Greetings from New Brunswick

Bay of Fundy from Alma, New Brunswick, Canada

Very often when I travel somewhere beautiful, I will think or say, “I could live here.”  But there has been one occasion where I not only thought “I could live here,” but felt as if I’d somehow come home even though it was a place I had never visited.  Now there might be two such places in my life.  I’m withholding judgment for the moment as there is still so much for us to see and do, and I think New Brunswick is just the tip of the iceberg, so to speak.

Please pardon the tilting of the horizon. I would have straightened it out when I re-sized it, but Aviary, the photo editing program available on Flikr is lame and doesn’t have that option and I’m too tired to fuss with other editing programs.

But let’s start at the beginning.  M and I arrived in Portland, Maine later than expected on Friday.  Because of heavy rains and gusty winds sweeping from Chicago to Cleveland, our flight was delayed about an hour.  We also lost another hour by moving from the Eastern to the Atlantic time zone.  That was a bit later.

The flight was uneventful, thank goodness.  Everything else went smoothly, too.  We picked up our rental car and made our way north and east.  Sunset is late this far north, and there is a long twilight.  Add in a bright moon, and things were pretty well  lit for us.  It’s a good thing.  We didn’t make it to where we’re staying in Alma, New Brunswick until shortly after midnight.

The scenery along the way was gorgeous.  I wish we’d had time to stop so I could take a few photos, but we were running so late that I resisted.  I did get two photos while we were in Maine, but I’ll save those for when we’re home and I can get a good look at them.  We saw a big, beautiful, black bear somewhere in the North Maine Woods.  We watched the moonrise and then light up the Bay of Fundy.  We saw trees and mountains, and very few other people.  We drove through Fundy National Park, and stopped for a few minutes just to admire the quiet of the night.

Saturday we were up early in spite of our late arrival the night before.  Throughout the day we saw the Bay of Fundy at low tide and high tide.  If you’re unfamiliar with the Bay of Fundy, check out this link.  The short version is that the Bay of Fundy experiences the highest tides in the world.  It’s pretty amazing, really.  And beautiful?  Oh yes.  Very much so.

We walked along a couple of beaches, and hiked around the Hopewell Rocks area for several hours.  The weather was perfect.  Sunny, clear for a good part of the day, a few clouds later, and in the 70s.  The rain we thought would follow us got stalled somewhere west of here so we lucked into a lovely day.

As for food, we’ve been eating our fill of lobster.  It’s lobster season here now.  We were told today that lobster season is May-June, while scallop season starts around the end of June and can run anywhere from 2-4 weeks.  I’m sorry we’ll miss scallop season, but lobster is no hardship or consolation prize.  We don’t have fresh lobster in the Bogs.

We spent last evening on the deck where we’re staying, enjoying the view posted in the first photo.  We were much too tired to do much of anything else.  We watched the boats come in and go out, hoping for a good sunset, but it was not to be.  The cloud cover thickened.  No visible sunset.  No repeat of the moonlight on the water.  Even so, it was a wonderful place to be sitting and relaxing and enjoying the beauty of the evening while discussing all the marvelous sights we’ve seen so far.  We also seem to have acquired a couple of friends.  A raven, one of the cutest little squirrels I’ve ever seen, and a small dog.

Today we’re going hiking, but not sure where just yet.  Perhaps we’ll wander over to Fundy National Park.  Or there are a few lighthouses, beaches, and covered bridges we’d like to see.  I suspect dinner, if not lunch and dinner, will involve lobster.  And vegetables.  It’s funny how much I miss veggies when we travel.  We get them when and where we can, but don’t eat nearly as many servings of fruit or veggies while on the road.

That’s it from New Brunswick for today.  Just wanted to check in while I can.  Posting photos takes a ridiculously long time so I don’t expect I’ll post too many unless the weather turns bad and we’re forced indoors for a while.  Thank you for visiting.  I hope all is going well in your world, and that you’re experiencing some marvelous, magical, fantastical views, too.  You don’t have to be traveling to do that.  A loved one’s smile, a flower, a gorgeous sunrise or sunset, raindrops or dew on grass, wind dancing through the branches of a tree… the list is endless.

27 Comments on “Greetings from New Brunswick”

  1. Sallyann says:

    Thanks for showing us the beautiful view from your deck … and for reminding us to look at the views closer to home. :-) It certainly looks like you’re having a great time, looking forward to more pictures when you get back. :-)

  2. mobius faith says:

    Wonderful travels. Looking forward to more images.

  3. What a nice trip: the lobster and the scenery! I know what you mean in the first paragraph about feeling as though “you’ve come home.” I’ve had that feeling before also–it’s an eerie feeling. Enjoy taking photos and hiking and eating lobstah!

  4. Libby says:

    Beautiful photos, thanks for sharing. I would also like to let you know that I have nominated you for a couple of blog awards – see my blog for details.

  5. sandy says:

    I have had that feeling, too. In fact, sometimes feel homesick for a place I have not even lived!
    Yours photos are lovely.

    You probably right flew over my house when you came into Portland.

  6. SOunds lovely so far!
    May the Weather Gods continue to smile on your journey!

  7. Kathy says:

    Glad you are enjoying, and you have felt this “coming home” feeling. I felt this upon driving into northern Arizona, and even cried. Blessings!

  8. Have a great time. This photograph is about a 2 and a half hour drive from my home! We love Fundy and Alma is a cute little town isn’t it. Enjoy your trip!! Are you heading to Newfoundland? If so you have to see Gros Morne National Park..it is beautiful as well, and make your way down to Lark Harbour on the west coast of Newfoundland..it is breathtaking!

    • Robin says:

      We did not make it to Newfoundland, although we wanted to. There was already so much to see and do that we had to make cuts here and there. Hopefully we’ll get to Newfoundland next time. :)

  9. Deborah Lee says:

    I felt the same way about New Brunswick and Nova Scotia. Seems as if I had come home!

  10. Gorgeous! Another place I would love to visit. So happy to hear you’re having the “coming-home” feeling. I love that!
    Hugs,
    Kathy

  11. Karma says:

    Sounds like a wonderful trip! Can’t wait to hear more about it!

  12. jane tims says:

    Hi Robin. Welcome to our province!!! I can imagine your photo experience at the Hopewell Rocks… I look forward to seeing your photos! Alma is a great community and there are lots of pretty vistas on the road from Alma to Moncton. I doubt you are coming Fredericton way, but if you do, look me up in the phone book under A.J. Tims and we’ll get together. Have a wonderful trip and take a few side roads to see the ocean on your way between Saint John and Saint Stephen. Jane

  13. ladyfi says:

    It looks lovely where you are.

  14. Oh, that’s the joy of traveling, finding an unexpected new home for the heart :-)

  15. aFrankAngle says:

    Continued safe travels …. enjoy!

  16. bearyweather says:

    Sounds like a great place to visit … maybe even live. I look forward to more views of the area.

  17. Dana says:

    Oh, this post makes my heart sing, Robin! I can identify with the “coming home” feeling you mentioned– I felt that way when I got off the ferry and first came to Victoria nearly six years ago. :)
    Can’t wait to hear more about your travels and to see some more gorgeous photographs. I love Canada and feel such a rush when visitors to our beautiful land love it, too!

  18. Sounds delightful (and yummy). Hope the hiking is good.
    That tide thing is cool – would like to see it.
    Love the header photo – suggests so much and the cure just pulls you eye in.
    ENJOY!

  19. Joanne says:

    All of your talk about lobster dinners is making me hungry (and I’ve just eaten breakfast too!) Lobster has got to be my all-time favourite dinner food.

    Perhaps your soul was recognising a place that had once been “home”, some other time, long ago. What a wonderful feeling it must have been. :)

  20. [...] Greetings from New Brunswick (bogsofohio.wordpress.com) [...]

  21. [...] Greetings from New Brunswick (bogsofohio.wordpress.com) [...]

  22. Robin says:

    Once again, thank you all so much for your comments and likes while I was traveling. I really appreciate it. As you can tell, I’m still getting caught up. :)

  23. [...] Greetings from New Brunswick (bogsofohio.wordpress.com) [...]

  24. [...] Greetings from New Brunswick (bogsofohio.wordpress.com) [...]

  25. [...] Greetings from New Brunswick (bogsofohio.wordpress.com) [...]


Thank you for visiting, and for commenting. I hope you'll join me at my new blog home, Breezes at Dawn.

