On this first day of Autumn

Looking out over the meadows on the first day of Autumn

Rains came overnight, but this morning the clouds parted and the sun came out in time to welcome the Spirit of Autumn to the realm of Breezy Acres.  Yellows are rolling across the meadows and reds are starting to color the tips of the maple leaves.  The crows continue to meet in the woods for their Caw Conference, the Blue Jays trying to imitate them. Late in the day, storm clouds and rain returned, but just before the rain fell, the colors around the pond swelled and popped, and a painting of Autumn spread out across the land.

A view from the Ritz-Carlton in Cleveland

M and I went up to Cleveland today for lunch at Muse, a restaurant at the Ritz-Carlton.  It was a surprise lunch/party for a good friend.  Happy Birthday, CB!  The food was great, the company was wonderful, and I’m so glad we didn’t miss it.

Storms moving in this afternoon

I thought about missing it.  For the sake of others, I probably should have missed it.  Somewhere along the way over the course of the past few days of fun and biking, I managed to catch a cold.  Peh.  Actually, I know where I got it.  (Rolls eyes towards M.)  I intend to spend the next few days taking such good care of myself that the cold will leave as quickly as it came.  I’ve noticed viruses of this type don’t care much for healthy activities and exercise.

Mums

I am way, way, way behind when it comes to responding to comments, visiting you all, and all things blogging.  I apologize.  I’ve been trying to get caught up a little this afternoon and evening, but it might be a case of letting go of catching up and starting where I am.  Then again, I think I’ve been behind since June so I might start thinking of it as being caught up for the moment even if that moment is in your past.  It’s still new to me.

Speaking of the moment and the past, today was my last day of the Great Year-Long Yoga Challenge.  Tomorrow I will start my Great Year-Long  Meditation Challenge (in which I will practice seated meditation daily).  The walks and the yoga will continue.  After two years of daily walks and one year of daily yoga, they are part of my life now.  I can’t imagine a day without them.

A Great Blue Heron came to visit this afternoon

It’s early in the season (only the first day!), but I’m thinking this might be the Autumn of the Great Blue Heron.  I have encountered this normally shy bird several times over the past few days, and instead of fleeing as soon as s/he catches sight of me, he or she has hung around long enough for me to not only get a good look and admire the bird, but allowed me to take a few decent photos.

Morning on the swim platform

I’m seeing them here at the pond and elsewhere.  They are beautiful, fascinating birds.  I love to watch them take flight, marveling at whatever magic it is they possess that allows such a big bird to fly so gracefully.

There are fish down there, but how do I get to them from here??

That’s it from the Bogs for today.  Thank you so much for stopping by and keeping up with me.  I’ll be stopping by your place soon.  I promise.  In the meantime, while you’re here, I’ve converted tomatoes and peppers and cilantro from the garden into some awesomely fresh salsa waiting to be gobbled up.  The tortilla chips are sitting there next to the big bowl of salsa.  Enjoy.  :)

And enjoy the sunset too. It was pretty amazing.

Autumn is the eternal corrective.  It is ripeness and color and a time of maturity; but it is also breadth, and depth, and distance.  What person can stand with autumn on a hilltop and fail to see the span of his or her world and the meaning of the rolling hills that reach to the far horizon?

~ Hal Borland

33 Comments on “On this first day of Autumn”

  1. wow…great photos….and that sunset is astounding!

  2. mobius faith says:

    Awesome shots. I love the shot from Cleveland. Well done. Great stuff. Happy Autumn.

  3. Bo Mackison says:

    Looks like autumn made herself one fine and dandy entrance!

  4. My favorites were the last two! WOW! I admire your commitment to try things to make life even better for you. :)

  5. ladyfi says:

    Stunning shots, especially the vibrant colour in the first photo.

  6. What a treat, to see that sunset!
    The heron that frequents my little pond has figured out that the dog is of little threat to him, and no longer flees when he sees her coming…I’ve even seen him walk across the yard.

  7. David Hall says:

    Superb post with gorgeous colours.

  8. Ellen says:

    Happy Autumn!! I think you`ll be sharing the beautiful changes of color from the bogs while I`ll be sharing the first colors of Spring from BA …

  9. Pat Bean says:

    Fantastic color. You are truly a great photographer

  10. Phil Lanoue says:

    Wonderful series of images and of course I love the GBH!

  11. “I’ve been behind since June so I might start thinking of it as being caught up for the moment even if that moment is in your past. It’s still new to me.” I laughed out loud at this, Robin – that’s why I’m on a “pause” right now. Photos are gorgeous; you are farther along in fall color than we are here in W. Pa – no trees have turned yet, still green trees and golden rod and asters. Enjoy the season’s change :-)

  12. Kathy says:

    Congratulations to making it through your year-long yoga commitment! You are awesome with your commitments. :) Maybe you should give yourself permission to start afresh with reading blogs every equinox and solstice. Try your hardest to keep up, but when you haven’t, cut your losses and start anew. An idea anyway? Happy autumn!

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, Kathy. :)

      I thought about wiping the slate clean, but haven’t been able to do it yet. Perhaps by the solstice I’ll be ready to let it all go…

  13. Val says:

    Almost too beautiful!
    Get well soon. Hugs.

  14. Joanne says:

    My goodness, that sunset was brilliant! It is such a lovely welcome to the new season, seeing the scenes around Breezy Acres and visiting with your friend the Great Blue Heron. Take good care of yourself!

  15. aFrankAngle says:

    What great weather to ring in Fall! Meanwhile, love the mystical (to me) feeling of the last two pics.

  16. […] year-long commitment is almost at an end.  Last year, starting at the Autumnal Equinox,  I committed to a year of daily seated meditation practice.  The equinox will be rolling around again soon, and I have been thinking about what I gained or […]


Thank you for visiting, and for commenting. I hope you'll join me at my new blog home, Breezes at Dawn.

