Quail Hollow

In yesterday’s post (Earth’s eye), I mentioned that a nearby state park, Quail Hollow, is scheduled to be the first state park in Ohio where fracking is allowed to take place.  Today the Coalition to Protect Ohio’s Parks with hikers from the Sierra Club, the Ohio Environmental Council, the Mohican Advocates, the Buckeye Forest Council, and some local people joined together for a hike to protest the fracking.  It was an interesting and educational hike, with a naturalist, to show why it is important to preserve the park (and others like it).

When I first arrived, about a half hour early, it didn’t look like there was going to be much of a turnout as there were very few cars in the parking lot.  Someone reminded me that this is Ohio, where everyone shows up late and everything starts about a half hour after the scheduled time.  There were quite a few people there by 11:00 (the scheduled time), and after a few short speeches we set out on the hike (a half hour after the scheduled time, of course…lol!).

Gathering

They could not have picked a better day for a hike.  It was gorgeous out there, and the park itself seemed to be showing us its best.

American Robin on a rainbow carpet of leaves

If you want to know more about fracking in Ohio, you can click on any of the links I provided for the groups involved in the hike.

Ablaze!

M and I hike at Quail Hollow frequently.  Although I sometimes get a little confused on the trails, it’s a small park so even out there on my own I don’t worry too much about getting lost.  Plus I know some of the trees well enough now to be able to tell where I’m at just by recognizing a particular tree.  The trails are well marked where they intersect (and there are plenty of intersections out there in the woods).

Have a seat and rest a while.

We also learned to cross-country ski at Quail Hollow.  We rented skis there, asked if there’s anything we should know as beginners (the advice we were given was to relax, put some bounce in our legs, and have fun), and took off on our own in hopes that we would get the hang of it without injury.  As it turns out, we did, and liked it so much that we eventually bought our own skis and finally took a lesson a couple of years later (not at Quail Hollow — I’m not sure they have lessons there).

Looking up, near the beginning of the hike

All this babbling is my way of saying we love the park.

On the hike

The naturalist (I didn’t get her name or where she was from) taught us more than a few things we didn’t know about the history of the park, and about the flora and fauna of the park.  Some of the birds were cooperating by being less skittish than usual, especially the woodpeckers.

I never realized how many burning bushes there are in the woods at Quail Hollow.  The burning bush is not a native to Ohio (or the U.S. — it’s from China and Korea).  Birds enjoy the berries from a burning bush planted in the suburbs, poop out the seeds in the woods, and the plants take off as more birds eat more seeds from the new plant.  I never noticed them before the naturalist pointed them out.  In the woods, because they don’t get direct sunlight, the leaves don’t get as red in the fall as they do when planted in someone’s yard.

Burning bush to the right, looking pinkish.

The burning bush thrives in the shade, often displacing spring wildflowers and other natives.  I remember reading somewhere (probably a newsletter from the Holden Arboretum) that if you like the burning bush, there are native alternatives you should plant instead.

I also learned how important it is to have grape vines in the woods.  Birds tear off strips from the large vines to use as a base for their nests.

I learned enough to want to walk through the woods here at Breezy Acres and have a good look around to see if there’s something we should or should not be doing.

As for the fracking, I don’t know that it can be stopped at this point, but I can’t see giving up on trying to stop it, either.

It is horrifying that we have to fight our own government to save the environment.

~ Ansel Adams

That’s it from Quail Hollow and from the Bogs for today.  Thank you for visiting.  I hope you enjoyed the hike, and that your Sunday has been filled with joy, laughter, and a few wonders here and there.

People can be divided into three groups:  those who make things happen, those who watch things happen, and those who wonder what happened.  Showing up is 80% of life.

~ Woody Allen


37 Comments on “Quail Hollow”

  1. mobius faith says:

    Beautiful shots of this park.

  2. Joanne says:

    Quail Hollow looks absolutely glorious with the autumn leaves everywhere! I really, really hope that the protests and action taken by those who care does change the outcome. It’s too sad to consider the alternative.

    • Robin says:

      It’s a beautiful park, Joanne, especially in the fall although I like it just about anytime of year except when the mosquitoes take over. I don’t think the protest will change anything, but some of the groups involved in the protest are trying other angles to stop the fracking.

  3. Woody Allen’s quote is priceless. Your woods are gorgeous. Cool there was a naturalists to point out stuff.
    Sounds like there’s a good group of people coming together with the fracking issue. It’s just a concern that the process is fairly new and no one knows….always a worry if you can’t look down the road with confidence..they thought it was great to dam up all the rivers, too – not realizing how much would be impacted.
    Don’t get discouraged. Big business pushes a lot of lobbying, but it ain’t over until it’s over.

  4. Phil Lanoue says:

    Looks like an amazing park and area! Your photos capture that extremely well!

  5. Val says:

    Gorgeous, gorgeous photos – love the colours as ever, Robin.

    Frakking is bad news. Really bad. :( I wish the protesters much luck.

  6. Bo Mackison says:

    My best in everyone’s efforts to prevent fracking in State Parks. bad enough on private property, but on state owned property for public use and enjoyment — disaster! Lovely photos from a lovely place, too.

  7. Anna Surface says:

    How beautiful it is there and the photos are outstanding, Robin! (I didn’t know that about the burning bush) My goodness this is sad.. the fracking. I sure hope there is a turn-around someway, somehow. May the protesting cause enough road-bumps to stop this.

  8. Gracie says:

    These are beautiful! The colors are brilliant. Looks like Autumn is still in full bloom around there :)

  9. Kathy says:

    Even though this was a pictorially beautiful post, and you tried to keep our spirits up with that wonderful informative hike, I still feel teary-eyed about this fracking.

  10. eldy says:

    How wonderful that you and yours got out to join the protest hike. The park looks gorgeous. I think fracking is a crime against our planet though.

  11. Who knew everyone in Ohio was late! Sounds a lot like India to me! LOL Gorgeous fall photos, Robin!
    Hugs,
    Kathy

  12. Chris B. says:

    Fabulous shots, as always. No cracking, regardless.

  13. Chloe says:

    fall colours are just gorgeous, the colours over there are much more vibrant than they are here

  14. aFrankAngle says:

    Beautiful walk to start my day. Down here in the opposite corner of our state, we still have green mixed into the color scheme. Thanks for the Woody Allen quote!

  15. How useful to have been able to listen to the naturalist, and have some ideas about what to do/not do in your woods and Future Woods…
    The other advantage to having tons of grapevines? The critters will eat them before attacking you plants… (at least, they do that for me :) )

  16. Gwen says:

    It was my first time in Quail Hollow, but certainly won’t be my last. It is a wonderful park. We must stop this destruction.

  17. What a gorgeous place! Here’s hoping that the opponents to this madness will win the day. There is real potential power in beautiful images to win hearts and minds, so I hope you will distribute your photos widely and help people truly understand what’s at stake. Good luck.

  18. dearrosie says:

    What a gorgeous walk. Absolutely beautiful photos and great descriptions Robin. I learned so much. I didn’t know there was something called a burning bush! Love the quotes.
    I don’t think you should give up about the fracking. Its too serious!

    I’m having trouble signing into my blog. Not sure if I’ll be able to leave this comment as myself…


Thank you for visiting, and for commenting. I hope you'll join me at my new blog home, Breezes at Dawn.

