Sunset in the patio garden

Bella at sunset

Each moment of the year has its own beauty, a picture which was never before and shall never be seen again.

~ Ralph Waldo Emerson

A fairy in the garden

The sunsets this week have been glorious.  Filled with warm light and color, even when the temperature is cold.

Hydrangea leaves at sunset

Today it’s not so cold.  We did wake up to frost and fog, but that quickly burned off and the temperature steadily climbed into the 50s.

Chilly trees

I met a goal today.  It’s not a major goal, but it felt good to achieve something I thought was near impossible when I started.  I finally, finally made it all the way through the Breathless Body workout.  Yes, I was quite breathless when all was said and done.  But also quite happy to find myself in good enough shape to do all those mountain climbers that were a huge obstacle for me.  You would have thought I was really climbing a mountain.  lol!

This morning’s view of the pond

I have a busy weekend ahead.  M the Younger and his lovely wife (and Bo the Dog) are coming to visit.  I’m looking forward to it.

Warm sunset. (Yesterday)

Since I have quite a bit to do before they arrive, I’d better wrap this up and get to it.

Thank you so much for stopping by.  Have a magical, wonder-filled weekend!

And don’t forget to go out and have a look at the sunrise or sunset.  You’ll find both magic and wonder if you do.  Well, maybe.  If it’s not hidden behind a thick cloud cover.

42 Comments on “Sunset in the patio garden”

  1. Bo Mackison says:

    Warm photos and cool photos — what a grand mix.

  2. Joanne says:

    Magic happened in your patio garden Robin. Is it the same area that featured in your “Project Patio” series of stories a year or two ago? Bella seems to be enjoying the sunset too! :)

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, Joanne. And thank you for remembering. Yes, that is the same patio of “Project Patio.” Hard to believe when I look at it now. It’s weathered a bit, and the thyme has been growing, along with mosses (and, yikes, weeds). I wish I could capture Izzy in the sunlight the way I do Bella, but the light seems to like Bella more and Izzy doesn’t like posing for photographs anyhow.

  3. We have really big skies here – great sunrises and sunsets.
    You “warm sunset” looks like inspiration for tie dye or batik.
    Always loved that Emerson quote
    Have a great weekend

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, PhilosopherMouse. Hope your weekend has been going well.

      We’re hedged in with trees and powerlines and such here, so I end up capturing my sunrises and sunsets through the branches. Makes me appreciate big skies when I have the opportunity to visit them. :)

  4. Phil Lanoue says:

    Wonderful warm sunset lighting on the kitty!

  5. Love the sunset photos, but I think the one of Bella may be my favorite. Hope you have a wonderful weekend, Robin.
    Hugs,
    Kathy

  6. Chloe says:

    very gorgeous, nice compositions

  7. Marianne says:

    Congratulations on the Breathless Body Workout, Robin. It sounds like a great accomplishment. Wow! I so admire your stick-to-it-ness, Robin. I love the photo of Bella! But, as usual, they’re all great. Wishing you a great weekend with your family. :)

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, Marianne. :)

      I have to honest and admit that making it all the way through that workout did not feel like such a great thing yesterday when I could barely walk. lol!

  8. Karma says:

    Gorgeous color in these photos, Robin. Love especially Bella the cat. These would be great shots for Scott’s newest photo assignment. I have a hard time getting a glimpse of a lovely sunrise or sunset around here in suburbia. Trees and roofs mostly block the view. When I drive out of the neighborhood our little local mountain or the buildings of the business corridor are in the way.

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, Karma. Everybody seems to love Bella. She’s a sweetie. :)

      My sunrises and sunsets are blocked by trees and powerlines and roofs, too. That’s why I usually just shoot a piece of it through the trees.

      I’ve somehow lost my subscription to Scott’s blog (it happened with quite a few that I decided to keep subscribing to). I’ll have to go have a look at his assignment. Thanks!

  9. I love the shot of bella in the sun! Just beautiful!

  10. Val says:

    What a pretty cat Bella is!
    And do you know – apropos the photo of the pond in the morning – I was thinking that much as I love your gold, orange and red images, it would be nice to also see some other colours here from time to time. :)

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, Val. I’ll pass on your compliment to Bella, but she’s got such a big head after all these compliments I’m not sure it won’t explode with just one more. ;)

      It’s funny you mentioned the colors (or colours) because I’ve started shooting with winter in mind. Things will be a little more blue (and white if we ever get snow) around here.

  11. Bella looks so serene surrounded by all that golden light.

  12. Bella looks lovely – what a great image, Robin!

  13. Sallyann says:

    Lovely, especially the first one, you can always trust a cat to find the best spot. :-)

  14. Ellen says:

    hope you are having a wonderful weekend!!!
    I moved and I was without internet till yesterday, I`ve missed my walks with you!!!

  15. What fabulous colors in these photos. The sunsets with the silhouetted branches are lovely. You remind me that I must take time to see the sunset. Guess I’ll have to set the timer!!

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, Teresita. :) Sunsets seems to be easier for me to catch during the winter months (probably because they come around earlier, usually while I’m starting to prepare dinner so I’m already looking out the windows).

  16. Tammy says:

    My goodness! That chilly trees photo just stole my heart.

  17. dearrosie says:

    I love the warm pictures – especially the photo of the cat – and then you surprise us with the purple trees. Really lovely Robin.

    Is M the Younger your son? Do all your kids come “home” for Thanksgiving? Would I be correct to expect more photos of baked pies and smiling people eating said pies… ?

    • Robin says:

      OMG, Rosie! You have me laughing! Baked pies… LOL! Oh no, you won’t be seeing any of that here. My family (I have two sons and yes, M the Younger is one of them — the youngest — and M the Elder is my husband) want nothing to do with being pictured on the blog. I sneak them in occasionally by capturing them way off in the distance or in silhouette or some other equally sneaky way that doesn’t reveal them. As for baking… I love to cook, but don’t bake so if there are any baked pies around here, my husband bakes them. And he can take pictures of his own pies since I don’t eat them and have this odd habit of taking photos of things that interest me. I suppose if he turns out a really good looking pie and my camera and tripod are handy, I might take a shot at it. ;)

      In the off chance you have time to waste and want to learn a bit more, there’s a little something about my family in the Bogs Blog FAQ (the link to the page is just above the header to the left of Welcome! page).

      Ummm….errr…. not that there’s anything wrong with baking pies and smiling happy family at Thanksgiving. We’re going east this year for the first time in decades to spend Thanksgiving day with my big clan in New Jersey. It’ll be fun, but they don’t want to be on the blog either so no Norman Rockwell moments will emerge from that visit.

      • Robin says:

        I mean no Norman Rockwell photographic moments…. not on the blog. I’ll take photos, but honestly, I’m not good at taking photos of people. I’m better off in nature.

  18. Oh, I LOVE the first picture, of Bella! Worthy of a frame and a place on the wall, I think! And congratulations on making it through the Breathless Body workout!!! I hope you had a lovely weekend with your family and that they got to see some gorgeous sunsets, too.

  19. Your sunset pictures at this time of year are fabulous, Robin!


Thank you for visiting, and for commenting. I hope you'll join me at my new blog home, Breezes at Dawn.

