.  Instead, I have been chopping vegetables, making soup, dusting furniture, ironing shirts, and washing, drying, and folding laundry.  The normal routine.

Zooming through The Glass Box

Zooming through The Glass Box

Having given myself a little comfort zone time through routine, I am ready to approach the project I’ve been putting off.  It helps that the project has a deadline.  Otherwise, I might keep putting it off.

December 2012 031a

Statue in the rotunda. Cleveland Museum of Art.

Speaking of projects, I was invited to do another book review for TLC Book Tours.  I was excited to be asked because, as you may or may not recall, I almost said no the first time I was asked because I didn’t think I was good at book reviews.  (See Courage if you missed it or need a brain nudge or just have no idea what I’m rambling on about.)  My review will be posted on Tuesday,  January 8th, and there’s an exciting part to go with it.  A give-away!  So, if you think this book will interest you, be sure to drop by on January 8th and leave a comment.  I’ll find a random way to pick a winner who will get a free copy of the book.  Unfortunately, the give-away is limited to the U.S. and Canada.  Sorry.

Tiffany lamps.  Cleveland Museum of Art.

Tiffany lamps. Cleveland Museum of Art.

I reckon that’s it from the Bogs for today.  It’s a chilly day (in the 20′s), but the sun has made a few appearances which always seems to warm things up a bit.  Looks like we have some more snow arriving tomorrow.  That should freshen up the ski tracks.

A knight in shining armor.  Cleveland Museum of Art.

A knight in shining armor. Cleveland Museum of Art.

All but two (the first and last) of today’s photos were taken at the Cleveland Museum of Art on Sunday when M and I took a trip up there to have a look around.  We had never been there before and had heard good things about it, especially since they newly renovated the place.  If you’re in the area, I highly recommend a visit.  It’s free and there are lots of good things to see.

Because you can never have too many knights in shining armor.

Because you can never have too many knights in shining armor.

Thank you for stopping by.  Wishing you a delightful day, evening, night… wherever and whenever you are on the spectrum of time.  :)

A creek in the woods at Quail Hollow State Park for those who prefer the nature and snow images.

A creek in the woods at Quail Hollow State Park for those who prefer the nature and snow images.

25 Comments on “Routine”

  1. Joanne says:

    The lightining inside the museum must have been fantastic from the warm tones and shadows in some of the photos. So different to your usual outdoors photos, but oh so lovely in a “wintery” kind of way, as it seems as if you have taken refuge from the snow in a warm and inviting environment.

    Just by coincidence, I had been contemplating routine myself only yesterday, thinking how comfortable it feels, getting back into the routine of my usual life, now that the festivities are over. My train of thought headed in the direction of having more time to attend to the things I want to do, rather than the things I have to do. As much as I enjoy the extra activity of this time of year, it can be rather exhausting, like enjoying a holiday, yet being glad to be home again. You have given me even more food for thought today Robin. :)

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, Joanne. They do have wonderful lighting in the museum. I especially like the way it came out in the rotunda.

      Now you’ve given me food for thought. I was so busy thinking about how I use routine to put things off that I forgot about how using a routine (and being organized!) can open up time for other activities. I’ll have to ponder this some more. :)

  2. Carla says:

    Your observations about routine are so true. I am still figuring it out, for sure. Love the last photo the most, and love being back in the bogs! :)

  3. mobius faith says:

    Great shots. That new atrium is a gargantuan space. I didn’t know the CMA lets cameras in. Love the glass box shot. I haven’t been to CMA in a few years. When they had a new curator of asian art I was hoping they would do some fun Asian stuff but they haven’t yet. One place I NEED to go is the new MOCA Cleveland since it’s open now. Also love the woodland stream. Streams in winter are magical.

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, Terry. :) I haven’t been to MOCA yet. That’s on the list. You’re right about the new atrium. It’s incredible in terms of size. I checked the CMA website regarding photography before I went. You can photograph pretty much anything in their permanent collection, but the images have to be for personal use only (which, I assume, includes a personal blog).

  4. Coming East says:

    I love museums, Robin, and enjoyed your museum pictures. I also loved the last one. We had a little snow one night when we were up north for Christmas, but it was all gone by morning.

  5. I desperatly need routine – without it, I’m a nervous wreck. Which is not to say there’s no room for flexibility…
    Enjoy your snow!

    • Robin says:

      Thanks, Marie. :) I would need routine with a little one around, too. And little ones need routine as well so that works out perfectly. :)

  6. Robin, that outdoor sculpture reminds me of a painting I saw at the Metropolitan Museum of Art years ago, but the name of the artist or the painting seems to have slipped from my memory… It was the same scene. Frustrating! Anyhow, your pictures of the Cleveland Museum of Art are beautiful! Enjoyed your thoughts on balancing routine and projects, too…

  7. Phil Lanoue says:

    Wonderful series Robin!

  8. I know exactly what you mean by routine getting in the way of accomplishing something. I recently read an article about being more productive at work (or anything really) and one of the suggestions was to do the thing you have been avoiding first. I think I might try that!

  9. Sallyann says:

    Procrastinating is something I do far too well – and far too often. :-)
    And on a different note … I agree, you can never have too many knights in shining armour. :-D

  10. Pat Bean says:

    Love the quote, and as always your fantastic photos.

  11. Dana says:

    I am such a creature of habit, Robin. I find that my body, soul, and psyche freak out (or just feel unsettled) if I break out of my regular routines, but you’re right– there’s not a lot of room for innovation in the same-old, same-old patterns. Looking forward to reading your book review! (I bought the Courage book after reading your other review, and I really, really enjoyed it.)


Thank you for visiting, and for commenting. I hope you'll join me at my new blog home, Breezes at Dawn.

