Dreaming

Dreaming the Boreal Forest

I’ve been dreaming of walks in the woods lately, journeying with bears and snakes and wolves.  The dreams are not frightening at all although I sometimes wake up feeling as if I went on a very long hike.  The dreams are why I picked the above photo for the Weekly Photo Challenge:  Dreaming.  It was taken in New Brunswick, Canada, in the Fundy National Park somewhere on the Laverty Falls Trail.

The challenge calls for using a long exposure technique, but I really can’t do that with my point & shoot camera (not well, at any rate) so I elected to interpret the dreamy state with some processing in Photoshop.

Dreaming at the top of the waterfall

Without leaps of imagination or dreaming, we lose the excitement of possibilities.  Dreaming, after all is a form of planning.

~ Gloria Steinem

All human beings are also dream beings.  Dreaming ties all mankind together.

~ Jack Kerouac

Today’s daily walk photos can be found here.

37 Comments on “Dreaming”

  1. mobius faith says:

    great dream images.

  2. I love the mood these photos create.

  3. Wonderful – these are perfect!!

  4. Joanne says:

    These are indeed very dreamy photos Robin. :)

    I’ve been playing around with photos in Pacasa lately Robin, but I already feel the need to progress further. I’ve decided to ask my daughter if I can have a play around on her computer with Photoshop, to see if I can use it. Some say it’s easy, while others can’t get their head around it!

    • Robin says:

      Thank you, Joanne. :)

      Have fun with Photoshop. I found it a little difficult to learn at first, but then I had an ah-ha! moment and the world of Photoshop began to open up for me. Be patient, and don’t be afraid to play and you’ll do well, I’m sure. :D

  5. LOVE the way you interpreted this week’s challenge. Totally fun. Hope your weekend is going well!
    Hugs,
    Kathy

    • Robin says:

      Thanks, Kathy. Hope your weekend has gone well too. :)

      I don’t think you need a Flickr account to see the photos. The link should take you right to them. I signed out today, tried the link, and it seemed to work. I’m stumped.

  6. Goodness, do I have to have a Flickr account to see the photos? The link just took me to the website’s main page. Darn. Let me know.
    Hugs,
    Kathy

    • Robin says:

      I don’t think you do, Kathy. I checked (by signing out of my account) and the link seemed to work fine. I’ll have someone else check it to make sure.

  7. woooooo…..the effects on those first 2 photos are remarkable!….surreal…. love ‘em!

  8. Gentle dreams in your photos…just perfect.
    Love the new header, too. What is it?

  9. [...] Life in the Bogs Share this:PrintEmailMoreDiggLike this:Like75 bloggers like this. This entry was posted in Nature, Photography and tagged Dreaming, Ducks, Photography, postaday, postaweek, postaweek2012, Weekly Photo Challenge. Bookmark the permalink. ← Long Island Kayak Circumnavigation: Prelude [...]

  10. Kathy says:

    Dreaming with you, Robin…

  11. Gilraen says:

    Wonderful pictures. You have captured dreaming so well with these

  12. aFrankAngle says:

    Wow … and the perfect title.

  13. [...] Dreaming (bogsofohio.wordpress.com) Rate this:Share this:TwitterFacebookMorePinterestDiggStumbleUponTumblrLike this:LikeBe the first to like this. This entry was posted in Library and tagged Chopra, Deepak Chopra, Dr. Wayne Dyer, Dream, Dream Journals, G. William Domhoff, Mind, Psychology, Social Sciences. Bookmark the permalink. ← Everyday Hero: William Kamkwamba [...]

  14. Wonderful shots of the forest, I’ve been there…

  15. eof737 says:

    It’s been a while… I know. ;-)

  16. Sallyann says:

    Lovely, especially the first one. :-)


Thank you for visiting, and for commenting. I hope you'll join me at my new blog home, Breezes at Dawn.

