The hurrier I go, the behinder I get

My mother had a trivet from Amish country with that little saying on it. This is one of those times in life when I know just what it means.

M and I just returned last night from another weekend trip. At the rate we’re doing things, I’m beginning to believe that getting caught up with the blog is no longer a possibility. I may have to settle for always being slightly (maybe more than slightly) behind.

Ah well… such is life. Daily life, as in my weekday life, is pretty full too. This sabbatical time is going by quickly. Too quickly sometimes. In another two weeks M and I will be going back to the Bogs for a month (due to his teaching obligations). It will be nice to once again sleep in my own bed in my own home. I can go for walks around the pond and watch as springtime comes to the Bogs. I’m looking forward to it.

In the meantime, back to our hike at the Laurels Preserves. I last left M standing on top of a hill surveying the land below…

One way off the hill:

Coming down the other side:

Gates everywhere (cowpies too, so watch your step!):

I should point out that the gates are set up in such a way that you have to climb over them. They don’t open and you can’t walk around them. Being a person of a somewhat short stature, climbing isn’t exactly my cup of tea. It’s good exercise, though.

The next covered bridge:

For those potty emergencies, the outhouse:

It wasn’t too bad. There was even a roll of toilet paper and a bottle of Purrell in there. It even has a seat:

Sunlight on the creek:

The building on the right in this next photo is The Whip Tavern, an English-style pub where we stopped for a pint after our hike.

The rest are photos I snapped on the way home.

Next stop: The Eastern Shore of Maryland, Ocean City, and Assateague.

3 Comments on “The hurrier I go, the behinder I get”

  1. Alto2 says:

    These photos make me miss my old life in Pa. We lived about 3 hours northwest of Philadelphia in an area that was heavily Amish, but thankfully not a popular tourist attraction. There were lots of covered bridges in our area, too, including a rare double covered bridge. Beautiful photos, Robin!

    Don’t worry about catching up with the blog. Post what you can, when you can. Your loyal readers will keep up with you.

  2. Norm says:

    Yes, what Alto2 said! Don’t worry, be happy when you’re able to blog. Don’t want to be taking the fun out of it.

    Love the photos. Seems funny to see no snow even though ours is just patchy now. You’re a little ahead of us.

  3. Lauren - Anthony, Florida says:

    I now live in Florida and as I tell everyone – what a great place to visit but you don’t want to live here!
    Unless you live on the water, why give up the 4 seasons of home. I, too, am from Pa. and I sure do miss it. I miss the covered bridges, the old farmhouses, and, well, just about everything. Can’t wait to come home! And the heck with that old expression – ” you can’t go home again” – yes, you CAN!!!!!!!


Thank you for visiting, and for commenting. I hope you'll join me at my new blog home, Breezes at Dawn.

