Briar Rose

A large hedge of thorns soon grew round the palace, and every year it became higher and thicker; till at last the old palace was surrounded and hidden, so that not even the roof or the chimneys could be seen.

~ Jacob Grimm and Wilhelm Grimm, Briar Rose (from Grimm’s Fairy Tales)

After many, many years there came a king’s son into that land:  and an old man told him the story of the thicket of thorns; and how a beautiful palace stood behind it, and how a wonderful princess, called Briar Rose, lay in it asleep, with all her court.  He told, too, how he had heard from his grandfather that many, many princes had come, and had tried to break through the thicket, but that they had all stuck fast in it, and died.  Then the young prince said, “All this shall not frighten me; I will go and see this Briar Rose.”  The old man tried to hinder him, but he was bent upon going.

~ The Brothers Grimm, Briar Rose

I took the top two photos last week and I was reminded of the story of Briar Rose (or Sleeping Beauty by Charles Perrault) when I saw them.  I like fairy tales.  I’ve never gotten over the feeling that there is magic in them.  It’s been a long time since I’ve read any.  I enjoyed rereading the tale of Briar Rose.  I found it online, being a lazy bear who didn’t want to look for her own copy of the book that contains the magical stories.  Maybe sometime over the winter months I’ll dig out my copy of The Complete Grimm’s Fairy Tales and do some exploring.  It will be fun to see what kind of photographs they might lead to, if any at all.

We woke up to a wintery mix of snow, sleet, and rain this morning.  It started as snow and changed over as the temperature began to rise.

Not a good day to hang out the laundry.

While those to the west of us are getting hammered with snow, we’re going to warm up into the 50s once again and continue on with this unusual monsoon season we’ve been experiencing for the past few months.  Rain, rain, and more rain.  Drip, drip, drip.  Snow would be a lot more fun.

I noticed the weather prognosticators have included a slight chance of snow in the forecast for Christmas Eve.  With temperatures expected to be in the 40s, it doesn’t seem likely that we’ll have a white Christmas this year.  That’s okay.  We had our almost white Christmas during our almost Christmas celebration.

On Sunday afternoon M kept busy making a new feeder for the birds.  He used an old bicycle tire.  It’s pretty cool.  The birds seem to like it.  After putting some bird seed on it, we had about twenty birds show up at once, trying to all fit on there.  Word spread pretty quickly in the bird community once the little birds came over to investigate.

I guess that’s it from the Bogs for today.  Thanks for dropping by on this rainy day.  Hopefully the entire winter won’t be rainy, and I’ll eventually have some pretty snow pictures for you.  Stay warm.  And dry.  :)

36 Comments on “Briar Rose”

  1. What a great bird feed, Robin. I love fairy tales, too. The quote at the opening from Briar Rose was magical and almost ominous. Love the tree photos, as well.
    Kathy

  2. dustansept says:

    the clothes-pin shot is wonderful!

  3. David Hall says:

    I love the first photo of the birds feeding and agree that yes, we need some snow. Excellent post.

  4. Gracie says:

    Great images, Robin. I always love your POVs on all your photos.

  5. I’d love to see your Briar Rose during the summer months, Robin. Your first two shots suit “Sleeping Beauty” beautifully.

    M is a very handy man to have around the house, and I’m sure the little birds would all agree! It’s a great feeder he made! I really love the one little bird, just right of the centre of the photo, striking a pose for you. :D

  6. Dana says:

    What a cool bird feeder! We keep meaning to hang up a bird feeder we’ve had for about FOREVER, but now (since the move) we can’t find the seed. ;)

    Btw, I gave you a shout out for one of those award/meme things today. You’re not obligated to do ANYTHING if you don’t want to, but I quite enjoyed the chance to dig up some older posts of mine and thought you might as well. (No pressure at all– I love your blog just the way it is!)

  7. milkayphoto says:

    LOVE the birdfeeder! (and apparantly, so do your birds!)

    Reminds me of an urn planter I have in the yard we created from cutting up a car tire (still on its rim). You slice a circle in a scallop pattern and then literally flip it inside out and VOILA! Urn planter. My neighbor says they were ‘big in the 70’s’. Never rots, never rusts. Who can beat that? :-)

  8. Northern Narratives says:

    I love all the birds on your feeder.
    You might like my photo blog at http://northernprints.wordpress.com

  9. Bo Mackison says:

    Photos inspired by fairy tales. Very cool. Might be fun! :-)

  10. ceciliag says:

    I LOVE the bird feeder, and you have such pretty birds, any bird i ever get here has common in its name, but mostly i get the common sparrow, but I like them, they are loyal! beautiful shots, I have a grimms too, a very old copy and they sure are Grim!! c

  11. Robin, your third photo up from the bottom made me see leaves as if for the first time. Thank you so much for that!

  12. Using a bike tire for that bird feeder is a terrific idea!
    And the brambles are amazing…so thick…amazing!

  13. Briar Rose and the others play so well on a dark winter’s night. Thanks

  14. Ellen says:

    stunning pictures

  15. Love the Briar Rose reference; one of the first books I downloaded to my iPad for free (Gutenberg Project) was the Grimm Brothers fairy tales. Lately, I’ve been watching the Jean Cocteau film Beauty and the Beast (La Belle e la Bête), still a gorgeous and mysterious film today. My favorite scene is when Beauty’s father plucks a rose from the Beast’s garden; the Beast appears and cries “My roses,my roses, you may take anything from my garden but not my roses!”

  16. Hallysann says:

    Brilliant clothes peg picture. :-)

  17. jane tims says:

    Clothesline is my favorite. The persepctive and variable size of the raindrops is fantastic. Jane


Thank you for visiting, and for commenting. I hope you'll join me at my new blog home, Breezes at Dawn.

